Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,065 個評分
415 條評論

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

VS

Jun 23, 2020

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM

Jun 12, 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

篩選依據:

76 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 100 個評論(共 413 個)

創建者 Jyotsna G

Jan 17, 2018

This workshop is anything but boring. I had so much fun going through the videos, learning the basics, and workshopping my poems. I couldn't have asked for a greater start to this journey! Special credit to the instructor for infusing all his lectures with genuine enthusiasm and vigour!

創建者 Mary C D

Jun 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The instructor and accompanying videos and assignments were clever and innovative. All kept my interest and enthusiasm for understanding and learning. It was especially motivating and a distraction during the "covid" period. I recommend this course to all!

創建者 Kayanna

Nov 10, 2015

Excellent overview with bite-size explanations that really puts into context some of that fiddly terminology. The lectures are accessible and makes the theory less daunting. Thanks to Douglas Kearney & crew for helping me to see where I can improve to produce better works of poetry.

創建者 Hala C

Oct 27, 2018

Amazing course. The instructor was great and had a really fun teaching style that kept me interested, and the mentors were very helpful. I learned a lot about poetry through this course and would recommend it to anyone wanting to challenge themselves and become better poets.

創建者 Gouthami

Jul 28, 2020

Thank you very much - I enjoyed learning more about poetry and being introduced to so many poets from the USA. Module 6 was especially useful - understanding the difference between revising and editing. I had the most fun with the lipogram. All the best for future courses!

創建者 Jen G

Jan 24, 2020

What a great presenter who really brought poetry to life for his students! I found peer review difficult given I am such a novice but enjoyed the standard of submissions from others - some great poets in the making. Material and references were excellent. Thankyou.

創建者 James G

Oct 14, 2017

Great intro to poetry. The analysis of the poems was great, and I really enjoyed the poems covered in the course.

The writing prompts are the hardest and most time consuming part of the course. I write for fun and the practice I got from this course was very useful.

創建者 Danila G

Oct 19, 2015

I really loved this poetry course! It was taught with a different style compared to similar courses that I have taken in the past. He teaches the it with a different flair for poetry! Because of that I not only enjoyed the course but also learned a great deal!

創建者 Jhonatan J A E

May 08, 2016

The course is just great! All the contents are presented in a pretty pleasant way and concepts are clearly explained shortly and exemplified. Participants are supposed to learn through practice, resulting in very challenging and encouraging experiences.

創建者 Polyxeni

May 11, 2020

This is the first course I managed to complete online. I was very enthusiastic about it and I absolutely enjoyed every part of it. Sometimes I felt like I was watching educational stand up comedy! It was a good introduction to poetry as a hobby for me.

創建者 Maryann L

May 26, 2020

An excellent course. This is a great introduction to writing poetry. Easy to follow. Lots of assignments, interesting presentation. This course gave me an opportunity to explore the basic elements of poetry in a way I have not done before. Recommend.

創建者 Pamela O

Aug 08, 2016

This is a great course. I learned so many new things about writing poetry both from the professor and the peer reviews. In the revision section I learned the difference between editing and revision. This one thing cleared up a great mystery for me.

創建者 stephanie r

Oct 20, 2015

It gives an easily digestible engaging and inspirational overview of the craft of writing poetry using interesting contemporary poems. I got a lot more out of the course than i thought I would; i think the course is like a great poem in that way.

創建者 Isha G

May 07, 2020

It is a brilliant workshop which can alter your writing skills for the better, and while working on the prompts, you yourself will notice a difference in your style of poetry writing after learning everything in this workshop from start to end.

創建者 Karena A

Jul 17, 2017

This course has some very interesting exercises and plenty of information I did not know. The instructor is highly entertaining too. The people here are very nice and talented. The mentors are really good. More than anything it primes the pump.

創建者 Alycia K

Feb 19, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much. Unfortunately, I didn't finish it because of work obligations. However, I found it very inspiring and fun. I will take it again when I can get my work and life more balanced. I highly recommend this course.

創建者 Lia M

Jul 02, 2020

Great workshop! The video's are super fun and very educational. The prompts are great and I've learned a lot by working on the assignments. Peer assessment is a wonderful way to receive feedback and the discussion forums are very lively.

創建者 Christine C

Sep 05, 2019

This is an excellent course - well designed - very interesting. Strongly recommend it for poets really wanting to improve their skills. The feedback component is useful and the mentors are terrific.

Wish, wish, wish there was a Part 2.!

創建者 Ariel B

Aug 26, 2015

Fantastic course! A great introduction to poetry and workshopping. Also, thanks for bringing Phil Och's version of The Bells to my attention. It's definitely my new favorite song. The Bells has always been one of my most favorite poems.

創建者 Derek O

Aug 02, 2020

This course was engaging, informative and entertaining. The instructor clearly loves his subject and enjoys teaching. His lectures are insightful and on point. I learned something in every unit. Thank you for this wonderful course.

創建者 Yu J K

Apr 03, 2019

The students giving feedback on my work was impressive, and I certainly learnt a whole load of things during this course. One of the best workshops I've done that gave me the chance to actually develop on my skills! :) Thanks Doug.

創建者 liza m b

Jun 02, 2020

Incredible course! The information I learned was invaluable to my writing practice, understanding of poetry, and revision process. I gained so much confidence in my writing and had fun experimenting with different forms of poetry.

創建者 Kevin G

May 04, 2020

Great course overall, and delivered in a fun / non-intimidating way. I had wanted an introduction into reading and writing poetry for a long time, but not felt comfortable with other courses / materials but this was near perfect.

創建者 Misha B

Jun 18, 2020

Great class. I think the rhyme and revision sections were the most helpful for me personally. The professor was extremely knowledge, and the course contents were explained thoughtfully, yet in a concise manner. Highly recommend!

創建者 Ezra E

Sep 23, 2017

I enjoyed this workshop. It has helped me to rethink what poetry is, and it has given me valuable knowledge so I can write better poems. The length of the workshop is ideal. I feel the peer review aspect could be strengthened.