Chevron Left
返回到 How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course)

學生對 纽约州立大学纽约州立大学 提供的 How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course) 的評價和反饋

3.3
521 個評分
178 條評論

課程概述

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and publish a basic website that incorporates text, sound, images, hyperlinks, plug-ins, and social media interactivity. We’ll provide you with step-by-step instructions, exercises, tips, and tools that enable you to set up a domain name, create an attractive layout for your pages, organize your content properly, ensure that your site functions well across different operating systems and on mobile devices, keep your site safe, and finally, let people know your site is online. We’ll even show you how to track your visitors. Throughout the course, you'll engage in collaboration and discussion with other learners through course forums and peer review. Once you complete your first website project using Wordpress, you can move on to our optional, extended module that covers more advanced techniques such as using a simple text editor, coding in HTML, CSS, and Javascript, and more. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have little or no prior experience developing a web site. You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection. We’ll use Wordpress to get you started, provide lots of downloadable examples, and guide you through the process of giving and receiving constructive peer-to-peer feedback. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

熱門審閱

AS
2020年7月10日

This was a good experience and a good lesson for me .Which can be helpful in future thanks for giving a different way and perspective on websites.It was first time i felt websites are interesting

TS
2016年3月21日

The title of this course is so inspirational that I actually ended up creating a website in a weened. Now I am using course material to enhance it.

篩選依據:

126 - How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course) 的 150 個評論(共 178 個)

創建者 Craig H

2016年4月28日

I'm sorry to say this is a poor course. The audio is bad, the sound editing is bad, the "videos" are mainly static slides that sometimes aren't even showing what the audio is talking about. There are no worked examples or annotated slides. As an example, there's no discussion of the difference between WordPress.org and WordPress.com. The only time that is mentioned is when they touch on plugins, where they say you can't use them if you started with WordPress.com! The additional lectures by guest website designers were the most interesting part, but they were supposed to be after the final project. I just gave up after less than an hour and went and played with WordPress myself. Created a website in 2 days, but with no help from this course.

創建者 Ann M S

2016年4月10日

This was the most poorly designed course that I have ever encountered. Whoever is in control of quality assurance was caught napping on this one - the instructors were woeful! It was as if the principles of instructional design and adult learning were abandoned entirely; there was minimal instruction and I had to rely on my intuition and the assistance of a study buddy to work hard to complete the course. If you are completely new to website design (as I was), prepare for a steep learning curve as you will be spending many hours preparing and organising your info - the title is deceptive and misleading!

Ann, Melbourne, Australia April 2016.

創建者 Kari B

2020年5月22日

The main benefit of this course is crowd sourcing your web site plans with other students. This is done in the discussions. I had very few comments on my discussion posts. I believe this has become ineffective because of low student enrollment. (The course seems to have been out there for a while.) I did not see any instructor updates.

I think this course is the worst I have taken from Coursera. I think the instructors posted it as a self-maintaining entity and it is not. Students are not active in the Discussions. Apparently I am past the refund deadline so I just lost the money.

Don't make my mistake. Do not enroll in this course.

創建者 Jan M

2018年4月6日

Couldn't finish the course, because of unrealistic peer grading expectations. You get picky, smart-alec students, who give you unreasonable marks, and then you have to race to get another submission in before peers have done their four allocated peer markings. It's a problem with coursera. They should make the expectation for the classes 30%. I've taken two courses quite seriously, and I've failed both. In my opinion I was willing to do the work, so I should have got my certificate. I'm passing uni, but I can't pass coursera courses. Coursera needs to make it easier to earn certificates.

創建者 Leah O

2017年1月1日

This course does not live up to the high value that I've come to enjoy and expect at Coursera. The videos are read by the "teachers", so the inflections are wrong, making it very hard to follow. The videos are clipped short and cut off the words at the end. The information is given so quickly with terms not explained that a novice will likely not understand parts of it. I found no value here. There are far better tutorials on the web. I can't see how any college or university would respect any certificate from this course.

創建者 Baback D

2020年10月20日

This is the worst course I have ever participated in my entire life. There is no teaching involved. They just expect you to know everything you're supposed to do. If I already knew what is wordpress, how to work with it, plus all the other things about making a website, why on earth would I participate in the course? I can't believe they call it a course. It's just a series of assignments you're supposed to do and that's it. That's the whole course. What a joke! I want a refund on my time

創建者 Regina I G

2016年4月24日

Despite all the bad reviews this course got I told myself to give it a try to refresh my antic prior knowledge and since it is for my personal usage and not a career I m not interested in a certificate. So I went through all the open sites which were extremely disappointing. Since I was warned by the reviews, I was not even tempted to pay to unlock further pages. I attended many interesting courses on Coursera, but this one is simply a waste of time from the very first moment.

創建者 Darshan L

2020年5月17日

I have completed this course and reason for low rating is what you learn from this course is same as reading 4-5 pages with images. Being a non-IT student, instructions provided in course was not sufficent for the Project and It was very hard for me to complete course, also to note that what I have learnt in this project is not that benefitial that I can create some other website. Hope I am able to help everyone, Regards.

創建者 Elaina M

2016年3月17日

I can't believe this course is aimed at people with no experience in building a website. The videos are actually slide shows and use too few screenshots. Had this been my very first introduction to how a website was built I would never have progressed any further than these lessons. Much more in-depth information is necessary, including step by step screenshots of various processes.

Terrible course.

創建者 Rana F E

2016年10月18日

The course is very disappointing and useless. The two lecturers are not explaining anything properly, they are just showing slides and handing out links.

The only useful part of the course is Module 4, which is outside the scope of the course and taught by guest lecturers.

I would not spend time on this course and instead find another source for learning WordPress.

創建者 Ivan A A

2020年1月16日

Why is this $29.99?

I could have google or youtube FOR FREE better and user-friendly lessons

1st week is just "HERE CHECK OUT THESE BLOG/WEBSITE" follow by "OKAY HERE IS A TEST NOW DO GOOD"

Where is the help? Where are the teachers providing hand-on example to help me understand how to use Word Press?

創建者 Jennifer F

2020年4月26日

This course is supposedly for newbies but there is virtually no instruction and if I didn't have a clear idea of a website already I would have been lost. I think the grading criteria at least in the first assignments, are a little wonky. i would unenroll but it doesn't allow me to.

創建者 Izuchukwu D O

2020年11月11日

The course is not comprehensive, the anchoring lecturers simply sat there and gave short and insufficient videos that cannot equip any beginner sufficiently., the course is not great... Such courses should be free if you ask me

創建者 Michele C

2020年7月7日

Most of this course was spent on other websites, mainly wordpress. The instructors were almost non existent. Do not waste your money on this course, go straight to wordpress and learn from there.

創建者 Jonathan S

2016年3月24日

This course should be called "Intro to fundamentals of website design". You may learn, in the process of a few days, how to create a website, but not "how to create a website in a weekend".

創建者 Saeed N

2016年6月25日

The sequence of the learning movie are not good and some times while teaching the the movie is ended.

Besides, rather than educational material this course refer to several website.

創建者 Catherine M

2017年2月13日

I felt the course went far too fast and is definitely NOT a course for beginners. I gave up after the 2nd week and I now feel more than ever overwhelmed by setting my own website.

創建者 Julie A S J

2017年7月18日

This course was very confusing and gave very little direction and explanation -- the What, Why, and Hows. I found the entire process very frustrating and gave up on the course.

創建者 Mackenzie J

2020年1月2日

Do not waste your time or money. Instruction is non-existent, and the peer review process is a joke. This is possibly the worst course I have taken through Coursera.

創建者 Dharam P

2020年11月20日

Whenever I am Clicking anything, just asking to upgrade. I am unable to unenroll too. For creating website also you have to pay, better not to enroll for this course

創建者 Carol L W

2016年4月12日

If I could give this course a lower score, I would. It was not helpful at all. I ended up having to take another course so I could actually complete my website.

創建者 Javier O

2020年1月5日

This course is very basic and it has a format of tutorial rather than been a lecture. There are many tutorials with public access and better quality.

創建者 Colleen S

2018年5月12日

I did not appreciate this course. It was poorly designed. There was almost no support from instructors. It seemed to be just a to-do list.

創建者 Johanna H

2016年5月16日

I thought you would learn how to actually create a website, not just how to pick and install a premade wordpress theme.

創建者 Naveed H

2020年7月2日

They have given links for learning. If I were a person to learn from text why would I have enrolled this course.