Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的評價和反饋

4.8
1,586 個評分
522 條評論

課程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

熱門審閱

DR

Jul 06, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

UF

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

篩選依據:

126 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 150 個評論(共 510 個)

創建者 Vielka D F M

Aug 18, 2017

Thanks, to all the instructors for their lessons, was of great use for me in my knowledge and application learned, thanks again everyone

創建者 Margarita R

May 05, 2020

Thank you! It was truely an enjoyable and helpful course! I am sure the knowledge I recieved in this course will help me in my career.

創建者 Cai Y

Sep 10, 2019

I think the content is really interesting and not hard. For non-native speaker, it's a good way to imporve listening and oral English.

創建者 Gyaneshor k

Mar 05, 2020

i am very happy because I have completed this course.I am thankful to related members of this university as well as this university

創建者 Bhavana

Jan 15, 2018

This is awesome course thank you for such a easy way of learning. Instructors are so good at expressing and explaining the concepts.

創建者 Ezequiel B J

Jun 03, 2019

Great course for english starters, hoped to have more advance english, but the articles and information they gave where interesant.

創建者 Ррр

Oct 07, 2017

Thank you for the course. I highly appreciate your effort as now I use all the information provided when talking about this topic.

創建者 Luis B

Jun 15, 2017

Excellent course, for learning new terms on Science, Math and Technology, at the same time learning and practice English Language.

創建者 Viki D

May 20, 2017

Its a great way of reviewing and learning once again English with the mixture of science, technology, engineering and mathematics

創建者 Paula N

Jul 16, 2017

Excelente curso!!!! O curso apresenta uma metodologia e uma dinâmica muito boa de aprendizagem da língua inglesa. Thank you!!!

創建者 Jose M A

Jul 14, 2019

The course uses an exciting way to introduce scientific language. And the study case, Climate Change, is an excellent matter.

創建者 Jaime Á

Jun 12, 2017

Pretty accessible and quite informative, completely recomendable for everybody at all levels of english or science knowledge.

創建者 NOMAN U H

Jul 01, 2020

This course was designed with special care. It was a perfect blend of videos, reading articles, quiz and assignments. Thanks

創建者 Luis E S F

Jun 12, 2018

It has been an amazing journey, I really learnt a lot of things, and this is gonna be very helpful for my professional life.

創建者 Abigail F P

Nov 30, 2017

I have learned so much that I'm very excited to share them with my students. Thank you for coming up with this great course.

創建者 Ingrid N O S

Jul 15, 2019

It was an amazing experience to learn more about engineering and technology, hope to use this knowledge in my diary life !

創建者 Deleted A

Jan 26, 2019

this is not only useful for non English-speaking country, but this also provide a supportive English-learning environment.

創建者 Tiago P G N

Sep 20, 2017

Ótimo para praticar e aprender. Além de ser um assunto que interessa a todos nós, o que torna o curso mais atraente ainda.

創建者 pushpatamang

Sep 12, 2019

it is very difficult . but i did not lose my confidence and do ahead . today i fell very happy . and thank you coursera .

創建者 Sérgio d A A

Oct 01, 2018

Curso excelente com muito conteúdo interessante ensinado de forma criativa e descontraida. Excelentes professores também.

創建者 Blanca P

Apr 22, 2020

This course was excellent; I learned about English and Science. It helped me to improve my English as a second language.

創建者 Emiliano J B M

May 28, 2020

Realmente me pareció un curso muy didáctico, entretenido y por sobe todo se aprende mucho de temas varios y del ingles.

創建者 JOSE R C P

Apr 10, 2020

It has been a well-developed course, especially when familiar words are reviewed in practice and applied to technology.

創建者 Tsz K T

Aug 01, 2019

I have not studied a course since I graduated around 10 years ago. This course makes me take back my passion to learn.

創建者 Iryna A

Feb 24, 2019

Very interesting course! Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This topic is very important! Thank you for your work!