Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的評價和反饋

4.8
758 個評分
169 個審閱

課程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level. Scarcity means that society must develop some allocation mechanism – rules to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based – the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption in such a way as to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. We will construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. Markets are frequent targets of government intervention. This intervention can be direct control of prices or it could be indirect price pressure through the imposition of taxes or subsidies. Both forms of intervention are impacted by elasticity of demand. After this course, you will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve. • Describe producer behavior as captured by the supply curve. • Explain equilibrium in a market. • Explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium. • Explain elasticity of demand. • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

熱門審閱

KS

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

FP

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

篩選依據:

151 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 164 個評論(共 164 個)

創建者 ricardo p o

Apr 04, 2017

great course, clear and dinamic.

創建者 Faig K

Jan 29, 2018

There a lot of graphs on this course.

創建者 Fedor G

Mar 14, 2016

Really good course!

創建者 Elizabeth L

Aug 07, 2017

Overall, I thought the course was really well done. I thought the lectures made the material very easy to digest, both in terms of presentation and amount of time allocated to each lecture. I found the additional readings very helpful (except for McAfee). However, I found some of the assignment and quiz questions confusing, in that they did not provide enough detail about what the question was really looking for in terms of a complete answer. Otherwise, I learned a lot and plan on taking the next course in the series.

創建者 Melvin P

Sep 27, 2017

A good introduction of microeconomics, but I feel that the content of this course leans towards the theoretical and it didn't have any depth on the various topics (this is coming from someone who studied engineering and took some courses on finance and accounting). I must applaud Prof. Larry DeBrock to be a great lecturer. His enthusiasm and use of real world examples (even if they lacked depth) captured my attention throughout the course.

創建者 Daniel K O

Jun 15, 2018

Larry does a great job explaining concepts and making them relatable to every day life. The occasional "field trips" give a real world perspective on how economics plays a hand everyday in the world around us. The only issue comes in the peer reviews where you can end up on the short end of the stick and not have anyone review your assignments for the week at all.

創建者 Jun Z

Mar 03, 2017

A useful elementary course.

創建者 Romain V

Jun 17, 2016

Complex. Bu

創建者 Bisma I

May 28, 2019

Good experience of mine

創建者 Roy W

Sep 09, 2019

Need more video examples of problems.

創建者 Heather M

Aug 10, 2017

The material in the course is good. The professor is great, and passionate about his profession. The peer review and quizzes covered information that was not presented in the course. Also, the peer review answers are not presented until after the the "week" is over. This means that as a "peer" I have no idea what the correct answer is and I am forced to grade assignments based on my opinion not the correct answer. This causes a lot of confusion. I had someone give me "0" points for an answer that was exactly the same as the answer key because the other student didn't understand what the questions was asking for. My rating of this class would improve significantly if the peer review solution was provided before students were required to review others. Since we are able to complete the solution as many times as necessary, this step is a waste of everyone's time.

創建者 Kingsley O

Jul 22, 2017

Particularly like its focus current on events.

創建者 Jeni S S

Mar 12, 2016

Very few topics are covered. Although all the topics that are included are explained very beautifully.

創建者 Yevgenii P

May 05, 2019

Pretty useless as a part of Online MBA. I assume Managerial Economics is a common course for every MBA, but in its current version, the course doesn't provide much value. It won't help me understand the business or the industry better. The knowledge is really general and not related to actual life. Even examples are from Industry sector, while all modern economies are powered by the Service sector.

Still, thank you for not adding formulas and complex calculations (so far). The quality of video, audio, and graphs is okay as well.