Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Data Science in Python

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Introduction to Data Science in Python 的評價和反饋

4.5
24,306 個評分
5,444 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

熱門審閱

PK
2020年5月9日

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
2018年3月15日

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

篩選依據:

276 - Introduction to Data Science in Python 的 300 個評論(共 5,378 個)

創建者 ROMASANTA, M J (

2019年10月30日

This course is not suited for beginners, who wanted to learn python.

創建者 Sourav S

2018年6月26日

Horrible. Explains nothingJohns Hopkins data science is FAR superior

創建者 SAFO E

2021年1月12日

i have been unable to follow the course and i want to exit

創建者 Md I H

2020年8月8日

Poorly organised. No helpful resource. Really sad course.

創建者 haozhen6

2017年8月27日

Vedio is useless, I only need to go through the code.

創建者 Alireza A

2019年11月10日

the teaching pace is very fast and not so clear.

創建者 Brics C

2019年10月27日

Gap between lecture and assignment is too high.

創建者 james c

2019年4月30日

Disconnected, too broad, could have been great.

創建者 Justin.Sun

2018年11月2日

Worst class ever! The instructor sucks!

創建者 Shivani A

2019年9月24日

Not exactly benefited.Too fast

創建者 许骐

2019年1月30日

autograding system is terrible

創建者 Bugra S

2018年1月2日

assigments are not clear

創建者 NITIN K S

2019年12月5日

The speed is too fast

創建者 Riyanka M J

2020年8月28日

not good course

創建者 mah v

2020年9月25日

It's boring.

創建者 SOMENATH C

2020年9月2日

outdated

創建者 Aino J

2020年1月6日

IN SHORT

This was a great course and I learnt a lot! Topics covered include a quick reminder on intermediate python and lots on pandas and some numpy. The weeks 3 and 4 assignments are quite challenging so expect to spend considerably more time than indicated on the course site if you're not experienced with python and pandas. This course is not for coding newbies.

IN DETAIL

I am proficient in R for data analysis and had dabbled with python before although had no experience with pandas. I was committed to learn the course material and to spend a substantial amount of time doing so. The speed of lectures is fast. I paused often to take notes and to try out the provided notebooks, and I returned to some of the videos when working on the assignments. I found the course assignments good and challenging. The lectures give a good tour of different functions and approaches you may want to use in the assignments, but there isn't much handholding with the assignments and you'll most likely spend quite of bit of time looking things up online in pandas docs and stackoverflow. If you're used to that and generally troubleshooting code, you'll probably be just fine. I spent much more time on the assignments than what is estimated on the site: ~5h for week 2 (vs 1.5h indicated), ~1 day for week 3 (vs 2h), and 2.5 days for week 4 (vs 4h).

Week 1 gives a refresher on how to write functions, list comprehensions, and lambdas in python. If you're familiar with writing loops and functions in other languages, with this material you will get to writing them in python quickly if you invest a bit of time and effort. If you're not yet at the level of confidently writing functions, loops and vectorized alternatives in python or another language, I'd recommend starting with a different, more basic course because the learning curve with this one might be too steep.

Week 2 gives the ins and outs of pandas including creating and querying pandas series and data frames.

Week 3 covers merging data frames, grouping (groupby) with aggregation (agg), applying functions rowwise (apply), and pivoting data (pivot_table) etc. It also gives a whirlwind tour of date/time manipulation using pandas. numpy is also included.

Week 4 has some lectures on distributions and more on numpy. The week consists mainly of the main project assignment where 50% of points are given on data cleaning and munging (contents of weeks 1-3) and the other 50% of points are on modelling and hypothesis testing. It's quite a proper project in the sense that you're given a number of non-clean data files scraped from different places and a hypothesis to test. There are some additional instructions on what format of cleaned data to produce from the different files and what type of test to perform, but for the rest you're on your own.

創建者 Xavier L G

2016年11月18日

This course was excellent. This course deviates from many garbage MOOC who only work with quiz and can not provide a real python coding challenge experience. Assignements are really tough. But my sense of progress is real.(I have struggled to identify such feel in many pytyhon MOOC). Jupyter base for everythjng is a fantatsic format(it even allows coding mobility betwwen my station at work and my home station through the coding on jupyter in the cloud) . My feedback nevertheless will point to some aspect in my experience and where I think you can improve.

Succeeding the assignement does not mean that we identified the most elegant way to apply all the knowledge of the course(lambdas,list comprehension, grouping..., apply) in our coding. Breaking that barrier is not easy for me unless we are forced at it and so my looping mind is often applied in assignments. A real correction with the answer need to be provided(this is what the real classroom would do, we managed to get to the answer but we could still learn more with an assisted correction just like what the real classroom would do.I understand that you are worry that the model will end up as copy paste on a webpage and will kill your value. You could maybe consider this add_on for paid customers only and only provide it in picture way which can only be paper print and not so easily converted to webpage format.Or you need to find an alegant way to randomize the assignment coding test at each coursera session, which in that case would not bring any forgery issue and you could provide the correction at the end of the course(or after each assigment completed).

Videos are a bit too fast on concepts sometimes.

You could split the assigment in two formats: format where simple principle of the course are first resolved on jupyter notebook (just like the videos case but with more exercices) and complex dataframe case as second assignment .(but please reduce the amounts of case to only 1 or 2, not 3)

You could reduce dataframe case.(I've spend easily 40 hours on assigment here, assigment time is too heavy from my workload as a full time scientist. This needs some carefull tuning.

Overall Great Job

創建者 Victor M S D

2017年1月30日

Very nice Course, You will Learn about how to effectively use Pandas Library for Python and how to treat DataFrames in that ambient, there are nice functions and methods for parsing. The Course is very fast pace, I only have time on the weekends (some of those), so I had to switch dates two times. Also, some materials are very fast, so If you are new in Python, got to be sure if you have mastered prior concepts of the course (Week 2 depends on week 1 and so on ...). A large part of the course involves your own research in Python Docs and StackOverFlow page. As I am an R user, some things are intuitive (and maybe more easier for me to do in R), several of the things in comparison I thought: "Wow, but this is so much easier on R", but at other times I saw the power of Python for parsing tasks or webdata that in the R require too much memory or are more complicated to obtain. R have the problem to treat everything like an object and guided by vectors, but at some parts that makes understand coding details more deeply, at least for me. I still think that the documentation of R the best there is for my purposes, so I will stick with that, but it's great to know how to develop some things in Python, mainly because of my goal of getting some applications to end users. Finally, not much related to the course, but maybe with the change in the platform of the Coursera, the forums seemed a little more confusing and a little more slower than former courses that I took, I think it might have to do with the same course running in parallel on different dates.

創建者 Sebastian J

2020年6月11日

Superb course if you are over confident about python or want to destroy your confidence by trying to do assignments by yourself just after hearing the lectures but gave up . On the other hand if you spend time trying to develop the concepts not just with the contents or explanation in the lectures, went through forum discussion, asked queries after many failed attempts at the assignments and finally succeeded in completing the assignments then this course will boost your confidence like no other. The course needs to be restructured and the content needs to be revised to accommodate the effort so that the learners can actually learn by the time mentioned in the course description else a course prior to this will have to be introduced. Another approach would be to increase the explanation of the videos by focusing on the assignments, this could be done by increasing the number of weeks. I have elaborated so much because of all the negativity that's spreading around this course, it's really bad for the university, teachers, students and everyone related to the course, it could even jeopardize the name of Coursera, not exaggerating. So take this opinion not as the review of just one student but of all those who had given low ratings, gave bad reviews, gave medium reviews and from all those who didn't actually mentioned any good about the course, now all this combined would be quite a handsome number of people.

創建者 Jakob B

2018年11月19日

Very valuable course for the fearless and stress-resistant. The scope and challenge level of the assignments is excellent. When you finally get the code right, you feel like you can solve any puzzle, because you can only get it right, when you completely understood why it's not giving the correct answer and you get those "Ohhh, that's what's wrong" moments all the time. So there is zero chance, that you will come out of this course having no idea what you actually learned. (Sadly a prevalent feeling at universities nowadays)

Apart from that, there is zero handholding and you MUST understand basic programming concepts. When even the course masters specifically tell you, that you will have to "google around" for that one vital code snippet, they mean it. This irritated me at first, because I expected a course on something to be self-contained (except the pre-conditional knowledge of stats and programming). But after completing it, I realized, that a big part of the professional programmer's workflow indeed does consist of googling for an answer on stackoverflow, since one and the same problem can be solved using a myriad of ways.

Big props to the creators of the assignments. Those were fire!

Best regards from Germany.

創建者 Jiefei W

2020年3月24日

It helps to learn how to clean up datasets in Python. 5 stars for it.

Some information for who want to try this class:

a. The course introduction shows ~18 hrs to complete the course. As a person with limited experience in Python, and as a person who mainly use Excel to deal with datasets for a long time, it took maybe >30 hours: ~4 hours every day for a week, maybe more hours on weekends.

b. The course says an intermediate level. The time spent on lectures might be 1/10 ~1/5 of the time spent on assignments. In other words, self-learning is highly demanded.

c. The discussion forums are helpful. Read through them before starting doing assignments might save time.

Some expectations if the course material will be updated someday in the future:

a. Have a short video to clarify or explain the questions in the assignments. If there are some common questions in the forum over the past years, there are reasons for them. A bit more information might be needed, eg. a math definition for a concept.

b. The auto-grader is great, but it may not provide enough information on why the answer is wrong. For some of the common issues, the code for grading may be provided as material for a better understanding.

創建者 Vinod G

2019年11月19日

Excellent material. Admittedly I can see why there are so many negative reviews about the ambiguity of the assessed tasks. It won't be an easy course for anyone who is unfamiliar with programming. However, if you do have programming experience under your belt, you'll likely find this course strikes an excellent balance in terms of conciseness, practice, and theory. Each lecture is crafted carefully to teach you about some nuance of pandas or numpy, and the programming assignments are packed with coding questions that will help you revise what you have learned, in a very efficient way. There is very little "fluff" in this course, which is a major weakness I've seen in similar courses of its kind. Too much spoon feeding often does not challenge or engage the learner. The course is very direct about what it expects of its students. Every week there is a comment "This week's assignment requires more self-learning than the last". And true to its word, there is less and less hand-holding as you go further into the course. I thoroughly enjoyed the material and probably learned the most out of this course than any other course I've taken on Coursera, taking in to account its length.

創建者 angelo p

2017年9月17日

I am a practicing engineer with over 15 years of experience.This course was definitely not for the faint of heart. While the lectures themselves were crisp and easy to follow, the homework assignments were truly a test of your patience and ability to think through the fundamentals. In all 4 weeks,I took way more than the predicted time to complete the assignments. I still gave the course a 5 because of what it taught me. I would never have learned so much had the assignments just been a rehash of the lecture examples. I applied the material to real world data analysis in my field with very good results. I could not have done the computations I did, if I had not taken the course seriously. There could be more clarity in the assignments especially in week 3 and week 4 but then that's the fun too - in real world data, there is no instructor to watch your back. So mistakes made during the course while frustrating for a working professional with limited time translate to better outcomes in actual work. I must also acknowledge Sophie Greene for her efforts to guide students to think through the problem statements.

創建者 MATEO M M

2020年8月24日

Honestly, I have nothing to complain, but have 1 commentary to make: this course is hard. You will take way more time to complete the assignments than the time it is supposed to take and you'll probably take more time to watch the lessons also, since you have to pay a lot of attention + possibly rewatching. It is impossible to teach everything, there are too many tools and algorythms to learn, and I believe this course has the perfect balance between "I'll teach you this" and "go learn this yourself". Trying to do the assignments is where you'll get most of your knowledge. There are also "complementary readings" and "complementary listening" that add a lot to the content of the course as they discuss ethics/mindset and not only the the technical part of data science.

The help provided by the staff in the forums is amazing, nothing to complain.

IMPORTANT INFO

*If you don't know how to program don't even try it, since only some necessary info about python is data science is taught in week 1 of the course. *

At the end, this is excellent. The 1 star reviews are mostly people complaining about the difficulty.