Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的評價和反饋

4.8
2,393 個評分

課程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

熱門審閱

TL

2021年3月14日

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC

2020年9月25日

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!

It was a very good learning experience!

Thank you!

篩選依據:

51 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 75 個評論(共 704 個)

創建者 Safia B

2020年7月10日

The course has certainly deepened my knowledge on climate change and has given me more valuable information on how scientists are working to mitigate its effects by using renewable energy and nanotechnology. This course is really priceless and It worth more than five stars. Thank you to the instructors and the university of PENN.

創建者 Alaeddine G

2020年1月14日

it's really an interested courses i have ever gotten. i understand all about climate change and global warming etc ; now i am able to distinguish between notions and vocabularies related on climate afterwards i learned almost all pioneering and promising methods to create clean an renewable energy. It's really outstanding !

創建者 Donald K B

2021年2月13日

Your course is very interesting and I love it. It enhances communication skills in English language. I makes me understand global warming and climate change and how we reduce the cause and/or impact for climate change. Thank you very much for allowing me to finish this English for STEM course. This is a great achievement.

創建者 Nicolas F

2020年6月1日

It´s a extremelely complete course. Interesting and useful for anyone who is interested in climate change. Also the teachers are clears and the interviews are really informative. I highly recommend it to you if it is your first time here or if you want to learn some new vocabulary and new information about climate change.

創建者 สุทธิพันธ์ ห

2020年5月19日

This course provides a wider range of contents about global warming and English strategies. The learners implement strategies in order to communicate effectively under STEM contexts. This course is recommended for those whose English is not their native language, especially those who involve with science and teaching.

創建者 Benedict M P A

2017年11月17日

Thank you for this graduating this course. It is timely as part of my classroom teaching. The Global warming theme is such timely to teach now to educate my students about their part in alleviating this global warming trend. Once again, thank you so much to my instructors: Mr. Jack Sullivan and Miss Alyssa Swanson.

創建者 Mahmudul F

2020年5月29日

The design of this English STEM course makes me to gather knowledge more about what may be next and the instructor show the way how I can feel like in the real life class room. I am owed to Coursera, UPenn, andU.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs .

創建者 Абдыкаримова Г

2020年4月30日

This course is the first I've managed to complete and this is mainly due to how interesting it was! Moreover, all the information in the course is very important and I think everyone should try it! Also, I am very thankful for the opportunity to study and to get the certificate for free. Thank you very much!

創建者 Rodrigo A M P

2017年5月26日

It is one great English course in which grammar is given within the course's content! I think the course is also good for advanced learner's as it reviews grammar points, gets in touch with the American English (for the ones who has been studying the British and Aussie variations), learns new skills!

創建者 Prapaporn P

2019年9月8日

I love this course! Even though English it's not my first language but teachers are using the easy sentence and talked slow. It's helped me a lot and make me craving to learn more. I have bachelor's degree in Materials Science and I think I'm going to get my master soon. Thank you for inspiring me!

創建者 Нарджан М

2020年12月20日

Hi everyone! My name is Nardzhan. I'm online student of coursera. Right now, I'm so happy because I finished my course English for STEM. COURSERA it is big online course system, if you want to study at there you'll never regret. Because COURSERA- the course of your dreams...

GOOD LUCK to everyone!

創建者 Deleted A

2020年6月7日

I just loved this course! Thanks a lot for such a brilliant opportunity! I will definitely share this info with my colleagues and friends! Things I have learned in English for STEM course I statrted using in my lessons with 9-10 graders. Many thanks to coursera team and our presenters))))))))

創建者 jamal m

2017年7月6日

It was a great course. I think it works for everyone. While you are learning about modal verbs, present progressive, and intensifiers, you will learn a lot of information about climate change and renewable energy. It is great especially for every one likes to work as a scientist or engineer.

創建者 Santiago

2021年8月28日

So good, for increasing my low level of English and prepare for the TOEFL or Cambridge Exam. Also observing what is the rhythm of courses in this types of great universities, new experiences for me who come from a small university in Cuba ( Matanzas ) , almost invisible on the world.

創建者 Jennifer F

2017年6月11日

I am not ESL but I have always had trouble with science. I took this course so I could take more courses in science and be able to understand them. I think classes like this should be made available to people like me from elementary school on. I'm glad I was able to take it now.

創建者 Chin M Y

2018年5月12日

I like this course. It helps me with my vocabularies and the tutors' teaching method is fun and interacting with games and discussion forums, and the assignments are just cool and helped me with my pronounciation and of course give me a better understanding in global warming.

創建者 MARCIO D S C

2017年7月9日

This was one of the best English language courses I've ever attended. Bringing a real background to study, in this case climate change, has not only made it easier to learn the English language, but also gave us a deeper understanding of what is really happening to the world.

創建者 Aline C

2021年8月16日

This course allowed me to expand my knowledge in the environmental area. The methodology is very practical, it is not exhaustive and when you see it, it has already been an hour carrying out the activities. The professors who teach the course have an excellent methodology.

創建者 Muhammad W

2021年1月29日

So much easy course and also easy to understand.You can learn different here about the world's any issue e.g.Climate change.You can many english skills to acknowledge the right use of words in any prospects of the life..Great course.Thank you coursea for having me....😁😁

創建者 Marcelo M

2017年7月17日

Thank you

I liked the course, the didactic way in which the course was presented, the slow way of speaking helped to understand the pronunciation well. I liked the games that encouraged you to learn in a didactic and fun way.

Congratulations on the teaching method. Hugs

創建者 BO G

2017年7月6日

I strong love this practical and efficiently online courses. I think I catch the main ideas of each chapter. The ways of expressing STEM ideas will help me. Although there are some minor mistakes in the courses, I still believe it is a high quality course for everyone.

創建者 Mario F

2020年5月1日

I want to say thanks for this nice course! it was innovative, with real new and awesome information, you can improve your English and at the same time, you learn more about climate change and the researches done to reduce and mitigate its impacts on the plant's life.

創建者 Kamran J

2022年5月30日

It was a great oppotunity for me to be participated in this course. I really appreciate the coursera team for giving me the chance to involve in this course. I wish you best things. And I also thank of my teachers in this course. They taught me a lot of new things.

創建者 Yatsenko S

2022年5月19日

Frankly speaking, I was impressed with the interesting topics. Some of htem were new for me. What I enjoyed most of all is the given opportunity to learn about difficult scientific topic at such a short and easy way. Thank you for doing your job. It was a pleasure