Chevron Left
返回到 The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction

學生對 西北大学 提供的 The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction 的評價和反饋

4.6
253 個評分
93 條評論

課程概述

The Talmud is one of the richest and most complicated works of literature the world has ever known. Since being composed around 1500 years ago it has inspired not only religious reverence but significant intellectual engagement. In this course learners will be introduced to the unique characteristics of this text and the challenges that inhere in studying it while studying a chapter of the Talmud. Students of the course can expect to develop an appreciation for how the Talmud works and why it continues to inspire religious and intellectual devotion. They will be challenged to employ critical reading skills and to analyze legal and historical concepts....

熱門審閱

AP

2019年2月17日

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

KR

2017年1月19日

Best course I've experienced on Coursera so far! Really engaging and not 'dumbed down'. Fantastic and charismatic professor and assistant. Already recommended the course to many friends.

篩選依據:

76 - The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction 的 92 個評論(共 92 個)

創建者 Ms.Supriya A K

2020年9月27日

The course is great and the instructors are superbly skilled people making complex topics easy to understand.

創建者 aviva b

2016年9月18日

very interesting, challenging, but I find it hard to understand the intonation (highs and lows) of the ph

創建者 Fr. P G

2020年6月14日

Very informative course. I would like to thank the team behind this course, I learned a lot from them.

創建者 Arna G S

2019年8月5日

No problem with the course actually. Experienced several technical problems, however.

創建者 Joy S

2017年1月7日

Entertaining way of teaching a complex subject

創建者 jeffrey m

2021年11月17日

c​omplicated topic,,,but well presented

創建者 Paulus C

2018年3月14日

G

創建者 Laura Z

2021年3月2日

My rating is a hybrid rating reflecting the content vs the course structure. I was looking for something more basic as I knew virtually nothing about the Talmud. I learned that I am not really interested in the intellectual discussions/arguments that are involved in Talmudic study and the detailed discussions in the videos were well beyond what I needed. So I give the content a 2 for me personally. The self-paced format worked for me, the video delivery was fine and I liked being able to download the transcripts and the glossaries. I read through the transcription after watching the videos and noticed that the transcriptions had many errors. Had I not listened to the video first, I would have been confused. I also found that I needed to read the transcript to better understand the content. Video only would not have been sufficient for understanding. I think Sarah's delivery was much more engaging and animated than Prof Wimpfheimer's. I appreciated the opportunity to take the quizzes more than once. While this course was taken purely for my personal interest and i didn't need to "prove" completion/passing, I still wanted to know what the right answers were. I would have liked having an easy way to download the completed quizzes with the questions and the correct answers. Rating of 3 for the format/structure. This was the first online course that i have taken that was not work-related and i plan to see what else is available.

創建者 RICHARD J Y

2022年2月3日

Interesting & informative but a bit overwhelming with too many divergent opinions centuries apart. Glad I participated but not sure I fully understood how or if the opinions studied applied practically. Instructors were good & presented the subject matter well, however the plethora of information & constant twists & turns at times lost me.

I still continue to take Coursera courses.

Yoffee

創建者 Leo H

2018年10月22日

great presentation with good dive into historical context and thought provoking material. quizzes are too easy, no real "homework" and self study required, which could strengthen the course. Beware that many academic views diverge from traditional Jewish interpretations and opinions accepted in more observant communities and yeshivot.

創建者 Shawn C

2021年3月11日

While the content was generally good, some of the explanations were lacking, starting in "the middle" as you say. This is not helped by the poorly edited text that accompanies each lecture. After six years, this should have been fixed. Organization of the material could have been better.

創建者 Natasha B

2018年1月31日

The professor is speaking as a robot, and not a human being - reading the text without any emotions, pauses, gesticulations etc, All these are necessary to make the lectures worthwhile watching, otherwise we could just read the text.

創建者 kouassi n c

2017年9月15日

c'est bon pour notre propre culture mais il faut arriver à suivre surtout qu'il y a des termes spéciaux à connaître

創建者 Francisco L

2019年7月29日

I expected a more general view of the Talmud, I think the course is not for the normal student.

創建者 wads

2022年1月6日

D​ull as watching paint dry

創建者 Maureen C

2020年7月3日

Too technical. Boring.

創建者 Tina D

2017年9月23日

The course was read out by the instructors and read out extremely quickly, which is very annoying.