Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,988 個評分
1,343 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

SD
2020年7月13日

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

DA
2016年11月30日

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

篩選依據:

1126 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1150 個評論(共 1,333 個)

創建者 Michelle Y

2020年12月21日

An easy-to-follow course that is great for anyone, whether you're a beginner or experienced and in need for revisiting the fundamentals of creative writing. I especially enjoyed listening to the interviews of other authors and hearing their advice for this craft.

創建者 Sophie S

2018年8月18日

I really liked the writing exercises...they were a good challenge and the peer review was a great feature....I didn't find the videos extremely helpful though. There were a couple good ideas in them, but overall not too interesting for an experienced writer.

創建者 Michael H

2016年5月24日

A good introductory course to the craft of plot. Covers the basics, though I would appreciate some more complex assignments. Perhaps offer some more advanced course in the future? Maybe an advanced fiction specialization? Either way, good introductory course.

創建者 Faith E

2017年11月10日

I really enjoyed this course. It re-freshed a lot of my knowledge on the writing process/vocabulary while challenging me to write in a new way. Sharing my writing with peers and learning to give thoughtful, helpful feedback was also a great learning tool!

創建者 Scott M

2020年5月21日

Interviews were well done. Reviewing the work of other students was marginally useful. Many students would have benefited from grammar and spelling check as mistakes in those elements were distracting. This might be that English is a second language.

創建者 abrar a

2018年3月11日

I loved the course as it got me back to writing with agenda and a goal. the words limit was a good challenge and the time to fit in the deadline were a bit difficult as I work full time on demanding job.. but i truly enjoyed the course and the lectures

創建者 John F

2020年11月19日

The instructors offered good insights and perspectives on plot-making. However, I didn't like the peer reviews since some students were strict with the instructions and didn't leave room for artistic creativity, which I often employ in my exercises.

創建者 Cat B

2018年2月21日

This is a well-structured and engaging set of videos and writing exercises that serves as a great introduction to the basic practice of writing fiction. The assignments were challenging but fun and increased my confidence in being able to write.

創建者 Kirsty R

2019年10月24日

This course has been really helpful in thinking about the way I shape my stories and my narratives. Easy to follow lectures and relevant assignments, it is definitely a useful tool for those of us who are looking to improve our writing skills.

創建者 Laura D

2020年1月10日

Good course, I enjoyed it. Would have liked to have seen more reading with the class that illustrated more of the concepts. Also, the concept of "rising action" was not sufficiently explained and one of the assignments was a little lame.

創建者 James B

2016年3月15日

It's a good course. The explanations of plot and scene have made me understand for the first time what writing fiction is all about, and for the first time I was bale to write fiction that is better than anything I had ever written before.

創建者 Eric W

2020年10月8日

While Peer Review is a great tool, and for the most part is implemented well in this course, it would also be nice if at least one assignment received instructor feedback of some kind. Otherwise, the class was very helpful and concise!

創建者 Dominique S

2019年4月26日

This was a decent class. There was a lot of interviews with other writers which I felt took up a lot of the class and was a little unhelpful. But it was a pretty decent class. I learned from it the sequence of what belongs in a scene.

創建者 aditi c

2020年8月30日

I really enjoyed the course and it was really helpful to learn the basics of plot. I especially liked all the assignments. One thing that I would like to suggest is that maybe one final assignment should be graded by an instructor.

創建者 Kristie C

2020年12月26日

lecture and interview videos were helpful and informative. but since the class is entirely based on peer reviews, people who post one-word reviews on other people's hard work should be banned/have their grade impacted accordingly.

創建者 Jillian F

2021年2月22日

The videos were packed with technical strategies for creating plot and moving characters through their stories and assignments gave the opportunity to practice the new skills. The feedback forums were not as helpful as I hoped.

創建者 Khushi A M S

2020年4月22日

I really do love this course, it has taught me so many different things about writing. Being able to understand certain things from the point of view of an actual real-time author has helped me grow as an amateur writer.

創建者 Mogeeb A R M

2019年12月26日

Very useful. Very simple, with a very warm atmosphere throughout the sessions videos, and the way of grading, and it gives a great importance for sharing grades, stories and ideas which is very nice. I really enjoyed it.

創建者 Nicole B

2021年1月13日

It would be nice to get feedback from professors or graduate students or real writers vs peer since I'm not 100% sure I'm doing the assignments correctly. But the videos/actual lessons are great and super insightful.

創建者 Alexandra L

2018年6月24日

I enjoyed it very much. Having tried my hand at writing, this was very helpful to see my mistakes and where I needed to pay more attention to my own writing. And SHOW! don't tell. OMGoodness, makes such a difference.

創建者 Katrina C

2019年10月2日

I have enjoyed the course and liked the weekly flow of assignments. i have also enjoyed the tasks each session. i would have liked to receive at least one or maybe two professional reviews, instead of just peers.

創建者 Fred R

2017年12月21日

I think I miss somehow contact with teachers, maybe because I have the sensation some of my peers live in a different galaxy. Maybe it would be a good thing to scale the reviews. But anyhow, an excellent course.

創建者 Danielle L G

2020年12月17日

I feel like it would've been nice if, apart from peer reviews, we also get insights from professionals from the University on how we can further improve our writing.

But it was a really great experience overall.

創建者 Eyram D

2020年8月1日

This course was amazing and the professor gave us the necessary information required to write our stories. Also all the GUEST writers who shared their experiences and opinions with us gave us a stepping stone.

創建者 Francois C G

2020年9月17日

A good enough guide for lower-level writers, but all of the information can be found for free by listening to the Writing Excuses podcast. The real value is the crash course in peer review and receiving it.