Chevron Left
返回到 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

學生對 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的評價和反饋

4.0
2,109 個評分
518 條評論

課程概述

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

熱門審閱

JS

Jul 17, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

NS

Jun 19, 2020

Relatively tougher than previous two courses in the specialization. I'd suggest giving more time and being patient in pursuit of completing this course and understanding the concepts involved.

篩選依據:

251 - Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的 275 個評論(共 516 個)

創建者 Visveswara K M

Jun 18, 2020

This was a bit more challenging than the previous two courses. I didn't enjoy it as much as the previous courses, however, I learnt more than the previous two. The discussion forums were helpful and the instructors contributed regularly. The assignments were a bit frustrating at times but still manageable. However, the assignments could have had a bit more of explanations.

創建者 greg m

May 24, 2020

Very good course, interesting material. However the amount of programming knowledge required is way beyond a beginner like myself and I struggled with that , consuming much time. Those with programming knowledge have a tremendous advantage on this course.

There should be a week or a separate brief course on python/numpy.

A follow up more advanced course would be good too.

創建者 Evgeny ( C

Jul 25, 2018

It was a harder course where I spent double the time I have initially anticipated.

It is much harder than the two predecessor courses in specialization, and amount of direction when it comes to doing exercises is significantly smaller. More Python knowledge is required.

That said, I feel like I have finally understood the PCA and math behind it, which made it all worth it

創建者 Mark S

Jul 07, 2018

Loved the course, although I wish there was more ramp up to some of the complex scenarios (or anything simple but new). Very helpful forums/community. Requires a fair amount of external reading/referencing for some of the concepts which seem to be covered only at a high level in the lectures.I would love to see more courses on applied mathematics for machine learning.

創建者 Jerome M

Jul 26, 2018

The best of the 3 courses. This is a refresh course of course. A solid background in linear algebra is required in order to fully understand everything. I personnaly recommen the MIT course from Gilbert Strang before you try this one. The python exercises are very well designed and I can only be thankful to having shared this knowledge. Thank you Imperial College.

創建者 Timo K

Apr 10, 2018

Not quite as good as the other two courses of the same specialization. Even though the instructor seems immensely knowledgeable he could work on delivering the material (which is more abstract than before to his credit) in a clearer manner.

The programming assignments are great albeit a bit hard to troubleshoot at times. All in all still a great course.

創建者 Joshua C B A

Mar 11, 2019

Very good course. I liked every single video and exercise. I feel that the programming assignments were a bit more challenging and sometimes I was not too sure of what I was doing. I am not a professional in handling Python, so I had to surf online finding the commands to be able to build the simplest code possible. Other than that, it was enjoyable.

創建者 Cheng T Y

Jul 08, 2018

good thing is it's trying to give you a sense of practically how to do it.downside is it's not really bridging to from maths to that practical sense in python (and the online jupyter notebook is terrible).the teaching staff is actually more responsive than the other 2 in the specialization.a bit more sided on python than maths though.

創建者 Phạm N M H

Jul 12, 2019

This maybe the most frustrating course and most advance compare to 2 other courses, you might confuse about the code in the assignment of this course. So, if you do have basic background about coding with numpy, matrices,etc..., I do recommend this course, if you qualify enough to fix the bugs of what the dev team left.

創建者 Thorben S

Mar 08, 2019

I would have liked to be introduced to the topic on a higher level first - and then, step by step, an introduction of the math to solve specific problems in the progress. That would be a perfect approach, especially for data scientists who just want to understand the underlying math for such a widely used technique.

創建者 Andrés M

Jul 04, 2020

I believe the course is proper for people that have no prior knowledge in linear algebra whatsoever. I liked how clear it was to introduce concepts, yet I found that if you knew nothing the course is too hard but super easy for the ones that have some knowledge in algebra and calculus.

創建者 Mike W

Mar 22, 2020

The quality of this course is comparable to the previous courses in the specialization, but the math and derivations were harder to follow (even accounting for the increased difficulty of this course). The assignments also were very practical and help reinforce the course's content.

創建者 Shariq A

Oct 20, 2019

Thank you professor for providing such a valuable course.

Just I wanted to say one thing without hurting anyone, the week 4 on PCA is not very clear. The derivation are not very correlated .A humble request isthat to elaborate the derivation which would further enhance the learning

創建者 Shuqin L

Aug 04, 2020

The last course is especially challenging. The instructor could do a better job to explain the concept and calculation etc. The gap between lectures and assignments is way too big. If the course extends to 6 weeks, it may greatly help improve the quality of the course content.

創建者 Aarón M C M

May 10, 2020

I think this is one of the bests courses that I have taken. I would just recommend to describe more accurately decimal precisions in tests because it has a little challenging to realize that the solutions proposed were not successful enough because of this issue.

創建者 Jonathan F

Mar 17, 2019

This course is way harder than the first two. The maths itself is more difficult. The Python parts are a lot more challenging because they require a good understanding of the way Numpy handles vectors and matrices. But the end result is good and it is worthwhile!

創建者 JITHIN P J

Apr 27, 2020

Course content is too hard to understand. You need to go through the content at-least 2 -3 times. But its good. Also assignments are bit tricky and you need to do alot of googling which will make you learn more. Thanks Coursera and ICL for this wonderful course

創建者 Moreno C

Mar 14, 2020

This was the most rigorous and demanding of the courses of this specialization.

The video lectures were well organized.

The interaction with the Jupyter Notebook was sometimes confusing but perhaps this was due to my limited knowledge of Python.

Thank you.

創建者 Stephan S

Mar 06, 2020

Hi, at first thanks for everyone to make this course possible. In contrast of teh first two parts of the specialization, this course is quite challanging. Some real example would make live a lot easier. Nevertheless in my opinion it is worth the effort.

創建者 M S H

Aug 22, 2020

The programming assignments are very poorly designed (along with bugs ) which makes it really frustrating at times. The Course is overall insightful but requires lots of background study and practice. Basics of Python (using numpy module)is essential.

創建者 Gaetano F

Oct 10, 2019

I found the course excellent but in the programming assignments is not always clear what should one exactly do. They are also quite confusing, especially the last one on PCA implementation. One wastes so much time trying to figure out the solution.

創建者 kmccall

May 03, 2020

some of the mathematical derivations got so detailed that i couldn't follow them. it would be great to add checkpoints in to test/validate/discuss progress so that over a long and complex topic, there can be waypoints to ensure understanding.

創建者 Ronald T B

Jan 21, 2019

it is very challenging course, of course you will complain at first on how lack the programming explanation is given. However, it just like the ingredients the math for machine learning will not be complete without attempting to this one.

創建者 Вернер А И

Mar 18, 2018

Very tough course because of the programming assignments. Material was sometimes taught in a non-clear and deceiving way, e.g. covariance matrix of a dataset. Nevertheless, the course is good and covers lots of important details.

創建者 Kisan T

Jun 17, 2020

Great Course but not good as previous two courses. It helps me gather great idea about Principle Component Analysis. Thanks to Coursera, Imperial College London, and Professors for this amazing course and specialization.