Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,378 個評分
1,131 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

MM
2016年11月30日

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

SD
2020年7月13日

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

篩選依據:

1076 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1100 個評論(共 1,109 個)

創建者 Michelle

2020年5月20日

It was a fun course in many ways. The "Lectures" could hardly be called lectures really as they were so short. But, that said, they were info-packed so very useful. The size of MOOC's make them particularly fraught: so many participants come from non-English speaking backgrounds so reviewing other's works was actually very difficult at times.

創建者 Colors

2020年11月19日

I thought Dr. Skyhorse's lectures were very strong and very clear. I did think he was speaking to his audience like novices, almost like children, but I actually appreciate that in this context. I really wanted to have someone take my hand like a five-year-old through the very elementary steps of conventional storytelling.

創建者 Chris R

2017年1月1日

The course material and videos are very good, however I would prefer that comments about your work be emailed directly to the student so that they are more likely to read them. I found it to easy to just move on and not really look for the comments on my work.

創建者 Pauline R

2016年5月22日

I found this course quite hard to take to; especially after starting the second one on Character. Saying that though, it is good to learn about different perspectives and approaches as education whatever form enables us to move forward on our learning path.

創建者 Megan S

2018年3月1日

I liked the writing exercises, but I felt the videos were a bit simple and Skyhorse was very pleasant but not a great interviewer. It would be nice if the assignment were reviewed by a professor or a TA or something. Peer review was overall NOT helpful.

創建者 ipsita g

2019年6月8日

The course was structured well. It introduced to many things that were probably known to us but not explicit.

However, on taking other courses in the series I realized that the instructor is less effective and original than others, especially Amy.

創建者 Soe T S

2020年5月6日

I'd like it if peers can give more elaborated reviews. It seems like they just want to finish the mandatory 3 reviews just to get points. Most of the reviews I received are nothing more than 'Yes. No. I agree with the author.' No elaborations.

創建者 Mike Z

2020年4月9日

I enjoyed the course and found it useful. The majority of the students don't seem to speak good english. That isn't a problem for their writing, but I feel like they have a hard time usefully evaluating my work due to the language barrier.

創建者 Allison R C

2020年9月15日

I got the most out of listening to the modules. I wish that there was some feedback from the instructor on the writing assignments. Everything is peer-reviewed only, and the quality of the feedback is quite poor.

創建者 Noah S

2019年7月30日

The course was a good motivator to start writing and keep writing every week. The lectures were short and generic. Nothing other than the very basics. The peer review system works okay but it certainly isn't great.

創建者 Lisa G

2016年10月12日

I understand the importance of reviewing other classmates work however with the time constraints of today's world, I believe it takes away from precious time that could be spent developing the craft of writing .

創建者 SANCHEZ C M P

2020年10月8日

La verdad es muy difícil aprender algo ya que nunca hay retroalimentación aparte de la que dan los compañeros del curso. Solo son videos muy abiertos para explicaciones que deberían ser concretas.

創建者 Marc E S

2017年4月27日

I was hoping the lectures would be more dense. My previous coursera courses where on data science, machine learning, etc. I somewhat feel that the content on those courses is twice or thrice more.

創建者 nathan g

2020年9月28日

Some of the instructions didn't seem to match the assignment and I think a lot of learners were confused. Needs more moderation. I did learn and found the challenges in the course useful.

創建者 Justin S

2020年9月9日

the grading system could improve star selection process such as grammar; clarity; congruency; originality; captivation may broaden the critque of the story

創建者 katherine l

2018年4月2日

Materials were engaging. Some assignment direction was a little vague. Some professional interaction or review would help to supplement the peer review.

創建者 Youssef A

2020年6月10日

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

創建者 S. J W

2016年2月27日

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

創建者 Paul C

2018年10月28日

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

創建者 Jesica M E D B

2016年8月22日

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

創建者 Nima Y Z

2020年11月8日

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

創建者 Mariana C

2020年3月28日

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

創建者 Priya

2016年12月21日

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

創建者 ahmed i

2017年1月17日

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context