Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,698 個評分
908 條評論

課程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

熱門審閱

DK
2020年9月23日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
2017年7月17日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

篩選依據:

101 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 125 個評論(共 901 個)

創建者 Gavin H

2016年12月8日

As and organic chemist working in a materials company, mainly adhesives, I found this course to be an excellent introduction to material testing and material science in ge

創建者 Steffen C

2020年10月19日

Great course, very manageable with the concept of splitting it over 5 weeks of learning. Especially the introduction of the "Big Four" mechanical properties is well done.

創建者 Moez B

2016年7月12日

Excellent course on the basics of properties of materials. It is a well-designed, well-delivered course on the essentials in materials science. Thanks for a fun course.

創建者 Dr. Y D

2020年5月10日

I want to join much more courses as given by James Shackelford Sir.

I want to pursue my Post Doctoral studies under his spuervision at UCDavis extension at Kemper Hall.

創建者 THIRUMAL P

2020年4月9日

This is excellent course,this way we are increasing our knowledge,checking our potential and correct our mistakes easily.I enjoyed this season,thanks a lot to coursera

創建者 Ann R

2021年2月15日

It was a great refresher learning for me. I would recommend this to aspiring beginners for Material Science and those who wants to shift career to Material Science.

創建者 011 A Y

2020年9月28日

I learnt a lot of new and amazing stuff from the course regarding metals ,ceramics, how structure leads to property , how temperature affects the metals properties.

創建者 Dhandhukia J

2020年7月14日

This is one of the best course for each engineer to know the fundamentals of material science. It will definitely help everyone for their future engineering career

創建者 Dr R U K

2020年5月12日

This course is very good and most useful to undergraduate , post graduate, faculty, and also research scholars. Without material science there is no manufacturing

創建者 Hamed K

2020年4月16日

A good and straightforward course giving enough fundamental knowledge for engineering students of any track. The professor also explains the topics quite clearly.

創建者 Zainul

2015年12月10日

Nice, this is by far my most exciting course, i am only 17 and in my country i don't learn a wide range of science in my syllabus. This helps me understood a lot.

創建者 Manivel

2020年4月3日

The course was taught with practical applications and some illustrations to understand easily. I thank the course Instructor a lot for his effort in this regard.

創建者 Nishant C

2017年7月23日

The entire course is very well planned and advances very systematically. It has been of very help in strengthening my practical as well as theoretical knowledge.

創建者 Aditya B

2017年9月9日

A very useful and informative starting course for practicing engineer like myself. I would really like to thank Dr. James Shackelford and UC Davis course team.

創建者 Prashant I S

2020年9月12日

Deep explanation of concepts and very easy to understand the fundamentals and concepts of 10 things that every engineer should know about the material science.

創建者 SUBHA

2020年6月14日

Clear study Stress- strain curve, Arrhenius law, Defects, fatigues, Dislocations, phase diagrams, Semiconductors are clearly & graphically explained. Thank you

創建者 Raguraman K

2019年2月22日

A very concise course covering the essential concepts of materials science beautifully explained. I like the way Professor James negotiates through the topics.

創建者 Hanan A

2017年1月4日

I loved this course, it was light and educational. The instructor makes complex ideas simple, interesting, and relevant. I highly recommend this to engineers

創建者 Beatriz S

2019年6月5日

great course!!! the professor is very good explaining concepts and extrapolating this information into practical applications in the laboratory experiments

創建者 Juan T

2016年11月14日

Exceptionally beneficial to the fundamental principles of engineering. I highly recommend taking this course as it is informative and simple to understand.

創建者 Meet P

2017年4月4日

Thank you for giving me excellent information on material science.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of California,Davis and coursera.

創建者 Lavanya S

2020年6月6日

The short lectures are very crisp yet give the complete picture of the concepts. This course stands as a "must take refresher" for Material Science area.

創建者 Shantanu D D

2019年10月22日

It was best to learn from other professors and their teaching techniques are also best. Like to learn more. This was my first online course. Keep it up.

創建者 Somanna B

2020年8月23日

A good introduction into the field of Material Science. I would like to thank Dr James Shackelford for being very articulate and making things simple.

創建者 Prathamesh P K

2020年4月25日

The course was really good. Instructor James Shackelford ellaborated the course content really well. The videos were short, self-explanatory and nice.