Chevron Left
返回到 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

學生對 悉尼新南威尔士大学 提供的 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 的評價和反饋

4.7
442 個評分
164 條評論

課程概述

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

熱門審閱

NT

Apr 27, 2020

Great Course. Love the inputs from all the professionals and the various tools and methods provided to the students to complete the modules. Very interesting and enriching. Thank you

CL

Jun 23, 2020

All aspects of story telling and trans media story telling are discussed. The resource persons shared their experiences very effectively to keep the interest building. Thank you!

篩選依據:

26 - Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 的 50 個評論(共 159 個)

創建者 Старицына Е А

May 10, 2020

This is a great course with amazing instructors, who put a lot of work into creating the materials including the tasks. It has taught me how to get to know my audience and to make sure they get a fulfilling experience. It has taught to focus on what is important while developing and delivering a story. Thanks to the information and the tasks I have designed my own project and received constructive feedback which helped along the way.

創建者 Jasmine Y

May 11, 2020

This was a very exciting and interesting course and I've learned a lot in the six weeks that I've done the course. The instructors and both the video and the reading materials were quite helpful. The peer-reviewed assignments and also reviewing other participants' assignments were quite helpful in developing the story that was part of the assignment. Some links provided in the reading materials were not working.

創建者 Felipe M

Aug 25, 2017

An excellent course. It makes clear why transmedia storytelling is triving, while giving you the tools to set up your own story. I'd recommend any professional involved with media to become more acquainted with the topic of transmedia experiences on itself; and, for that, I have to say that this course provides a great insight on the structure, purpose and design of such projects.

創建者 Shashank U

Sep 13, 2018

The course is well structured and filled with abundant resources. I loved the assignment section that helped me organise my thought process and be productive. Plus, this industry is something I really want to be working in, so I might be biased. Also, what makes this course truly valuable is that one gets to hear so many experienced professionals and their stories.

創建者 Uwem O

May 04, 2020

I wanted 'something' that would move me from the regular, ordinary experience- 'something' holistic. Holistic used not as a cliche, but having a universal experience that will make the experience of the world being a 'global village' a reality, and I found that in the Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds of emerging technologies, and global audiences.

創建者 Claire R

Jun 04, 2018

Great course! I gained so much from this, both in insight and confidence. Thoroughly recommend this for people wanting to improve their understanding of how transmedia storytelling can work for you and how you can implement it. Creating my own story helped what I learned sink in and I'm excited to try some transmedia techniques in my role. Thanks

創建者 Sabrina L

Apr 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. I feel like it gave me a much deeper understanding of all the elements that go into creating a story and catering to my audience in a more effective and meaningful way. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is considering any field in creative writing, journalism, marketing, or content writing. So good!

創建者 Mauro I M

Jun 08, 2020

Great content, well researched refferences. If you want to go deep on the subject of transmedia storytelling, you will find lots of invaluable links to bibliography and authors. Professionals and professors involved in the videos are recognized authorities and provide interesting insights. Very inspirational assignment. Really loved it.

創建者 Lokapriya

Feb 12, 2017

The best online course I've learned by far. Right from the course structure to the content everything was just awesome. The team has relentlessly worked in getting the global gurus to talk about the content and created the best content online for trans media storytelling. I've already recommended my colleagues to take this course.

創建者 Victor M M A

Jul 31, 2019

Realmente disfruté mucho del curso. La información que se brinda es invaluable, los profesionales a cargo de los cursos son de primera y las experiencias que comparten y sus conocimientos son enriquecedores. Recomiendo este curso completamente, especialmente para personas que están relacionadas al marketing y al diseño gráfico.

創建者 Patrícia H D

Apr 16, 2020

Great course! I learned a lot and I'm sure all of this knowledge will open new doors for me. The interviews are very educational and explanatories. Teachers are great, they have a lot of valuable tips; the exchange with the colleagues are nice too. I truly recomended it. Thanks Coursera and UNSW Sidney for this opportunity!

創建者 Stella B

Jul 09, 2019

Great course, I'm so happy to be a part of it. It changed my mind, my vision, updated my entire business experience and improved my English skills. It takes a little time for the information to settle down. Too much new things ) I feel my new knowledge helps me to rebuild my ideas, i live in another world now after course.

創建者 Lázaro V C J

Jul 22, 2020

I’m thankful for this course. It brings new aspects of a story that I had never thought before. It also helped to review some content that I have previously studied about storytelling. Besides that, the assessments of my course colleagues pointed out some aspects of my idea that I hadn’t considered before.

創建者 Caroline S

May 04, 2020

The course is well structured and I really liked the video illustrating the concepts, and sharing real life experiences. I also really like the perspective given: no need to jump on to new technologies, choose the best technology for the story - and the story comes first.

Very inspiring course, thank you

創建者 Deepit S

Jun 18, 2020

This is an extremely informative, and just a great course for people to discover just how deep the upcoming world of storytelling goes. I really enjoyed this course! The usage of verious technologies and gauging at your audiences' interests is something that this course teaches eceptionally

創建者 Marne L P

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent overview of storytelling and how the different aspects of the story, the intended audience and the different potential technologies fit together. I learned quite a bit, and I didn't even have a well-crafted story.

Fun, interesting and worth taking, even if you are not tech-savvy

創建者 Guy A I

Mar 14, 2018

Great professors , Great materials, Great lecuturer - Over all great learning experience. Bridges the gap between creative storytelling and technology as such appropriate both for the creative professional and the technologist. There are so many different ways to tell a story!

創建者 Timothy N

Mar 24, 2019

I got more out of this course than I expected. The reading material was fantastic; I found many of the papers and articles deeply engrossing. This course really laid the groundwork for my first foray into transmedia and digital storytelling. I cannot recommend it enough!

創建者 Esra E

Apr 16, 2020

I'm reeeaaly so happy to be able to take this course. All of the instructers all af the interviews they provide to us and all of the informations they give are so important and valuable. So thank you UNSW and Coursera for giving me this opportunity. 100% recommend!

創建者 Marika O

Oct 03, 2019

The training schedule was very well thought out which provided me a valuable insight into the ways that Transmedia Storytelling do work. It was not a walk in the park to accomplish it, as the Transmedia storytelling is a complex project to carry through.

創建者 Chinemelu O

Jun 06, 2020

This course was really good. I hope that I can have access to the content to review when can. Learned a lot from the videos, readings and my classmates. It also gave me new ideas and removed my fears regarding virtual media platforms. Thank you.

創建者 Itika S

May 19, 2020

When a course is crafted with full passion, it is visible. I could see the hard work put in creating this course and throughly enjoyed it. Thank you for bringing in industry experience than just concepts and presentations. Kudos to the team!

創建者 Yazmin H Z G

Jun 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I am not from a storytelling background; however, I took it because I thought it could be useful for science diffusion and I will be working on how to make that happen with what I have learn in this course.

創建者 Pooja I

Feb 27, 2019

Just what I needed as a development communication practitioner with a knack for filmmaking, and all other things creative! Kudos to the course designers for gathering so many industry insights onto a single platform for the learners.

創建者 lissette j

Jul 27, 2020

thanks for the oportunity to learn something new, i will hope to accomplish what i learn and to make the strategy to the trasmedia storytelling thrue, no all but some and i will keep fighthing to make that happen, thanks everyone