Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,555 個評分
1,191 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

LB
2018年11月15日

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

BM
2019年11月4日

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

篩選依據:

1001 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1025 個評論(共 1,169 個)

創建者 Eric W

2020年10月8日

While Peer Review is a great tool, and for the most part is implemented well in this course, it would also be nice if at least one assignment received instructor feedback of some kind. Otherwise, the class was very helpful and concise!

創建者 Dominique S

2019年4月26日

This was a decent class. There was a lot of interviews with other writers which I felt took up a lot of the class and was a little unhelpful. But it was a pretty decent class. I learned from it the sequence of what belongs in a scene.

創建者 aditi c

2020年8月30日

I really enjoyed the course and it was really helpful to learn the basics of plot. I especially liked all the assignments. One thing that I would like to suggest is that maybe one final assignment should be graded by an instructor.

創建者 Kristie C

2020年12月26日

lecture and interview videos were helpful and informative. but since the class is entirely based on peer reviews, people who post one-word reviews on other people's hard work should be banned/have their grade impacted accordingly.

創建者 Khushi A M S

2020年4月22日

I really do love this course, it has taught me so many different things about writing. Being able to understand certain things from the point of view of an actual real-time author has helped me grow as an amateur writer.

創建者 Mogeeb A R M

2019年12月26日

Very useful. Very simple, with a very warm atmosphere throughout the sessions videos, and the way of grading, and it gives a great importance for sharing grades, stories and ideas which is very nice. I really enjoyed it.

創建者 Nicole B

2021年1月13日

It would be nice to get feedback from professors or graduate students or real writers vs peer since I'm not 100% sure I'm doing the assignments correctly. But the videos/actual lessons are great and super insightful.

創建者 Alexandra L

2018年6月24日

I enjoyed it very much. Having tried my hand at writing, this was very helpful to see my mistakes and where I needed to pay more attention to my own writing. And SHOW! don't tell. OMGoodness, makes such a difference.

創建者 Katrina C

2019年10月2日

I have enjoyed the course and liked the weekly flow of assignments. i have also enjoyed the tasks each session. i would have liked to receive at least one or maybe two professional reviews, instead of just peers.

創建者 Fred R

2017年12月21日

I think I miss somehow contact with teachers, maybe because I have the sensation some of my peers live in a different galaxy. Maybe it would be a good thing to scale the reviews. But anyhow, an excellent course.

創建者 Danielle L G

2020年12月17日

I feel like it would've been nice if, apart from peer reviews, we also get insights from professionals from the University on how we can further improve our writing.

But it was a really great experience overall.

創建者 Eyram D

2020年8月1日

This course was amazing and the professor gave us the necessary information required to write our stories. Also all the GUEST writers who shared their experiences and opinions with us gave us a stepping stone.

創建者 Francois C G

2020年9月17日

A good enough guide for lower-level writers, but all of the information can be found for free by listening to the Writing Excuses podcast. The real value is the crash course in peer review and receiving it.

創建者 Teresa S

2018年3月23日

I really enjoyed the course and felt I learned a lot. However, the reviews often were not helpful or very well thought out. I would be nice if there was some type of review from a professor or professional.

創建者 Ramesh I

2020年6月18日

many new ideas but with a limited scope. it is an interesting course where one can learn the basics well. I feel it can be stretched a bit more with a couple of more exercises and submissions as an option.

創建者 Cornelia M L

2016年3月14日

The course modules are helpful and easy to follow. I wish to give it 5 stars but because we, students, failed to experience the professor's feedback even in some of our thread, I think 4 stars are enough.

創建者 Harsha V

2016年9月27日

I loved doing the course, and especially while doing each assignment of writing a story. The short guiding videos were to the point and interviews with personalities was engaging, Thanks for the course!!

創建者 Naima M

2016年2月16日

Extremely innovative exercises and guidelines. Really opens one s brain to think creatively. The intructions for assignments need a bit more clarification.

A worthy ue of hard earned money.

Thanks Coursera

創建者 Victoria C L

2016年10月23日

Love the clear direct explanations. Would have enjoyed more examples, more robust practice examples and a longer class overall, to l earn more plotting, but love the prof. Brandon knows how to teach!!

創建者 sebastian o

2020年8月30日

Great intro course. Picked up a lot of things an excited to learn more. Only thing is that Brando Skyhorse takes things a bit too methodically for my taste. Good guidelines but would like more freedom.

創建者 Victoria C

2020年8月7日

I really enjoyed the course. I was hoping for some direct teacher contact with the assignments. Peer reviews are great, but it would be nice to get feedback for major assignments from the instructors.

創建者 Hector V

2020年12月7日

Course is great, very clear and focused tips to improve one's writing. The peer-review is not that good and there is no instructor's evaluation and feedback. I understand that would be a lot of work.

創建者 Andrea E M

2018年4月23日

This course really allowed me to grow as a writer. The content was adjustable for a range of levels and the assignments challenged participants to put into practice that week's lectures. Thank you.

創建者 Deepak S R

2020年6月23日

First of all, I would like to thank Mr. Brando Skyhorse for bringing this electric course for aspiring writers. Next to all peers. Meticulously, It is a well organised one. Highly recommended.

創建者 Andrea R C

2019年5月16日

I enjoyed the lectures, but it can be challenging to peer-review others and to be peer-reviewed when there is such a huge range in terms of writing skill and/or English fluency in the class.