Chevron Left
返回到 Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL 的評價和反饋

3.5
285 個評分
108 條評論

課程概述

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

熱門審閱

MF
2020年9月22日

A good course for learning and apply sql to conduct analysis on ab testing results. Would be better if the instructor could provide more info about how to design and apply AB Testing on the customers

SP
2019年7月29日

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

篩選依據:

76 - Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL 的 100 個評論(共 109 個)

創建者 Iván A A

2020年6月28日

The project's instructions are not clear.

創建者 Azka A

2020年5月10日

The lectures could be more detailed.

創建者 Sachin G

2020年6月15日

No good course

創建者 Rita N

2020年8月24日

This course is not nearly as good (or even "good") as the first course of this specialization. Concepts are taught too vaguely and the material is scattered in an order which doesn't make sense. It would have been helpful to know from the _beginning_ the tricks for coding in Mode, such as selecting multiple lines to comment out...instead, those tips were placed in the middle of the entire course as an aside. I wasted so much time looking up how to multi-line comment-out (couldn't find an answer) and ended up doing it the long way until that point of the course...when she could have mentioned it _from the very beginning_!

The idea of do-it-yourself exercises and answers-video was nice, but the instructor was not helpful during these videos. She mumbled a lot through her actions, so it was like a puzzle trying to figure out the rationale and intention behind her decisions. Lots of vague language...I get that sometimes things can be vague because this course can't cover every scenario, but I could find better explanations elsewhere online.

I spent more time looking up outside resources for things like pivot tables and windowing functions (not taught in the previous course) than learning it on Coursera. I'm left feeling like I spent money to teach myself these things, and could have saved the money I spent on this course.

All-in-all, I couldn't finish the course. I spent about 16 hours trying to perform the 5 steps to complete the final project for A/B testing the given dataset, and I wasn't even able to recreate the table she wanted to start the thing off.

This feels so bad. I hardly ever give up on something, but because there's no instructor feedback and almost no feedback from other students, there's just no way I can get through this. What a disappointing experience.

創建者 Daniel C J

2020年9月23日

While I appreciate the numerous practice exercises in this course, the experience overall was incredibly frustrating.

On the one hand, it's hard to check my practice queries against the instructor's recommendations when the solutions videos contain so many mistakes and so much typing. The instructions themselves were often confusing, and I wouldn't realize until watching the video that I had completely misunderstood large portions of the assignment. Because each query builds on the previous one, this meant going back and redoing the entire exercise.

On the other hand, I found several mistakes in the quizzes and support materials. It was easy enough to figure out what the answer was supposed to be, but this was still annoying for a paid course.

Most frustrating of all was the final project, however. The assignment itself was good, but having to submit it as a Mode report was incredibly confusing--it wasn't at all clear how I was supposed to show my work, and it would have been much easier to submit a text file with my code instead. After all, the peer reviewing students have access to the same databases and can quickly run my code to make sure it checks out.

Perhaps I'm being a bit harsh, since I've taught data cleaning for Stata and therefore probably have higher standards than most students. But I can only imagine how lost most students are in this course, since it's only the second level in the SQL certificate, and I imagine most do not have a technical/coding background.

創建者 Tim S

2020年6月20日

The use of mode made the experience for this course a bit clunky; also the final assignment could have been outlined more in line with the rubric. A model to emulate is the use of SQL lite in the first course. To add I was hoping that there would be a way to programmatically determine A/B testing vs. using an external tool; perhaps the third week assignment would be to code up a SQL significance calculator then in the forth week use that model to the data. These are the reasons why I give this course 2 stars. This of course might be very difficult given that SQL is not a functional language (I personally haven't tried this). The instruction, exercises and the design really make me stop and learn key concepts and the professor's recorded demos were excellent.

創建者 Rifqi R

2020年11月24日

honestly, this course feels like navigating through a foreign city without any knowledge of the landmark.

class is confusing. more query statements introduced without any proper introduction to the query made this class is lacking sense of continuation from the previous ones.

the training/examples are not streamlined with Coursera's built in quiz feature. using app.mode is a new thing and the intro to the app isn't well explained.

training instructions are confusing and the solutions aren't helping, for example, we need to find what's wrong in a query, while we're confused and trying to find the solutions in the solutions videos, why not throw in graphs into the mix and make us more confused..

創建者 Luke F

2020年6月12日

The lecturer is clearly friendly and passionate. However, as other reviewers have noted, this course introduces more complex areas of SQL with no explanation. The videos before the assignments provide little insight into how to do them afterwards and instead I found myself skipping them and then just watching cluelessly as the solutions were quickly banged out. I appreciate the efforts of the instructor but I feel this course needs to be a) refined and b) simplified for those of us coming off the first data science course.

創建者 Annamaria N R L S

2020年5月29日

Interesting Course. had more opportunities to practice, but would recommend that the incoming student have more practice and experience before starting. Still rather disorganized and some parts (i.e. explinations and subject videos0 in need of review by creator (i.e. gaps in explanations, vague directions and instruction, etc.). Am grateful for extra practice.

創建者 Remko M

2020年10月31日

Not well instructed...messy. For example, in the video her own faults or issues are not cut out of the video. You watch minutes of that in total and that a total time waister to me. So you tend to zoom out or wanted to skip through the video. Also the assignment instruction are not coherent with the instructions in mode. That is somethings confusing.

創建者 Lynda P

2020年12月26日

This course has very poor instructions, exercises are vague and all solutions don't always align with course. For the DBMS (Mode) used in this course, there is no explanation on how to use it. The instructor expects you to present charts without explaining how to use it.

創建者 Irving G M

2020年8月27日

The course helped to practice the implementation of complicated SQL queries. However, it was quite unstructured and there teacher said wrong concepts and interpretation about hypothesis testing. This course need to be checked.

創建者 ERIC M

2020年7月21日

It's not organized like a class. The teaching style is more like you can shadow me while i work. That's fine if someone can ask questions and get instant feedback. But as an e-learning course it doesn't work very well.

創建者 林弋渝

2020年8月20日

Her teaching mode made me feel very irritable, and I even abandoned class for a while. Many solution videos contain uncertain factors, including many mistakes. I can't get the point very accurately.

創建者 Georgios A

2020年8月10日

This course lacks some structure, overview and professionalism (like editing the videos). Nevertheless, it is a useful of this specialization, if ones has the extra time to invest.

創建者 Manuel J J

2020年4月26日

The instructor knows SQL but she needs to take some classes on learning design and teaching. The course is somewhat messy and underprepared.

創建者 William F

2020年12月1日

Course content is interesting. However, the projects and practice problems are poorly guided with inadequate instructions.

創建者 G M A E

2020年6月26日

am sorry but this course was very hard to understand , i think the content was very disjoind

創建者 Omarov Ü

2020年5月14日

Poorly designed course. Not enough explanation to solve the exercises.

創建者 Mei H

2020年5月11日

It is really hard to follow.

創建者 Якухин В С

2020年12月18日

Did not like

創建者 Justin M

2021年1月16日

This course did deal with some useful ideas; things like research design, statistical testing, and what to do with data that isn't cleanly structured. A lot of times, it was like the instructor was taking a normal day on a data science job and walking you through it.

The issue is the lack of structure to the course. Because it was like a a day on a job, there weren't explicit learning goals. Things like "Today we're going to learn how to clean messy data" isn't a learning goal. Instead, you want something like "Here are some ways in which data are messy. I'll walk you through what I do with each one."

The assignments reflect this. I can't stress enough how poorly the assignments supported my learning. The assignments were usually very vague, with instructions that I had to parse through to understand what was even required of me. Questions that just asked open-ended "Does this look right?" kind of questions? I mean... looks fine to me, but I'm literally in a beginner SQL course so what do I know? Then we watch a solutions video where the instructor writes the code to answer it. It lacks any kind of student engagement and doesn't facilitate learning at all.

It's really indicative of the lack of structure of the course. Since there aren't learning goals, there isn't any framework from which to design assignments. The information lacks context, so it doesn't seem useful until the very final assignment, when you need to have learned the A/B testing stuff (but not really anything else). The course material doesn't build together in a logical fashion. I feel like you could take the 4 modules in any order and you'd get the same out of it. This suggests that there isn't a core skill that's being developed over time, but rather a mishmash of ideas that might be useful in a data science position.

In all, I can't recommend this course. The instructor is an excellent data scientist, I'm sure. But her teaching could use some work.

創建者 Joseph C

2020年12月20日

Very poor course. The information was very hard to interpret as the videos provided in the course did not give live output of the query being used or highlight the important sections that were being described. Additionally, the actions requested in the quizzes were incredibly vague and did not prompt the learner for what was actually being asked. This made it nigh impossible to complete the course as it was set up to accomplish. It did not ever even explicitly state which SQL language was being used (note it is different from the language used in the first course in the series). Finally, the crux of course was to teach AB Testing with SQL, however, it was explained in a fashion that was not clear or concise and did not demonstrate a real world sense of how it could be implemented in a work environment, how to set up an experiment, or even how it was accomplishing the task through SQL.

Hopefully it will make more sense as I go over the course from the beginning, but please be aware that this course was not well constructed and any insight that you might glean from it will require much more research on your part.

This course's concepts were not well explained, demonstrated, or executed.

Do not recommend...

創建者 Thibaut C

2020年6月16日

This is a very practical course, with barely no theoretical aspect. You will get more experience of SQL with this course, that is for sure. The videos have very little actual content, they are more an introduction for the practical part that follows.

However, the instructor builds a sequence of strangely named metrics, and supposes you master it in a second. This is especially unhelpful for the project, where the questions are poorly presented and keep on using this vocabulary.

You will have to use another platform to test your code, which is not a bad thing per se. The problem is that this platform is far from intuitive…

This course seems to lack proper planning.