Chevron Left
返回到 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics

學生對 伯克利音乐学院 提供的 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的評價和反饋

4.9
401 個評分
128 個審閱

課程概述

There’s a songwriter lurking somewhere inside you, peeking around corners, wondering if it’s safe to come out. Now it is. This course is an invitation to let your inner songwriter step into the sunlight. All it takes is a simple “yes” and you’ll be climbing that windy hill, marveling at the view. If you haven’t written any or many songs, this course will show you an efficient, effective process for tailoring songs to express your ideas and emotions. If you have, you’ll look at your process differently, taking control of aspects of the process you may have not noticed. The course will start by examining the tools available to you, all revolving around the essential concept of prosody. You’ll learn to use your tools to enhance your message—to work compositionally at the same time you’re developing your ideas. You’ll be working both lyrically and musically, though musically it’s not necessary that you either read music or play an instrument. If you play, great, and you’ll be encouraged to play and record your musical responses to the assignments. If you don’t play, the course offers you a number of musical loops to work with. All you’ll have to do is sing your melodies over the loops. Assignments will ask you to post something for peer review—sometimes lyric lines or sections, sometimes melodies, sometimes both. None of it has to be polished. The course is about writing, not performing. Most important, you’ll have a lot of fun....

熱門審閱

SJ

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

CT

Jan 23, 2017

Pat presents with a great demeanour and covers a lot of ground in this course.\n\nI'm definitely a better songwriter for it. This includes the secret to removing writer's block.

篩選依據:

76 - Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的 100 個評論(共 128 個)

創建者 Zachary D V

Mar 21, 2018

Funny, insightful, and down right mind blowing. Take this class. I don't care what you want to study, this will supplement just about everything.

創建者 Forte

Dec 24, 2016

Amazing and powerful tools to craft my songs. Immediate implementation to solidify my learning. Peer reviews gave me a sense of community during the course.

創建者 Rasmus M

Nov 02, 2016

Great course. Just what I needed as a beginner in writing lyrics. I've been singing/playing/producing, but never really try to write lyrics. This course opens up the subject and gives you the opportunity to understand that writing lyrics is a craft.

創建者 Jebbie S

Jul 28, 2017

An amazing course! Pat is fun to listen to!

創建者 Francesca A L

Mar 23, 2017

I would strongly recommend this course to anyone wanting to learn songwriting techniques. Pat Pattison is great and makes learning fun! I feel I have learned so much in such a short time. Loved every minute of it and I hope some day to be able to take other courses with Pat!

創建者 Alejandra B

Aug 24, 2016

GREAT!

創建者 Mikael R

Sep 07, 2017

Best songwriting experience ever

創建者 Carreen P

Jan 26, 2018

THIS IS A FABULOUS COURSE. THE INTEREST WITH WHICH IT IS TAUGHT IS EFFECTIVE AND INSPIRING.

創建者 Kevin K

Mar 11, 2018

What a great course, by an amazing teacher. I'm very grateful for the experience!

創建者 Odile S

Mar 20, 2018

This course gives an explanation about prosody and how rhyme works, not merely teaches how to work with it but also the why. Before the course I wondered why to bother use rhyme and rhythm, as long as it feels good. Now I more deeply understand how it works and know better how to write a poem.

創建者 Sayo A

Oct 16, 2017

Excellent course!

創建者 Gustavo C A

Apr 21, 2018

Great course, very thorough.

創建者 Jesse T

Feb 15, 2018

This class really opened my eyes and ears to powerful concepts and techniques related to songwriting and finding my unique voice in the music I create. From the first week to the last, Pat Pattison's teaching exceeded my expectations and has gone above and beyond to deliver a quality educational experience. I can't say enough to recommend this course to anyone interested in the fundamentals of songwriting, practical, creative tools that will help you unlock your potential as a songwriter.

創建者 Alicia C

Apr 14, 2018

I learned so much about the art of songwriting, and this course made me consider things I'd never thought of before. I also loved how pertinent the lessons were to other forms of written and verbal communication. The whole experience was just stellar.

創建者 Hai y

Jun 07, 2018

tQ

創建者 Katrina F

Feb 18, 2018

What a great intro to songwriting! At first I was a little put off because it felt like the professor was somewhat vague, dreamy, or indirect. But I hung on and soon caught on to his teaching style. This has opened the door to the world of songwriting for me. It helps that I have already been working at it for a few years. Pat is wise.

創建者 Daniel L M

Jun 09, 2017

Amazing course! Explained things simply and easily. I think my songwriting will be much improved after taking this course!

創建者 Mattia C

Sep 03, 2017

Awesome course, awesome teacher. This was a must for everyone who want to write lyrics. Very well done course.

創建者 (Mary) R S

Mar 16, 2018

I loved this course. Pat has a great way of presenting the information, and he really knows his stuff! This course gave me lots of really great practical, usable tools for me to finally get started on my songwriting journey.

創建者 Owen H

Jun 10, 2018

Very enjoyable and useful.

創建者 Allyanova I S

May 02, 2019

The course helps to understand the scheme and the whole system of writing songs from the point of view of technology. It turns out incredibly beautiful and beautiful! I learned a lot of subtleties. Thanks to the teacher for a very accurate and idle explanation of not simple things.

I have learned a lot. It’s very joyful that there are practical exercises, it’s important to apply the knowledge gained to practice.

I'm very grateful!

創建者 Paulo R U

May 02, 2019

Excellent course! Great content! Loved this! The best course I have done on Coursera so far!

創建者 Gian M N

May 10, 2019

Beautiful and very interesting course. Congratulations to our teacher Patt

創建者 Jeremiah P

May 21, 2019

Pat's a cool cat.