Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,302 個評分
832 條評論

課程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

熱門審閱

DK
2020年9月23日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
2017年7月17日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

篩選依據:

26 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 50 個評論(共 823 個)

創建者 DR.J.PAUL P

2020年6月16日

It was a very good short course. Was very useful and informative. The videos were very creatively made. The shorter duration of each videos was an added plus to get the solid attention of the viewers

創建者 Jake R

2020年7月27日

The Course was very well taught and was not a burden on my schedule since I could take an hour or two out of my day and complete the weeks work.

創建者 Isabella

2020年8月1日

Prof. Schakelford,

My name is Isabella and I have a degree in Materials Engineering from the Federal University of São Carlos (Ufscar) in Brazil. I really enjoyed reviewing these brief concepts that every industry engineer should be aware of. I currently work at CBMM producing niobium alloys. I would be immensely happy if you answered me to discuss a master's or doctorate in this area. Thank you a lot for the opportunity.

Isabella Sousa de Sateles

isabella.sateles@cbmm.com

創建者 Manoj M

2020年11月26日

A wonderful course that helped me refresh useful concepts in material science that I've learned a long time ago. It also helped me clarify some fundamentals which I did not have a good understanding before. The course also relatively short and the assignments are easy to finish. I'd definitely recommend the course to anyone interested in understanding some of the most used jargon in mechanical engineering.

創建者 Berfin B

2020年11月17日

The topics were explained very well in general, and the summary videos reinforced the topics. I think it is a course that every engineer candidate should take. Since I studied especially in the material science department, there was a lot of useful information for me and it made me remember the subjects I learned before. Thank you to everyone who prepared this course.

創建者 Novan R

2020年8月26日

This course is a complete package for those who are commoner to materials science and engineering. In this course, we could know the main topic of materials science and engineering. This course include several brief definitions and descriptions about cores of the materials scientific field. Great reminder for those who are actually into the field.

創建者 Sarah D

2020年10月7日

Provides an in-depth yet practical look at Materials Science from an engineering perspective. I am a chemical engineer by training and this course filled in a lot of the blanks by discussing material types, properties, and behavior. This is a great intermediate level course for any engineer interested in learning more about Materials Science.

創建者 VARUN . S

2020年7月15日

got a great knowledge about various materials used in engineering and also phase of elasticity to plasticity tansformation . it was very interesting to learn about phase diagram, iron carbon diagram and ttt diagrams . thankyou sir for giving me great knowledge about materials and hence my knowlede got increased after completing this course

創建者 Hazelle R D C

2020年10月27日

Excellent overview of Materials Science to advanced learners, emphasis on structure-property correlation as the heart of MSE, would benefit from more illustrations using SEM micrographs of steel microstructures, beginner-level learners may benefit from further reading for any questions and unfamiliar terms (or engage in course discussions)

創建者 REALINO P

2020年4月19日

I studied this particular course way back in my college years since I am a Mechanical Engineering student here in the Philippines but I found this way of teaching more informative and conducive for learning even with just a short span of time. Thank you Dr. Shackelford. Thank you, Coursera.

- Real Prado, Mechanical Engineer.

創建者 Mikhail K

2016年1月22日

Excellent intro to Materials Science. The course covers the fundamental concepts such as yield stress, tensile strength, ductility and toughness without getting too involved in complex formulas. I have a background in mechanical engineering and found this course to be a good review of materials course I took in University.

創建者 Harendrakumar D

2020年8月4日

This course is beneficial for beginners, and it inspires the student to explore further the details of the related topics. When I joined the path, I had only basic ideas about bonding only. Now I understand the basics of deformation of metals and particularly the applications of the Arrhenius equation in material science.

創建者 Sivaraman V

2020年6月15日

I regret and feel very much i why i did not take this course long before. Fantastic and lucid explanation of related concepts. This course had delivered the entire material science in a nutshell. Thanks to Prof. James and other behind the scene engineers who made this course possible.

Best Regards

Sivaraman Visvanathan

創建者 Kashif S Q

2017年1月21日

Thank you sir for teaching in such a different and unique way. The way you teach is indeed very unique and it always kept me attentive during your lecture. Now i have understand all those concepts in a more better way and i am certain that this will help me in my future carrier as a material engineer. Thank you Sir

創建者 Md. F H

2020年5月30日

It was really awesome experience with University of California, Davis. I Would like to thanks professor Dr James F Shackleford, who are really properly explain each and every topic of this course very understandable way.

I would like to thanks coursera to give me opportunity and accept my Financial Aid.

創建者 Gokul S

2020年6月26日

The course was very good, each topic led seamlessly into the next. The explanations were excellent. If there was any flaw, it was that it was too short. However, the course was everything that was advertised and I truly believe that I refreshed a lot of concepts while learning some new ones.

創建者 Louis C

2019年3月6日

Very interesting choice of topics. An interesting mix of new material and things I had learned differently in various other disciplines (physics, chemistry, geology). Good course but not recommended if you haven't done high school and university chemistry unless you are very brave!

創建者 Anik A

2020年8月18日

This course is of real importance to understand all the baics of material science and how properties changes with respect to temperature and time.

This course helped me a lot knowing even the most smallet details of materials.

Thank you Proffesor James for your brilliant course.

創建者 BALAJI P

2020年6月9日

Absolutely fantastic course. Knowledge-hungry mind was sated with superb content of lectures and videos. The explain of defects, fracture and phase diagrams & TTT, in particular, were simply awesome and they have added more depth to my existing Mechanical Engineering knowledge.

創建者 Paolo M

2017年5月31日

It has been a good opportunity to refresh and reorganize items studied at university. Well clear lessons allowed me to understand every word, although subtitles were not always correct. I suggest this course to everyone who wants to refresh his knowledges in material science.

創建者 Sai G

2020年6月18日

This course helped to understand the concepts behind various phenomenon such as plastic deformation,creep, Fatigue, Fracture toughness. This course gives me very important basic knowledge in Material Science. I'm feeling strong in fundamentals of material science. Thank you.

創建者 KILAPARTHI S K

2020年5月2日

I am thankful to Coursera and course instructor Dr.james Shackelford sir for explaining material science in detail by the 10 things every engineer should learn and mostly in this course which heart touches are ''structure leads to properties''. thank sir for your efforts

創建者 Anish H V

2016年10月18日

A MUST COURSE FOR BUDDING MATERIAL ENGINEERS/ MATERIAL SCIENTISTS!!

Professor Shackelford is so awesome!! The way he taught the course helped me grasp the fundamentals of material science better than that taught during my four year bachelor tenure in Material engineering.

創建者 Syed N R

2020年7月7日

Material science is really vast topic & this course of 10 things which every engineer should know is due the fact the carefully selected 10 things by a subject matter expert in material science. Explanation on various topics , mark- up & diagrams is really awesome.

創建者 John K

2018年10月18日

Great class on materials and how crystal and atomic bonds lead to material properties. The chapter on semiconductors was new material for me and very valuable to introduce me to valence and conduction bands. The other material was good review for me as a Mech. Eng.