Chevron Left
返回到 科学论文写作

學生對 斯坦福大学 提供的 科学论文写作 的評價和反饋

4.9
3,700 個評分
1,276 條評論

課程概述

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

熱門審閱

KK

Sep 15, 2020

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

IA

Aug 26, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

篩選依據:

101 - 科学论文写作 的 125 個評論(共 1,275 個)

創建者 Marie B B

Apr 13, 2020

A really excellent course. Dr. Sainani explains clearly and without disturbing "clutter" how to write scientific papers, summaries for lay readers, science news articles and more. I wish, I had taken this course in my university days before writing my first science paper - but better late than never. There are a lot of opportunities for "learning by doing" in this course, and I feel it has improved my writing skills.

5 stars: I most definitely recommend this course!!

創建者 Sandra P

Aug 24, 2020

This was an excellent course with a talented instructor, Dr. Kristin Sainani! I am able to add many tips to my writing, such as proper use of the semi-colon and the dash--which I rarely used in my writing prior to this course! I enjoyed the session on writing letters of recommendation, as I have been asked to write a few and now I appreciate the added knowledge given by Dr. Sainani. This is a valuable course that I would highly recommend! Thank you so much.

創建者 Kaisa K

Jul 06, 2018

I greatly enjoyed this course. Even though there were aspects of the course that do not currently directly relate to what I'm doing every day (e.g., grant and proposal writing), there were many good examples of how to improve ANY writing. I generally review <10 manuscripts or clinical reports a year, so I'm only moderately involved in writing. However, this course covered many aspects of how to write better. I have recommended this course to several colleagues.

創建者 Stephanie L

Jun 28, 2018

I fully recommend this course for students needing to comprehend, paraphrase or write scientifically! I use the Grammarly tool while writing essays, and it points out my greatest sins are wordiness and using the passive voice, without guiding me on how to improve. Many researchers write in this manner too, and it is hard to understand. This course is amazing as it helps the reader get to the gist of the topic by teaching how to paraphrase to the active voice.

創建者 Hoang B L

Nov 02, 2018

I don't know what to say. Thank you Dr. Sainani for your wonderful course. You're an inspiring lecturer. The course covers the whole range of writing in the sciences and provides learners with basic yet essential knowledge on how to write effectively. I've come to realize that the principles of writing are the same regardless of to whom you are writing. I believe my writing will improve greatly in the future, thanks to your clear and concise explanation.

創建者 Misbah N Y H

Jan 22, 2019

I would like to congratulate and appreciate Dr. Kristine, for such a brilliant course. Wonderful way of addressing the course and it took my attention till end. It contains essential and useful information for all the people who are related to scientific field. I have submitted my thesis recently. I am very confident to do proofreading for my colleagues in a wonderful manner after this course.

Thanks you so much!!!

Best wishes!

Misbah Noreen Yousry Hasan

創建者 Josh T

Jul 13, 2020

I can't recommend this course highly enough. I recently started a new role as a Science Writer so this course was highly relevant for me. Dr. Kristin Sainani manages to cover a wide range of topics related to scientific writing--from the writing process itself, to drafting a manuscript or grant application, to writing for a lay audience--using clear and interesting examples. I'll be referring to my notes from this course for many years to come.

創建者 Stephanie T E

Jun 23, 2019

This course is one of the most helpful and engaging classes I have taken ever. Professor Sainani is a very enthusiastic and clear instructor, and you can feel her positive energy and attitude towards teaching through the screen. Not only has this course helped in writing in the sciences, but I believe it has taught me tools to improve my writing in general. I much appreciate this course, and I am thrilled that I had the opportunity to take it.

創建者 Angela P

Jul 04, 2018

This course was amazing. It’s everything I forgot from my 5 th English teacher to my MSN papers. loved that it was self paced, I got behind and was able to switch classes with ease. I made a book with all the power points to to reference. I now know how to fix the passive verb that outlook loved to highlight in my writing. Teacher was superb. Only thing I would have done different is to have fewer guess speakers, I found it a little boring .

創建者 Lisa S

Sep 09, 2020

Very helpful course with an excellent instructor. This course will help you write scientific manuscripts that aren't so dense no one will read them and helps you understand how to critically evaluate scientific writing. I found the "lay summary" exercise particularly helpful as it is always a challenge in science to communicate with the lay public. Definitely take this course if you will be doing any scientific writing in your career.

創建者 ram k w

Feb 08, 2020

Superb course. Teaches you everything you need to know from basics of Grammar, style, economy of writing and so much more. Kristin does an excellent job at explaining the way things ought to be, her enthusiasm makes her a great teacher. The interviews also gave great perspective. I audited this course, but I am planning on purchasing it so that I can take it again. I recommend this to anyone in the life sciences. Kudos Stanford !!

創建者 Bruno V

Jun 28, 2020

The course is incredible. Dr Kristin Sainani elegantly guided us throughout the art of writing in sciences. The course is essential for any scientist, independent of the expertise. I had some experience in writing scientific manuscripts, and still, I gained a lot of new practical knowledge about writing. It also inspired me to write more, and hopefully, I will be able to pass this to my students in Brazil. Highly recommend it!

創建者 Vinay S

Feb 16, 2020

This was my first MOOC, and I loved it! I am happy to say that this was my third attempt trying to complete the course (due to time restrictions earlier), and I managed to do it this time. The course content is great, and Dr. Sainani definitely is the right person to deliver the talks. I work as an editor of research manuscripts. This course has helped me edit much better now. One word to describe this course: Enlightening!

創建者 Andrea S

Jun 01, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was well structured, detailed, and covered a broad range of topics related to writing in the sciences. I found the peer review homework assignments to be the most helpful assignment type. The module covering writing for the average person was a particularly interesting exercise. It really helped impress upon me the importance of translating your work to make it accessible to more readers.

創建者 Karen A F

Jan 07, 2019

Dr. Sainani's course is incredible! She explains everything in an exciting way, discussing various subjects pertinent to those who wish to pursue their academic career. I am ecologist and I think it is perfectly feasible to transpose the ideas presented by dra sainani to other areas of knowledge. I took more time to finish the course because I have a little difficulty with English, but I assure you: worth every minute!

創建者 Özge Ç

Jun 16, 2020

An excellent and absolutely necessary course for PhD students and early science career researchers from all fields of science. Professionally planned and well-taught. I wish I had learned what this course teaches during my PhD studies. I have been away from research for a while and dearly wish to resume my career. This course was a treasure for me. Thank you Prof. Sainani. It was pleasure to have taken your course.

創建者 Raquel M

Aug 31, 2020

The course is excellent. Dr Kristin Sainani starts with valuable guidelines regarding grammatical construction and style. She guides us to writing a scientific article and submitting it for publication. Also, the course shows us how we can communicate with the lay public and social networks. This course is useful for all researchers, whether beginners or experienced. Exercices assist in learning. Congratulations!

創建者 Annya S

Jun 05, 2018

Wonderful critical thinking course. Having written a case report and personal statements in the past, I learned there was so much that I didn't know. This course broke writing down into goal oriented snippets and showed me what a wonderfully streamlined process it can be. I also found it lovely to be able to de-mystify the grant process as a young professional. A must course for any individual in the sciences!

創建者 Renuka P

Jul 09, 2020

Thank you so much Dr.Kristin Sainani for this excellent course. A course covering all the topics step by step. I have started this course as a free course, as I don't know the course would be completed by me or not. But I completed the course & took the certificate only because of your pretty way of teaching. Now I want to start my career in medical writing. Thanks to Coursera also for providing this course.

創建者 Antonio T G

Apr 18, 2019

This course should be a "must" for any PhD students or prospective researchers. It gives a clear method for writing scientific research with good examples, and helps to "clear the fog" we (students) usually have when drafting our first article. It also provide a guide on how to manage workload (and writing techniques) to avoid frequent mistakes among young writers. I wish I had known this course earlier!

創建者 Danijela P

Jun 24, 2020

Scientific writing seems so easy and simple when Dr. Kristin Sainani speaks about it! When you try it yourself, of course, it's not quite like that ... at least in the beginning :) This course allowed me to get one step (and not a small one!) closer to that goal. It helped me structure the topic in my head and make things simpler and easier - in thoughts and sentences. I am infinitely grateful for that!

創建者 Maciej B

Jun 07, 2020

It is an excellent course, full of precious information and it was a pleasure to take part in. Some of the information were very surprising to get to know, as some teaching models of how to write papers are usually totally different (lots of clutter and passive voice). Thus, it made me feel more comfortable to change my mind about scientific writing and try to experiment on this, using gained knowledge.

創建者 Anne T

Dec 17, 2019

I found Writing in the Sciences incredibly helpful and challenging. I wish I had known about this course when I was handed a manuscript assignment without having had any previous experience writing a journal submission. Dr. Kristin Sainani is clear and concise (and personable!) in her presentations. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is or will be writing scientifically or needs a refresher.

創建者 Swadhin S

May 26, 2020

The course covers lots of technical aspects of writing manuscript, review, recommendation letter, and science news. The course is very helpful for biological science grad student/postdoc. There are real examples of good and bad writing from Nature/Cell/Science journals. The quizzes at the end of each module are easy—if someone carefully listens to the video. I would highly recommend taking this course.