Chevron Left
返回到 Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL 的評價和反饋

3.4
369 個評分
146 條評論

課程概述

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

熱門審閱

MF
2020年9月22日

A good course for learning and apply sql to conduct analysis on ab testing results. Would be better if the instructor could provide more info about how to design and apply AB Testing on the customers

SP
2019年7月29日

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

篩選依據:

76 - Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL 的 100 個評論(共 146 個)

創建者 Davide C

2020年12月12日

The course is really good to improve your SQL skills. I think the instructor is great and the course covers a lot of practical problems with plenty of possibilities to exercise.

Yet, the course lacks a well-defined structure. However, the main problem is that the training assignments along the course need to be improved a lot. The questions are not well explained and the exercises sheets are really poor, you have the impression that you are pushed to skip directly to the solution video. Also, the instructions for the final assignment are too vague. It's a pity because otherwise would be a really good course.

創建者 Katrina-Kay A

2021年2月15日

Let me start with the positive: my SQL skills definitely improved as a result of this course. It offered good practice for queries that are more complex than those in Course 1 in this specialisation. Having said this, this course really needs a facelift/revisit by the instructor. There are so many questions and assignments that are worded badly and have unclear instructions. I became quite frustrated about this around the halfway mark. As a general FYI: this course uses PostgreSQL and a service called Mode to compile code.

創建者 Sunny Y Y S

2020年3月30日

The teaching value provided is great, and uses real life cases that I can relate to. 5/5 For that. However, it became a 3/5 stars due to the assignments not being as interactive that gives us an opportunity to write the code and have feedback from. Secondly, personal opinion, I definitely did not like there were a lot of limitations and constraints along the way to prevent myself to look in advance of the workload. Changing this would be beneficial to know what are the things to look out for during the videos.

創建者 Brady S

2021年2月5日

It seems there was HUGE gap between this course and the previous one in the specialization. A lot of unaccounted for material and the difficulty jump is quite large. The structure of this course is subpar as there is no real learning; it's more or less giving you an exercise and then a VERY surface level explanation in a solutions video. However, the content is good. There is a LOT of material and it's all very useful - the exercises are almost all applicable to real world problems

創建者 Leong J J B

2020年6月17日

Topics and skills taught were relevant and good. However, more materials could have been given before letting us practise the practise questions ourselves. A lot of the questions needed knowledge of functions or ways of implementing SQL code that we did not learn before and it would have been helpful if this was taught to us first, rather having us learn from the solution videos.

創建者 Oscar F

2021年2月8日

La profesora es agradable. Las primeros módulos son la continuación del anterior curso, se aprenden algunos comandos más. Algunos ejercicios requieren comandos que no se han visto pero en los videos de solución los muestran. Recomiendo leer bien la página de ABBA (ellos te dan el link) para entender mejor en qué consiste el AB testing. Me gustó la plataforma de Mode Analytics.

創建者 jose c

2020年5月24日

The content of the course is very interesting, however it seems to me that it is not well structured, during the practices the objective in general is not understood, I think that the course should improve those details that not only consist of writing queries without knowing the meaning of each one of the variables that are being consulted in the different tables

創建者 Laura M D V

2020年8月9日

First week was hard to follow. I felt very discourage to continue that it took me almost a week to return and do the rest of the course. It got better the next weeks. However, I think that strategies and pedagogical teaching can be improved. What I really like is when Katrina coded on lectures, it was cool to see her thinking process.

創建者 Carolyn O

2020年12月28日

The instructions were frequently not clear. I often took her literally, which was not correct. Sometimes she didn't specifically state something she expected us to do. Other times, she stated it differently than what she really meant. It was a struggle. But I'm glad I gained more knowledge and practice writing queries.

創建者 Misato Y

2021年2月27日

The course structure is well designed to achieve the course objectives. I appreciate that the course addresses the real-world example and we can do practical exercises. However, exercise questions are not enough or well worded to understand what the instructor intends to ask. It could be a negative point.

創建者 José P

2020年12月22日

It's a little bit disappointing that even when classes are recorded, Kat's mistakes haven't been edited and in a couple of times, in the middle of her struggling with some issue with Mode, the record were suddenly interrupted and next the issue was 'magically' fixed (would've been helpful to know how!).

創建者 Denis S

2020年5月31日

The actual coding practice is a bit unstructured and not well explained. All the coding exercises could be easily skipped without even trying in the first place which is bad. This would be a great course if the coding practice were more strict with a definite code for a solution

創建者 Sébastien C

2020年7月6日

This is a 3 star course as the concepts presented and the depth of the material covered was interesting. However, I am not sure that the way it was presented was optimal. More small and very focused exercises would have helped instead of large, sometimes hard to grasp exercices.

創建者 Ignacio I

2020年3月15日

Some of the excercises are challenging but most of the times the instructions are not 100% clear. Also, despite statistics are not the core topic of the course, further explainations on ABTesting would be useful in order to make the process of answering meaningful.

創建者 Hamid A

2020年5月28日

It is an important course. However, the material of the course is not well explained. I struggled to understand what the instructor talked about. She speaks so fast and teaches inconsistently. It was boring and did not add much to me.

創建者 S h

2021年4月30日

This was a very useful course. However, most of the videos lacked a context setting which made it a bit hard to follow. The slides could have been better too. But otherwise, the exercises were very helpful.

創建者 PT R

2020年6月23日

The practice examples are not written well- it is hard to understand what is actually being asked. This was also true for the final peer-reviewed example.

創建者 Ben

2020年8月23日

The content is good, i appreciate that linking SQL with some data science subject such as AB test. that's the main reason for me taking this course.

創建者 QianHe

2020年6月12日

It seemed a bit disjointed. The instructor seemed nervous. Some of the solutions to the exercises seemed overly complicated.

創建者 Iván A A

2020年6月28日

The project's instructions are not clear.

創建者 Azka A

2020年5月10日

The lectures could be more detailed.

創建者 Sachin G

2020年6月15日

No good course

創建者 Lea P

2021年5月2日

I definitely learned a lot during this course. I gave a 2 star rating because there are a number of issues/loss of time while taking this course

1 Practice sessions:

- Questions are often unclear, not guiding you to what you actually need to get to.

- Answers as given as a video. It's good to get a couple explanation about some steps, but often the code shown is incorrect, and the teacher spends minutes trying to correct it. Also, THE ANSWER SCRIPT IS NOT GIVEN. So you have to waste your time copying every line to test out their script! Very inefficient

- You have to add a comment to the practice exercise to move on to the next step. All these responses (thousands of them, random word/comment to move on) will show up in the forum discussion when you try to find an answer to some of your questions . The coursera search engine is pretty inefficient. So combined with these tens of thousands of unuseful comments, it's impossible to find the answer to any question.

- I looks like the instructors are not very active. I encountered a lot of posts in the forum that had no answers. And given the low number of people currently doing this course, it's unlikely that you'll get an answer to your posts.

2. Final assignment:

- Low traffic on course: There's no peer assignment to review. And no one to review yours.

- Exam questions are often unclear. So the least would be to clearly state what you'll be graded on, rather than finding this out when you submit your assignment

- Often refers to a script made sometime during the course. Very hard to find which script they are actually talking about, so you have to go on a scavenger hunt every time. That's also the case in practice questions

Kat, thanks for the course. I'm sure you put a lot of efforts in creating this course and content, but in order to turn this into a great course, you need to have people test it and use the feedback to improve it.

It's a shame that the instructors to this course will probably never read these comments, so this course will stay as a draft course forever. I don't know much about UC Davis, but with a course like this, I'm unlikely to recommend a UC Davis Course or a UC Davis degree to anyone.

創建者 Rita N

2020年8月24日

This course is not nearly as good (or even "good") as the first course of this specialization. Concepts are taught too vaguely and the material is scattered in an order which doesn't make sense. It would have been helpful to know from the _beginning_ the tricks for coding in Mode, such as selecting multiple lines to comment out...instead, those tips were placed in the middle of the entire course as an aside. I wasted so much time looking up how to multi-line comment-out (couldn't find an answer) and ended up doing it the long way until that point of the course...when she could have mentioned it _from the very beginning_!

The idea of do-it-yourself exercises and answers-video was nice, but the instructor was not helpful during these videos. She mumbled a lot through her actions, so it was like a puzzle trying to figure out the rationale and intention behind her decisions. Lots of vague language...I get that sometimes things can be vague because this course can't cover every scenario, but I could find better explanations elsewhere online.

I spent more time looking up outside resources for things like pivot tables and windowing functions (not taught in the previous course) than learning it on Coursera. I'm left feeling like I spent money to teach myself these things, and could have saved the money I spent on this course.

All-in-all, I couldn't finish the course. I spent about 16 hours trying to perform the 5 steps to complete the final project for A/B testing the given dataset, and I wasn't even able to recreate the table she wanted to start the thing off.

This feels so bad. I hardly ever give up on something, but because there's no instructor feedback and almost no feedback from other students, there's just no way I can get through this. What a disappointing experience.