Chevron Left
返回到 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分

學生對 特拉维夫大学 提供的 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分 的評價和反饋

4.7
722 個評分
182 個審閱

課程概述

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

熱門審閱

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

篩選依據:

51 - 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分 的 75 個評論(共 178 個)

創建者 章義楚

Nov 14, 2015

I have lernt a lot about the history and tradition of Middle East from this lesson, which is good for my major, for I study arthistory.

創建者 Angel V

May 27, 2017

I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the Middle East. (I took Part I and Part II of this course) The Middle East is a very hot topic of discussions these days, but sadly a lot of people don’t know much about the region. Most of the people learn about the Middle East trough media. Popular (mainstream) media creates an image of the region that only involves terrorism, autocratic governments and civil war. Even though most of the Middle East contemporary problems are extremely complicated, this course will help you understand a little about the region’s modern history, culture and ethnic/religious diversity. Understanding Middle East’s history (especially its modern history) will help you a great deal to understand the region’s contemporary issues. The Middle East is much more than what we see in the news. This course will greatly expand your knowledge regarding the history and culture of the region. I recommend people to take both, Part I and Part II, of this course. You will not regret it.

創建者 Hannah L

Jun 28, 2016

Very informative and fascinating. I knew some of the history in very vague lines, but this really brings clarity to how that area of the world developed into what it is today.

The professor is very interesting and obviously extremely knowledgeable about this topic.

創建者 Roberto D

Aug 18, 2016

Great teacher, great course !

創建者 TMinsk

May 29, 2016

This class was so informative and it brought to mind many thoughts and questions about how we interact globally. If you're not familiar with the area, you probably should bring up a few maps to refer to during the lectures -- he has plenty of graphics but that wasn't enough for me.

The history of this area has always been so convoluted (in my mind at least); this class has taught me a lot and kept my interest throughout. Too many names but taking actual notes helps. I'm starting the next part now! Very worthwhile class.

創建者 cheryl b

Mar 17, 2016

Excellent Course

創建者 Marcy H

Nov 18, 2015

An outstanding course -- provides a great depth of information and explanation of how and why the Middle East was shaped. I recommend this and Part II to anyone interested in understanding the Middle East and its complex development.

創建者 Deborah B

Dec 08, 2015

Fantastic! It has another perspective about the damages that interventionism did there.

創建者 Jorge E M A

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you for bringing a glance at the wicked Middle Eastern history. Very useful

創建者 Alex R

Dec 06, 2015

Very informative

創建者 ABDULMUIZZ O O

Jun 12, 2017

I gained a better historical understanding of the contemporary Middle East. What it was and how how it became what it is today.

創建者 Richard M

Mar 10, 2017

Great, detailed history of the middle east. Easy to grasp, well delivered. An excellent course

創建者 Krzysztof N

Jan 08, 2016

Very informative course, instructor was great and very thorough. I missed some way to review most important events and dates quickly.

創建者 Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

super informative

創建者 Brad A

Jan 12, 2016

Professor Susser organized a very well done course on a topic with very complex regional dynamics. In addition, the notes for each module were excellent!

創建者 Olga T

Jan 12, 2018

Very interesting course. Thank you.

創建者 Jack G

Sep 14, 2016

Excellent Class. I enjoyed it. Very in-depth and challenging!

創建者 Sencer T

Oct 27, 2017

It was a unique course on its field...

Thanks for academic insight:)))

創建者 Therese R

Sep 30, 2016

A superb in depth study!

創建者 Thomas E

Nov 25, 2015

Very interesting! I am glad I can now follow par II

創建者 Miriam C G R

Sep 29, 2016

Es un curso que se ve muy interesante y me gustaría poder continuarlo. Desgraciadamente mi obstáculo para esto es el idioma. Aunque los vídeos están subtitulados las lecturas que dejan son en inglés. Mi conocimiento de inglés es muy bajo y tardaría muchísimo en leer los documentos. Espero pronto mejorar este aspecto y para entonces siga este curso para poderlo tomar.

Muchas gracias.

創建者 Filipa M

Oct 29, 2016

This course is a great beginning for those that are interested in the situation of the Middle East or curious about what happened with the Ottoman Empire. The professor was very informative! While the information was a lot, it was presented in an accessible way and it did not feel overwhelming.

創建者 Miriam l

Dec 27, 2016

I strongly recommend this course to all those who are curios about Modern Middle East history or simply love Arab culture. To me, this is a very in-depth course which need to be accompanied by extra readings to have a more complete picture in mind. I'm going to take the secon

創建者 Bobrov M

Feb 19, 2017

Кратко, информативно, полезно.

創建者 Daniela

Jan 28, 2016

Very interesting and with very clear explanations.

It left me eager to learn more!