Chevron Left
返回到 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

學生對 悉尼新南威尔士大学 提供的 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 的評價和反饋

4.7
649 個評分
237 條評論

課程概述

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

熱門審閱

NN
2021年8月15日

Being someone who loves movies, this course has provided me deep knowledge about storytelling . the lectures were very understandable for a beginner. Hope to use this knowledge in future. :)

MP
2021年5月23日

I definitely recommend this course to all those who want to improve their creativity, their storytelling skills and learn to use different technologies to engage all types of audiences.

篩選依據:

1 - Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 的 25 個評論(共 234 個)

創建者 Roberto N

2019年2月1日

I expected more from the course, although I definitely learned something new, and a part of the contents helped me a lot to generate new projects. However, I realized that the same course is available for free on the UNSW website, I paid for the certificate, and it is only for completing the course. I am disappointed that I paid for the certificate. It did change a lot for me, I learn new and exciting things

創建者 J-Man

2019年2月7日

Although this course was thorough it felt very laborious very quickly. I understand the subject is complex but it really seemed like a large percentage of the start was hammering home the definition of the subject as apposed to teaching about it. I'm not sure I took much away from this course unfortunately despite the amount of great thinkers and obviously successful interviewees it had.

創建者 LeAttol ( E L

2018年3月23日

Very engaging. I have not seen this level of interviewing before. It's very educational and intensive. But less so on the education side, more on the motivational one. -L

創建者 Emese K

2017年9月11日

this is one of the best courses I have ever taken. So professional, helpful, insightful yet encouraging. Totally a must-take if you interested in content marketing.

創建者 Joyce S

2017年3月13日

This was a great course. Well structured into the four areas you need to understand to build transmedia experiences. Loved the mix of industry stories with lectures.

My biggest bug bear is that ALL of the content is delivered via video. The transcripts are there, but they don't read well on their own. I would really love an eBook to go with this course for future reference.

創建者 Harleen D

2019年12月10日

Although it is a very organized course as compared to some other free courses I have attended, I found this course having the following issues:

-a lot of points, basic definitions and information keeps repeating unnecessarily throughout the course in almost all videos

-Each video and the whole course as a whole seems a little stretched and not to the point, even though the attempt is there, seeing the weekly concept headings.

-It is a little difficult to grasp the expectation of the assignments; some of the assignments I had reviews have been very well thought of, almost as if the students were already ready with their individual stories to full details (possibly students with their own professional writing background) , while some were quite vague and had an underlying idea correctly present. It becomes hard to judge them in one basis because of their varying experience.

I love the discussion prompt exercises and the readings available. It is quite an informative and helpful course to build your skills, know all aspects one should keep in mind while writing. I only wish it was a little more concisely put so one could finish things while still staying interested to carry on. That can only happen if it was leading us somewhere, which I found missing. Other than that, good experience.

創建者 Alberto V

2020年7月18日

The high ratings made me think this would be a very interesting and exciting course but after 2 whole weeks it seems that they are just giving opinions and boring statements, nothing new or challenging.

Also, please lecturers, STOP mentioning Star Wars, it's a famous franchise but not a great story...

創建者 Oscar D

2017年8月28日

Hi, I expected a feedback and follow up from the teachers. Finally, we as the students had to evaluate the works of the other fellow students. For the rest the content of the course is ok, but can be better, more practical focused and with some more didactic flow. We also can search for similar YouTube videos. Honestly, I expected more from this course. Best regards.

創建者 Michael K

2017年4月14日

This is a great course! Lots to think about. It turns out Transmedia Storytelling is a lot harder than you might think. It's not just branding across different channels. The course is clear, builds on itself from week to week, challenges you to think and write and then apply your new understanding as you grade your peers. You will have to come up with one storyworld idea you can run with for the four assignments. <brag>I got 97%!</brag>

創建者 Irene T

2019年5月19日

The course helped me a lot to develop skills besides the writing of the story. Especially the way to use stories for social change and the analyzing of who my audience is where essential. I am in progress to develop a creative project to empower children. Children with a difficult background can gain strength through that. On the other hand, I want to raise awareness for educators, teachers, and parents. They do have a different experience than the children. The user' journey map helped a lot with this. So I gained valuable tools to put my project further.

創建者 Anna C

2020年11月8日

Very entertaining and interesting course! I thought I wouldn't be able to do the project justice, but this course really encourages your creative thinking. Very good experience!

創建者 Pablo S G

2017年2月4日

I Really enjoyed the course. It was very helpful. I have lots of books and papers to read deeply and investigate how to improve my future projects. Well done!! :)

創建者 Kevin L

2019年2月16日

I wish there were more on the basic thinking behind transmedia and less on the already aging technologies. This course needs updating already to stay relevant.

創建者 Robert K

2019年5月1日

Great course, gives a first overview of the elements of Transmedia Storytelling. Interesting insights into the movie world of Hollywood as well as into other producers of contemporary media. The course has provided some ideas that i had not considered before after being 20 years in the Marketing and Advertising industry.

Very well structured content, easy to understand lectures even for students with non-English mother language. Loads of additional non-compulsory content for those interested in knowing more.

Entertaining and Educational lectures in manageable time consumption. Finally: nice certificate on my wall. First one from Australia ; )))

Course recommended!

創建者 Mariela d P R B

2017年6月9日

This is an outstanding course and I highly recommend it to people who want to get familiar with the topic and also to those who want to start a career as a transmedia storyteller. The course structure is motivating and coherent (key concept explanations, interviews to a number of world leading transmedia professionals to learn practical tips and strategies, practical activities). Furthermore, recommended readings and sites are useful to complement the course material. Finally, there is a project for participants to apply their knowledge and creativity.

創建者 Yann C

2017年7月4日

I'm a storyteller, music and image maker with some experience in illustration and design. Technology has played a big part in what I do.

This course is an essential resource for anyone venturing into cross-platform storytelling.

The information contained in the curriculum come from seasoned professionals and invested academics. All of them are pushing the boundaries of what is possible in 2017 and reflecting on what the future of storytelling looks like.

I found plenty of ideas to help me draw a strategy for my own work, I highly recommended it.

創建者 Georgina G

2016年11月21日

This course is very good. After reading a few very good books con Transmedia, and taking a few courses on Transmedia related topics, I can tell this is THE course that has really made me think I can do it. It provides information, examples and advices to meet the requirements to build a transmedia world with meaningful and engaging experiences. After this course I feel I know how to move on with the idea of Transmedia I had in mind when I started the course. Thank you to all the excellent teachers and congratulations for this wonderful course!

創建者 David A

2020年4月5日

Super fun and educational course. I recommend this to anyone who is studying (content) marketing or in the storytelling business! I study content marketing myself and I see that this has given me a lot of insights.

創建者 Martina D P

2021年5月24日

I definitely recommend this course to all those who want to improve their creativity, their storytelling skills and learn to use different technologies to engage all types of audiences.

創建者 Charu L

2020年6月23日

All aspects of story telling and trans media story telling are discussed. The resource persons shared their experiences very effectively to keep the interest building. Thank you!

創建者 Eric

2017年3月11日

Very interesting!

At first, I just wanted to learn about Transmedia technics and when I was told to tell a story, well ...

And now, I'm ready to make it known!

創建者 Mogeeb A R M

2020年3月25日

What a wonderful journey!

Intensive, crazy, beautifully designed. genius content and flow of information.

I enjoyed, nearly, every second of this course.

創建者 Debashish S

2019年3月9日

Had a very excellent experience! The instructors were really very awesome. The course has surely improvised my understanding of transmedia storytelling.

創建者 David L

2020年4月23日

Un gran curso, me encantó y aprendí muchísimo

創建者 Kent V

2017年2月8日

Generally, a good course.

The lectures and supporting talks were instructive, helpful, and inspiring. The instructors and industry experts were well chosen.

The assignments were pretty good. They provided nice constraints and freedom of expression to come up with ideas and think about how one might create and adapt a story world so that meaningful experiences can be had from it. The peer review process was good, but I would have liked instructor feedback as well (I suppose it is free for because of only being peer reviewed though).