Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,552 個評分
880 條評論

課程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

熱門審閱

DK
2020年9月23日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
2017年7月17日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

篩選依據:

76 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 100 個評論(共 868 個)

創建者 Navendra P S

2020年5月3日

Awesome Learning !!!

After completing the course, I really found that the course name is really meaningful.

Along with the content, style of teaching and content compilation was colorful and never felt monotonous.

創建者 Sachin P

2020年4月23日

It's very interesting course and especially i learnt so many facts and deep knowledge of mainly six materials therefore i endorse to learners do at least one time. It will uplift your basic knowledge of material.

創建者 Siddhesh C

2018年4月29日

This course is better for those who wants to learn basics of Material Science. It cleared all my concepts and I got knowledge about it. Thank you UC Davis and also thanks to Dr. James Shackelford for this course.

創建者 Tamu S

2016年2月22日

I've done my Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering in one of the best colleges in India, and yet this course makes me understand the roots of Material Science & Engg. better than my 4 years spent in college.

創建者 Mohammad H S

2016年2月10日

I really thank to Coursera Community and University of California, Davis for organizing this useful course. I reccomend all the students who are studying Engineering majors.

Come on friends and join us.

創建者 Louie R

2019年9月9日

I have learned a lot! Thanks to this very comprehensive course. Very easy to follow lessons! The professor explained very well each section with great mastery of the subject matter. Thanks Prof JD.

創建者 SURIYA V

2020年6月18日

A special thankd to Mr.James Shackelford, who guided me throughout this course journey. The way he explain all material science topic is fablous. I enjoyed this course and once again i thank you sir

創建者 Jiyoung p

2021年4月26日

I really enjoyed this course. I was not sure what to expect but it was very informative and I learned alot of crucial lessons that I supposed to know working in automotive industry. Thank you :)

創建者 Osmar d S S

2016年5月3日

Excellent course to get the first contact with material science discipline.

PS.: Professor Shackelford is very didactic in his explanations.

Great professor.

Osmar Santos

Santa Branca-SP / BRAZIL.

創建者 Merve Ö

2019年8月18日

I really liked the course. The instructor was very good. He defined the subjects very clearly and then gave interesting examples. I recommend this course, especially, for electronics engineers.

創建者 Jobert J A B

2020年7月25日

The professor is great and holds a lot of knowledge to what he is teaching. I also like the way he delivers the lesson and the thorough explanation of the subject matter partnered with graphs.

創建者 SALOOP T S

2020年9月27日

Thank you Dr, John Shackelford and Coursera for this brief introduction to material. It was a good experience to see the labs and you explained things from there itself. Thank you Very much.

創建者 Ashish P

2018年6月24日

Beautiful course. Helped me a lot in the selection of materials for our rocketry team. I'll be sure to suggest this course to my fellow teammates. A big thumbs-up to UCDAVIS for this course.

創建者 Carlos R D

2020年7月12日

It was delightful to refresh some old knowledge from the university year and internalize and consolidate such concepts. I will be also happy to deepen in new concepts for me in the future.

創建者 Ramya P

2020年5月14日

We know how vast the material science filed is. This course is the one of the best and effective way to gain insight of important materials science aspects for the engineering applications

創建者 洪崧貿

2018年4月20日

I'm an engineer with material science background. This course reminds me a lot of knowledge with simple way and make things clear. I hope that i can use these useful knowledge on my work.

創建者 MOHAMED M P

2020年6月28日

It was very nice experience for me in reviewing so many basic thing and that are very much important in my professional job as working in the field of inspection of pipe lines

創建者 Yulei F

2019年2月14日

pretty good, the professor deliver the lecture in a very vivid way and what really surprise me is that I can get so much knowledge from this short course.thank you, professor.

創建者 Muhammad J A

2016年1月23日

The Course is designed so well by the UC Davis and Coursera. And the discussion forum is also really helpful for me while studying this course. It's really a great experience.

創建者 MACCHA D K

2016年1月10日

its been an awesome experience through the course. The topics have taught interestingly with relevant examples throughout the lecture's. Finally my sincere thanks to Mr.James

創建者 Jayadevan P C

2021年2月8日

It is a very good course for all mechanical engineering fellows.. For other disciplines too, no need of any basic fundamental understanding, this course will give you that.

創建者 noli e

2020年7月5日

I learned much about this course. with the simple but detailed discussion of dr. James Shackelford, I got more interest to pursue he study materials science and engineering

創建者 Jessalyn C G

2020年9月13日

As aspirant Materials Scientist I learned to understand and emphasize how the history of materials influences its structure and the material's properties and performance.

創建者 Gavin H

2016年12月8日

As and organic chemist working in a materials company, mainly adhesives, I found this course to be an excellent introduction to material testing and material science in ge

創建者 Steffen C

2020年10月19日

Great course, very manageable with the concept of splitting it over 5 weeks of learning. Especially the introduction of the "Big Four" mechanical properties is well done.