Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的評價和反饋

4.8
758 個評分
169 個審閱

課程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level. Scarcity means that society must develop some allocation mechanism – rules to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based – the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption in such a way as to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. We will construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. Markets are frequent targets of government intervention. This intervention can be direct control of prices or it could be indirect price pressure through the imposition of taxes or subsidies. Both forms of intervention are impacted by elasticity of demand. After this course, you will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve. • Describe producer behavior as captured by the supply curve. • Explain equilibrium in a market. • Explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium. • Explain elasticity of demand. • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

熱門審閱

KS

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

FP

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

篩選依據:

126 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 150 個評論(共 164 個)

創建者 Mariano S C

Oct 04, 2019

great, to the point and fast pace

創建者 Phillip D R

Sep 11, 2019

Excellent course. Well organized and prepares you well to go forward in deeper into microeconomics.

創建者 Andrew P

Sep 11, 2019

Great content and process. This was my first Coursera course and I really enjoyed it.

創建者 Danesh D

Sep 12, 2019

Excellent. Very straightforward and simple presentation of the concepts!

創建者 Tam T

Sep 12, 2019

Great course and Prof. Larry DeBrock is a very engaging. It is a joy to be in his class.

創建者 Kartikeyan S

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

創建者 Woo S L

Sep 12, 2019

The course covered all major components required to understand the topic.

創建者 Pramod K

Sep 12, 2019

Professor DeBrock is a terrific teacher. He has the ability to explain complex concepts in a simple way using examples from everyday life.

創建者 Umang N

Sep 12, 2019

very interesting course to understand how makers performs and companies calculate costs. material is precise and prof is amazing

創建者 Johanne P

Sep 12, 2019

Excellent explanations. I felt that the concepts are well explained. The additional reading and video materials were on point. Highly recommended.

創建者 Phạm V T

Oct 22, 2019

Very well

創建者 V.V.L.N. S

Oct 31, 2019

This is a good course. I liked it.

創建者 Vòng N L

Nov 01, 2019

Good

創建者 Subhadeep G

Nov 14, 2019

Very well covered session. Great course to make your Fundamentals strong.

創建者 Erasmo A S R

Jan 02, 2019

Excelent!!!

創建者 John S

Feb 28, 2019

Peer review took awhile for Module #4, alittle stressful as the deadline looms. Not a infrastructure issue, even emails to individuals were barely successful, need to improve on my part to do it earlier or how to influence peer reviews.

創建者 Eric M L E

Mar 08, 2019

Very interesting material and well-delivered and understandable / accessible. Not entirely sure of it's real-world applicability just yet.

創建者 Jacques P P

Dec 09, 2018

Nice warm up module for further analysis of consumer and producer behavior.

創建者 Mauricio P B

Jun 09, 2016

Very interesting course. Thanks Professor Larry DeBrock!!

創建者 Bob H

Mar 09, 2017

Really liked the peer review process.

創建者 Clare P

May 23, 2016

It is well organized.

創建者 Bruno J L A S

Jun 21, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and definitely recommend it. The instructor was great. I am removing one star because I feel that it needs a little bit more of real problem solving and a small amount more of mathematical derivations.

創建者 Gautam R

Feb 10, 2016

Please unlock case solutions in advance so we can assess our peers correctly

Otherwise great class with great references to other videos as well

創建者 Felix B

May 03, 2018

Well organized, perfectly flexible class with a nice professor. As a total stranger to this topic I really learned a lot and wasn't overwhelmed. 5 stars if you communicate from beginning on that the readings are optional but that it is highly recommended to read at least parts of them. Had a bit of a time issue in the first week.

創建者 Sanne S

Jan 04, 2018

Really liked this course. Only thing I'd wish to change would be to get an explanation of the answers to the assignments after they've been reviewed by the other peers.