Chevron Left
返回到 Applied Text Mining in Python

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Applied Text Mining in Python 的評價和反饋

4.3
3,456 個評分
662 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

熱門審閱

CC
2017年8月26日

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

JR
2020年12月4日

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

篩選依據:

576 - Applied Text Mining in Python 的 600 個評論(共 654 個)

創建者 Ryan D

2019年8月6日

I have been working through the entire specialization, Applied Data Science with Python. The first two courses of this specialization had a lot of attention to detail, the assignments were well laid out and challenging, and the addition resources linked by the instructor were really helpful. Moreover, the lectures themselves were more engaging and segmented.

This course was less informative than the other courses I've taken in this specialization. You would be much better off purchasing the O'Reilly Text Analysis in Python book and reading through it in more detail prior to taking this course or in-between lectures.

創建者 Warnakulasuriya S A F

2020年11月7日

Really was some painful experience. I did manage to get over the first two weeks battling myself in those overrated assignments. But after the 3rd week it was really like a typical lecture in the university where professor reads out his slides and give the assignment to check whether the student was able to stay awake the whole time of his presentation. It was really hard to catch up the gap between those couple of weeks. Not recommended for a beginner or a person who has just entered the field of DS. Believe me, you're in for a really grumpy ride with this course.

創建者 Mandeep G

2020年3月17日

After first 2 courses in this specialization this was a real disappointment. The course felt rushed and mostly dealt with how. It was real short on content related to application and why things are being done. Even the assignments didn't provide clarity on how the results are to be interpreted and what could be ther real world implications.

Material needs to be expanded to ensure that this course is not just to show how python can be used for text mining but also to include examples of where and how this is useful.

創建者 Deleted A

2019年4月17日

The overall material was good. That being said, this is the first time I have taken a MOOC course and felt like 90% of the time I spent was fighting with the auto grader. The instructions in many instances were unclear, so when you are dealing with a grading system that grades items as 100% correct, vs 100% incorrect with really no feedback as to what you did wrong it can be very frustrating. Without the Discussion forums there is no way I would have ever figured out what to do for some parts of assignments.

創建者 Stephen S

2019年5月3日

Out of the 5 courses in the specialization, this course was not up to the level of the other courses. Full of theory not much practical explanations and there wasn't much practice modules in each week just like other modules.

For Assignments, i was not even able to refer any module in this course to check for syntaxes. It was very tough for me to solve assignments as there was no reference in the videos or practice modules.

Need huge improvements in the course.

創建者 Massimo A

2017年10月3日

Course packed of information and topics in four weeks so it feels sometimes rushed.

Especially the forth week (topic modelling, information extraction, semantic similarity and generative models all in one week) feels disconnected from the rest .

The exercises do not help too much, with several mistakes and ambiguity.

Nevertheless, the theme is really interesting. Possibly the errors can be corrected in the next runs.

Plus for using Python and NLTK.

創建者 Anand M

2020年7月14日

The course is very boring & way of explaining concepts is not great at all.I have wasted lot of my time in understanding the assignment questions & sorting the autograder issues .I guess its high time that teachers should revamp the course considering the quality vs the price a student is paying for the course .

There are better courses on udemy which I could have taken & they explain concepts in a very simple manner rather than boring methods.

創建者 Chris M

2017年8月26日

Content in the course is interesting and given the amount of data stored in text very valuable. However, I would encourage the staff to provide more coding examples. I would also suggest moving away from assignments and towards projects - (a) projects would likely force more comprehension instead of code shopping and (b) the autograder is terrible: I can't believe the amount of time I wasted because the autograder was not set up properly.

創建者 Mark H

2018年1月28日

I was disappointed by the lectures in this course. My impression is that extremely complex concepts are mentioned in passsing and poorly explained, while a large amount of time is spent on trivial examples. The programming assignments are more interesting and appropriately challenging (compared to other courses in the specialization), but leave me without any confidence that I could accomplish a text mining task in python independently.

創建者 Dan B

2018年1月4日

It's really unacceptable that there should be errors with the autograder (which were left unfixed) and I wasted a lot of time trying to debug code which was actually working. As well this course did a good job with the introduction to the concepts in the first two weeks and then dropped the ball with content that appears rushed and disorganized. The LDA and other concepts need to be presented better.

創建者 Pascal R

2017年10月8日

First Coursera course I've taken with mistakes in the material and the grader. Also the first course where they mostly decided not to provide notebooks to review the material but instead made you scrub through the videos to find the actual code. Lastly the assignments were not terribly well tuned to the lectures (which were decent) and didn't make me feel like I had a great grasp of the material.

創建者 Yonatan S

2019年11月15日

A lot of exercises have unclear instructions (see discussion forums). The exercise on topic modeling especially was a waste of time, you're not really learning anything by running these small pre-frabricated scripts. In general the exercises were extremely shallow and did not require any creativity or actual problem-solving, in contrast to some of the earlier courses in this Specialization.

創建者 Bruce H

2018年7月30日

One of the more disappointing classes in the U of M data science specialization, due mostly to inconsistent quality of the assignments. The videos are interesting but lacking in detail. The quizzes are trivial. Half of the assignments were OK but the other two were big time-wasters. The construction of this class seems just plain lazy. Proceed directly to google and skip this class.

創建者 Casey T

2018年10月20日

This course was not particularly well put together. I found the erratic behavior of the autograder for assignments to be a significant barrier to learning. This course was far more about battling data structures and python libraries than it was about text mining. The word "Applied" in the title should be replaced with "VERY VERY APPLIED..."

創建者 Steven G

2019年11月6日

Confusing explanations of NLP concepts. Inadequate explanations of how to use the Python packages to solve the assignment questions. I'm writing this review half-way through the Applied Social Networks Analysis course which is excellent and pitched just right. The contrast between the 2 courses couldn't be greater.

創建者 Gonza P

2019年5月14日

Los ejercicios de este curso tienen una dificultad muy superior a lo mostrado durante las clases, lo que hace que uno deba de invertir mucho tiempo en los mismos investigando en recursos internos. Por ejemplo, con una dedicatoria semanal de 10-15 horas me llevó 2 meses enteros hacer el curso.

創建者 Saravanan C

2017年8月12日

Liked the simplified content. But minimalist approach w.r.to coverage of concepts - could be better. Tactical/Operational support, responsiveness from the TA w.r.to confusions on questions or grader can significantly improve. Thanks for the course, I learnt and enjoyed the hands-on sessions.

創建者 li m

2018年10月28日

I am kind of disappointed of this course especially the lecturer were talking too much than showing the practical examples, for example 'topic modelling'. With a few slides of introduction about topic modelling showing some lines of code without any examples in notebook isn't helping a lot.

創建者 Yohann W

2020年4月27日

Disappointing compared to the other courses of this specialisation. Some concepts were not defined (i.e bag of words) for the assignment. A lot of errors in auto graders, assignments. I had the impression to have a list of concepts and functions without a real explanation.

創建者 Raul M

2018年6月2日

I didn't like too much the structure of the lecture and the assignments, I don't think they were aligned that well. Also, I'm not sure how I'm going use this in real life.

The additional lectures were TOO MUCH theory which is not the purpose of the specialization.

創建者 Christopher J P

2021年3月24日

The assignments need significant improvement. Additionally, the lecturer never explained the NLP workflow succinctly. He more or less provided a bunch of terms with relatively little explanation. I was originally very excited about this particular course.

創建者 VenusW

2017年8月25日

Very disappointing course. Probably cause I have learnt text mining from other specialization, does not feel this course is necessary to take. Assignment material are poorly prepared, waste some time when completing the assignment, which can be avoided.

創建者 Jared H

2020年2月27日

Poorly constructed course overall. Covers some key topics so may still be worthwhile but lectures and assignments do not match up, expectation is that you just Google the material to complete assignments. Could do that without signing up for a course.

創建者 Lin Y

2019年7月16日

This course is probably the worst amongst all other courses in this specialization. The term 'applied' in the course title makes you think that this course helps you to build practical experiences in text mining. However, not true at all.

創建者 Fabrice L

2017年8月9日

This course repeat a lot what we have seen in the module 3 of the specialization. There is not enough coding examples and the first assignment is not well design. The lectures doesn't prepare you enough to tackle the assignments.