Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的評價和反饋

4.8
885 個評分
205 條評論

課程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level. Scarcity means that society must develop some allocation mechanism – rules to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based – the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption in such a way as to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. We will construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. Markets are frequent targets of government intervention. This intervention can be direct control of prices or it could be indirect price pressure through the imposition of taxes or subsidies. Both forms of intervention are impacted by elasticity of demand. After this course, you will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve. • Describe producer behavior as captured by the supply curve. • Explain equilibrium in a market. • Explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium. • Explain elasticity of demand. • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

熱門審閱

FP

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

KS

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

篩選依據:

176 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 199 個評論(共 199 個)

創建者 Felix B

May 03, 2018

Well organized, perfectly flexible class with a nice professor. As a total stranger to this topic I really learned a lot and wasn't overwhelmed. 5 stars if you communicate from beginning on that the readings are optional but that it is highly recommended to read at least parts of them. Had a bit of a time issue in the first week.

創建者 John S

Feb 28, 2019

Peer review took awhile for Module #4, alittle stressful as the deadline looms. Not a infrastructure issue, even emails to individuals were barely successful, need to improve on my part to do it earlier or how to influence peer reviews.

創建者 Bruno J L A S

Jun 21, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and definitely recommend it. The instructor was great. I am removing one star because I feel that it needs a little bit more of real problem solving and a small amount more of mathematical derivations.

創建者 Sanne S

Jan 04, 2018

Really liked this course. Only thing I'd wish to change would be to get an explanation of the answers to the assignments after they've been reviewed by the other peers.

創建者 Gautam R

Feb 10, 2016

Please unlock case solutions in advance so we can assess our peers correctly

Otherwise great class with great references to other videos as well

創建者 Eric M L E

Mar 08, 2019

Very interesting material and well-delivered and understandable / accessible. Not entirely sure of it's real-world applicability just yet.

創建者 Jacques P P

Dec 09, 2018

Nice warm up module for further analysis of consumer and producer behavior.

創建者 Mauricio P B

Jun 09, 2016

Very interesting course. Thanks Professor Larry DeBrock!!

創建者 Ed V

Feb 18, 2020

module 4 needs a little bit more work for extra clarity.

創建者 Roy W

Sep 09, 2019

Need more video examples of problems.

創建者 Faig K

Jan 29, 2018

There a lot of graphs on this course.

創建者 Bob H

Mar 09, 2017

Really liked the peer review process.

創建者 ricardo p o

Apr 04, 2017

great course, clear and dinamic.

創建者 Jun Z

Mar 03, 2017

A useful elementary course.

創建者 Bisma I

May 28, 2019

Good experience of mine

創建者 Clare P

May 23, 2016

It is well organized.

創建者 Fedor G

Mar 14, 2016

Really good course!

創建者 Erasmo A S R

Jan 02, 2019

Excelent!!!

創建者 Romain V

Jun 17, 2016

Complex. Bu

創建者 Heather M

Aug 10, 2017

The material in the course is good. The professor is great, and passionate about his profession. The peer review and quizzes covered information that was not presented in the course. Also, the peer review answers are not presented until after the the "week" is over. This means that as a "peer" I have no idea what the correct answer is and I am forced to grade assignments based on my opinion not the correct answer. This causes a lot of confusion. I had someone give me "0" points for an answer that was exactly the same as the answer key because the other student didn't understand what the questions was asking for. My rating of this class would improve significantly if the peer review solution was provided before students were required to review others. Since we are able to complete the solution as many times as necessary, this step is a waste of everyone's time.

創建者 Jeni S S

Mar 12, 2016

Very few topics are covered. Although all the topics that are included are explained very beautifully.

創建者 Kingsley O

Jul 22, 2017

Particularly like its focus current on events.

創建者 James B

Feb 17, 2020

Below average economics course. The instructor is all over the place and sometimes appears to be making things up as he goes along. He rambles a lot sometimes misses the point.

創建者 Yevgenii P

May 05, 2019

Pretty useless as a part of Online MBA. I assume Managerial Economics is a common course for every MBA, but in its current version, the course doesn't provide much value. It won't help me understand the business or the industry better. The knowledge is really general and not related to actual life. Even examples are from Industry sector, while all modern economies are powered by the Service sector.

Still, thank you for not adding formulas and complex calculations (so far). The quality of video, audio, and graphs is okay as well.