Chevron Left
返回到 Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

學生對 多伦多大学 提供的 Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age 的評價和反饋

4.8
3,604 個評分
1,175 條評論

課程概述

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

熱門審閱

GP
2020年8月12日

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

YR
2020年5月10日

The course was really helpful to strengthen communications skills and I got a chance to learn many new aspects. Thanks a lot for making this course available. I really enjoyed learning something new.

篩選依據:

51 - Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age 的 75 個評論(共 1,180 個)

創建者 Tetiana M

2020年6月8日

The structure of the course helps very well to understand and practice the tools for efficient communication. The examples are mainly from USA business/ public spheres — for me an additional bonus of immersing into a new environment. A final task enforced me to leave a comfort zone, however, the feelings of self-growth and good-job-made were worth it.

Ivan is a very charismatic speaker — it was exciting to listen to all the lectures. I don’t agree with some of his statements, but I think it’s okay and encourages thinking. Thank you for this course!

創建者 Darshan M D

2020年12月30日

Perfect length, engaging videos and knowledge that can help us wit our daily life as well as work/business. Prof. Ivan and University of Toronto have truly created a course that can solve your problems when trying to communicate with your colleagues, relatives, friends or family on difficult issues or awkward situations. It helps to give you confidence as a public speaker or for doing presentations too! Looking for a solution to get your raise or crack a business deal? This is the right course for you! Highly recommended for all!

創建者 Alexandra S

2020年7月13日

It's a well-informative course for starters! I can clearly understand from the instructor, and it has taught me so many things about communication that can be applied to the real world. However, I seem to notice a lot of typos here and there which can be improved for a better overview. Additionally, I was kind of confused by the Peer-Review Assignment since many weren't following the instructions which made me have to report them multiple times. Overall, it's a good course but there's always room for improvement.

創建者 Dhara N

2021年6月21日

Ivan is an excellent professor! The lectures are engrossing and so easy to understand. His verbal skills and tonality will keep you engaged in the lecture. The content is well-distributed and Ivan does complete justice to elaborating it and presenting it in simpler ways. It is an amazing course and everyone from all walks of life must take it! Irrespective of what your professional background is - Ivan and his course will contribute highly in making you a better communicator! Loved the course!

創建者 Warisara M

2020年6月1日

This course is highly recommended. The content is very helpful which I can apply in my real life. The instructor taught professionally and could drag my attention with his speaking. Moreover, there is a Test per Week and a final assignment that I need to record my VDO and did slide for my virtual presentation. I'd love it so much because It's fun and I also could try applying all of the strategies with it then we could share and review with many learners from around the world.

創建者 Anne B

2020年10月6日

This was a great class. So many great tips and learnings. I particularly liked the tips on creating inclusive and compelling virtual meetings with remote teams. I loved the bowtie methodology for communication along with the myth-busting around beliefs about in-person and virtual meetings. I loved the part about catering your communication to what the person/people you are communicating to need versus what you personally need. I loved the pop quizzes throughout the course.

創建者 Joessy T

2020年5月1日

This was the perfect course to attend during this challenging time. I felt it spot on with my everyday life and communication. The instructor Ivan is a natural and excellent presenter. I thoroughly enjoyed each topic and the suggested tools to tackle them. The resources and links offered are also incredibly helpful for future reference. I would talk about the course with friends and family who are also interested. So glad I stumbled upon this on LinkedIn!

創建者 Jenis A

2020年10月26日

I have found this course very fond and challenging at the same time. It has helped me to understand myself and the people around me.

I was challenged to upload my first Youtube video plus I had to redo my assignment and I had to watch more of Sir Ivan videos which were very stimulating.

I believe you can learn so much about communicating and understanding ways to communicate with your colleagues.

You would truly enjoy every moment of learning from this course.

創建者 Carley S

2020年5月5日

Ivan is an amazing instructor who makes learning easy and engaging! In a few months I will need to engage a group of students online and I cannot wait to utilize some of the things I have learned from this course! It was well worth my time and I think this course is great for almost everyone. It is one that can help you virtually and in-person with co-workers or friends. I highly recommend and wish this course was even longer than the few weeks.

創建者 Eleni A

2020年9月1日

Engaging, enlightening and, most importantly, highly applicable.

The pandemic has created the need for excessive virtual communication and this course provides everything you need to survive and excel in virtual as long as face to face communication. The knowledge offered can be applied to every-day, academic and professional situations.

Amazing professor, short-length videos and perfectly suited tests/ assessments.

Cannot recommend it enough!

創建者 I V N V K

2021年6月19日

Thank You Sanofi for providing this wonderful learning opportunity. Thank You Coursera for hosting this contemporary and apt course in association with University of Toronto. Mr. Ivan is blessed with the ability to connect with people (even offline - over web) and share this wisdom which such simple points that the listener (student) feels charged up to try every thought point and make their own experience - eventually way of life.

創建者 Kamil B

2020年9月30日

Awesome course. A lot of practical tips, materials and resources. I'd say, it's a great started because after it, you can start your adventure with better and more effective communication both face-to-face and virtual. I'd happy to come back to the materials and review them again e.g. the books they talked about and additional links. The presenter/host is really great at what he does, he does it naturally and is easy to understand.

創建者 Amjadhusain M

2021年1月29日

This course is for everybody in the world because communication is the skill with which you can move forward. I am 50 years old and thrilled to see the master of communication, Sir Ivan Wanis Ruiz. he had the command of his language and explained this course very easily. I became a fan of him the way his explanation, his examples, and his communication strategies are very nice, A lot of thanks for enrolling me in this course.

創建者 Celeste

2020年5月25日

This course was excellent from beginning to end! Ivan presented the material in an engaging way and the topics covered are things I often overlook but will definitely give more attention going forward. I was apprehensive about recording myself and sharing it with the class but it turned out to be an eye-opening experience. I recommend this course to anyone interested in developing more effective and efficient communication.

創建者 Temitope A

2020年12月6日

One of the best courses offered on Coursera. I learnt different tools used to communicate with people with different communication styles and underlying motivation.

This course took my presentation skills to another level.

It is very practical and the examples used are from professional or business environment. I am definitely recommending this course to anyone who wants to improve on his/her communicate skills.

創建者 William E R P

2020年10月5日

The course effectively tackles issues of professional communication in the workplace as well as that of meetings and presentations. The pertinence of the methods explained and the clarity with which they are explained make it all very easy to understand and follow. The videos and materials were very well designed, very pertinent and trending, which makes the course fun to go through.

Thank you very much.

創建者 Partha S

2021年9月6日

Very intriguing course. Being an English-as-a-second-language speaker with most of my life, this course really taught me communication strategies I have never thought about myself. Now that I have tried them out on my own in future meetings, I believe they enhance the meetings from being dull and boring, to fun and enjoyable. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to up their game on communication.

創建者 Dyana Y A

2020年10月18日

This course is more than awesome! I don't know before that just a simple strategy could enchance the way our communication work. A basic understanding on the related things of communication hit the spot. You get not just a knowledge but also a knack on how to used it. Step by step, I believe everyone could improve the way they communicate while practicing this. Thanks, it means a lot for me!

創建者 Paula B

2020年9月28日

Practical and Useful Course

Whether you are a student aiming to give a good presentation, a manager struggling to get undivided attention or just a person wanting to communicate better, this course is a must-take. I have learned so much from understanding people to becoming a more impactful storyteller throughout the course. Thank you for a thorough course Professor Ivan Wanis Ruiz!

創建者 Catherine J

2020年5月10日

This class was outstanding! Professional and aspiring speakers would greatly benefit from this class There is so much I will be using to launch my team building business. Presentations was an important component in my marketing plan. This class was my favorite so far with Coursera. I have so many take aways that I could use for my own professional development and with clients.

創建者 Andreea - M R

2020年9月30日

I found this course to be very very interesting and useful, for both face2face and virtual communication. I have learned a lot and evolved a lot from the beginning til the end of the course. Ivan is a great presenter, has a lot of charisma and really emphasizes all the aspect that you need to know, to learn in this course. I will definitely recommend this course to my peers.

創建者 Pallavi

2020年7月30日

This program has helped me in getting those 2 min strategies to communicate effectively at workplace and even with people where you have little hope to get work done. The Instructor was very clear and precise. Effective course materials that helped me to stay focused and get the right amount of information each time. Thanks to the Coursera team and the University of Toronto!

創建者 Lisa M

2020年8月8日

Ivan is a skilled instructor and kept me engaged throughout the entire course! I've taken quite a few courses already and I have to say that his course is truly exceptional because of his delivery, his humour and his presentation! I was sad to have finished the course as I wanted to learn more from him. Please have him instruct more Coursera courses! Thank you, Ivan!!

創建者 Bryan E

2020年11月28日

Excellent course! Highly recommended for people who do a lot of virtual group speaking and communication. Refreshes the reason why you present - engage your audience, create curiosity and deliver the information. 5 Stars for our instructor Ivan Ruiz! I appreciate sharing your personal insights, experiences and knowledge . Grateful to be included in one of your sessions.

創建者 shubhanjali r

2020年7月23日

Getting acknowledgement through your effective communication skill always benefical to you and your career in one's work sourrounding. and that exactly wat i taught in this course.Learnt various ways to deal with different people without discouraging their own opinion.and the way Ivan explain whole theory concept it made me active and energetic in overall session.