Chevron Left
返回到 Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL 的評價和反饋

3.4
365 個評分
144 條評論

課程概述

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

熱門審閱

MF
2020年9月22日

A good course for learning and apply sql to conduct analysis on ab testing results. Would be better if the instructor could provide more info about how to design and apply AB Testing on the customers

SP
2019年7月29日

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

篩選依據:

101 - Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL 的 125 個評論(共 143 個)

創建者 Daniel J

2020年9月23日

While I appreciate the numerous practice exercises in this course, the experience overall was incredibly frustrating.

On the one hand, it's hard to check my practice queries against the instructor's recommendations when the solutions videos contain so many mistakes and so much typing. The instructions themselves were often confusing, and I wouldn't realize until watching the video that I had completely misunderstood large portions of the assignment. Because each query builds on the previous one, this meant going back and redoing the entire exercise.

On the other hand, I found several mistakes in the quizzes and support materials. It was easy enough to figure out what the answer was supposed to be, but this was still annoying for a paid course.

Most frustrating of all was the final project, however. The assignment itself was good, but having to submit it as a Mode report was incredibly confusing--it wasn't at all clear how I was supposed to show my work, and it would have been much easier to submit a text file with my code instead. After all, the peer reviewing students have access to the same databases and can quickly run my code to make sure it checks out.

Perhaps I'm being a bit harsh, since I've taught data cleaning for Stata and therefore probably have higher standards than most students. But I can only imagine how lost most students are in this course, since it's only the second level in the SQL certificate, and I imagine most do not have a technical/coding background.

創建者 Alexander P

2021年4月15日

Kat is a charming teacher. I think she really has a passion for it and that comes across. But the course itself is extremely poorly structured. I found myself not caring about the data (oh no!) very quickly in. I think in an effort to teach how vague questions about data can be (a good lesson...) the course became very vague and scattered itself.

Exercises are unclear and I found myself unable to complete them or even know what was being asked. The online applet through Mode worked OK, but was frustrating to learn and with no ER diagram for the databases we were supposed to use, it was a bit overwhelming. The minute you start typing, it comes up with suggestions for a million connected databases or functions, and you don't know what belongs to the course and what is default etc etc. It's a very frustrating experience.

The PDFs for the coursework are underdefined, they don't always reflect the state of the database as you find it, and the solutions videos themselves are badly edited - there was one video where I sat through minutes of Kat solving a bug on her computer trying to get a graph displayed (nothing to do with the course!) before she gave up, ended the video, and moved us on to part two, where it picked up after she'd fixed the bug.

Course needs to be much tighter to be useful.

創建者 Alexander H H

2021年5月26日

This course was an absolute mess. I am not sure that I learned a single useful thing throughout the time that I spent on it. The quizzes usually included questions that were poorly worded in a way that prompted incorrect responses. Even when that wasn't a problem, questions that asked which video covered a specific question occurred. These questions are lazy, unhelpful, and a terrible way to try to teach understanding of a concept. The videos were also not great, and frequently barely skimmed the surface of concepts that seem important. Even the final project included at least one problem that was worded in a way that made absolutely no sense, and seemingly asked for impossible to produce code. An unintended concept that I did learn while taking this class is to use Google to help you imporve your code, because 5 minutes on Google was more helpful than an hour of trying to decipher this nonsense.

If you need this class for the SQL for Data Science specialization, just try to get through it. If you actually hope to learn anything, skip this course. You can teach yourself everything it covers considerably better than they do.

創建者 Moritz P

2021年1月23日

I just want to take the time again to critique this course. I found the first in the series (SQL for Data Science) way better than this one. Make no mistake, it was really insightful and helpful. However, the practice of forcing people to comment before being able to watch the next videos just leads to a lot of non-sense in the discussion forums, disturbing all others who really want to discuss. Additionally, this course was way less engaging than the first one and made considerably less fun practicing. Especially, when tasks in the PDF are only described in broken sentences and when in the actual solution videos SQL code is copy-pasted so quickly that there is no way to catch-up. Yes, one could pause. However, this really disturbs a progressive learning atmosphere and destroys the joy of coding, at least for me.

創建者 Maor L

2021年3月15日

Good Riddance! On the positive side, the course covered very important aspects of SQL and forced me to learn by myself several methods in SQL. However, the course structure was very bad, and I won't be surprised if many students have left the specialization at this point, not because of its difficulty, but because of the contents. Here are some of the main problems of this course - the instructor isn't correlated with the presentations, the Mode tasks are poorly drafted and there isn't a clear guide how to use this platform (which is essential to the final project), many questions in the tests are very ambiguous. Basically I would recommend US Davis to restructure this course in a way which will be in the same high level of the first course by Sadie, and in a way it won't be so frustrating to learn it.

創建者 Tim S

2020年6月20日

The use of mode made the experience for this course a bit clunky; also the final assignment could have been outlined more in line with the rubric. A model to emulate is the use of SQL lite in the first course. To add I was hoping that there would be a way to programmatically determine A/B testing vs. using an external tool; perhaps the third week assignment would be to code up a SQL significance calculator then in the forth week use that model to the data. These are the reasons why I give this course 2 stars. This of course might be very difficult given that SQL is not a functional language (I personally haven't tried this). The instruction, exercises and the design really make me stop and learn key concepts and the professor's recorded demos were excellent.

創建者 Rifqi R

2020年11月24日

honestly, this course feels like navigating through a foreign city without any knowledge of the landmark.

class is confusing. more query statements introduced without any proper introduction to the query made this class is lacking sense of continuation from the previous ones.

the training/examples are not streamlined with Coursera's built in quiz feature. using app.mode is a new thing and the intro to the app isn't well explained.

training instructions are confusing and the solutions aren't helping, for example, we need to find what's wrong in a query, while we're confused and trying to find the solutions in the solutions videos, why not throw in graphs into the mix and make us more confused..

創建者 Daniel O

2021年5月16日

This was the second course in the Learn SQL Basics for Data Science. It felt like big steps were skipped in between. What was even more frustrating was that the instructor said multiple times that material should have been covered in previous courses and/or to search Google if the learner was unfamiliar with any topic. I’m certain some areas were not covered and telling students to search Google is just lazy. I also felt that the instructor did an excellent job of showing her knowledge on the material but failed to properly explain what she was doing or why.

創建者 José M V D

2021年3月3日

This was a very disjointed course and unfortunately the worst Coursera course that I have made so far.

The teacher was good, it seems that she knows a lot about the SQL concepts explained in the course, but I don't think the concepts are well explained. You can learn something from the exercises, but only once you see the solution. Before seeing the solution, it is often hard to understand what you have to do.

To sum up, I would not pay again for this course, and I would not have finished it, if it wasn't needed to get the certification.

創建者 Luke F

2020年6月12日

The lecturer is clearly friendly and passionate. However, as other reviewers have noted, this course introduces more complex areas of SQL with no explanation. The videos before the assignments provide little insight into how to do them afterwards and instead I found myself skipping them and then just watching cluelessly as the solutions were quickly banged out. I appreciate the efforts of the instructor but I feel this course needs to be a) refined and b) simplified for those of us coming off the first data science course.

創建者 Ka W S

2021年4月9日

If you come from the last course of this series, i would say stop this course. They expect you to know many things you didn't learn in the first course, and the teaching style is not helpful. I will not continue this certificate due to the quality of this course. Some of the answer they give out are wrong and the explanation is not good. I will change to a different certificate. I wonder why this course has so many bad reviews, so I know it.

創建者 Annamaria N R L S

2020年5月29日

Interesting Course. had more opportunities to practice, but would recommend that the incoming student have more practice and experience before starting. Still rather disorganized and some parts (i.e. explinations and subject videos0 in need of review by creator (i.e. gaps in explanations, vague directions and instruction, etc.). Am grateful for extra practice.

創建者 Cha H

2021年6月8日

So far, this certificate stated this was a foundational and basics in SQL but it's more intermediate than beginner. There's absolutely no assistance if you run into any problems and each course uses a different platform so there's no consistency. We went from SQL Lite to postgre in the next course.

Feeling a bit frustrated and disappointed with this cert

創建者 Remko M

2020年10月31日

Not well instructed...messy. For example, in the video her own faults or issues are not cut out of the video. You watch minutes of that in total and that a total time waister to me. So you tend to zoom out or wanted to skip through the video. Also the assignment instruction are not coherent with the instructions in mode. That is somethings confusing.

創建者 Tomomi Y

2021年2月9日

The topic itself is interesting, but I think this course has a room to improve the lecture video quality. Instructor seems not well prepared when recording the video and she often makes mistakes & mumbles which makes me hard to follow what she is doing. Also I think practice questions are sometimes ambiguous compared to other courses.

創建者 Lynda P

2020年12月26日

This course has very poor instructions, exercises are vague and all solutions don't always align with course. For the DBMS (Mode) used in this course, there is no explanation on how to use it. The instructor expects you to present charts without explaining how to use it.

創建者 Irving G M

2020年8月27日

The course helped to practice the implementation of complicated SQL queries. However, it was quite unstructured and there teacher said wrong concepts and interpretation about hypothesis testing. This course need to be checked.

創建者 ERIC M

2020年7月21日

It's not organized like a class. The teaching style is more like you can shadow me while i work. That's fine if someone can ask questions and get instant feedback. But as an e-learning course it doesn't work very well.

創建者 林弋渝

2020年8月20日

Her teaching mode made me feel very irritable, and I even abandoned class for a while. Many solution videos contain uncertain factors, including many mistakes. I can't get the point very accurately.

創建者 Georgios A

2020年8月10日

This course lacks some structure, overview and professionalism (like editing the videos). Nevertheless, it is a useful of this specialization, if ones has the extra time to invest.

創建者 Manuel J J

2020年4月26日

The instructor knows SQL but she needs to take some classes on learning design and teaching. The course is somewhat messy and underprepared.

創建者 William F

2020年12月1日

Course content is interesting. However, the projects and practice problems are poorly guided with inadequate instructions.

創建者 G M A E

2020年6月26日

am sorry but this course was very hard to understand , i think the content was very disjoind

創建者 Ümid O

2020年5月14日

Poorly designed course. Not enough explanation to solve the exercises.

創建者 Mei H

2020年5月11日

It is really hard to follow.