Chevron Left
返回到 Intellectual Humility: Theory

學生對 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Intellectual Humility: Theory 的評價和反饋

4.5
329 個評分
88 條評論

課程概述

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

熱門審閱

GL
2020年6月3日

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT
2020年6月30日

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

篩選依據:

51 - Intellectual Humility: Theory 的 75 個評論(共 88 個)

創建者 scalesr4

2018年3月18日

I

love the concept of this branch of philosophy!

創建者 Howard C

2017年6月9日

Excellent course to go through and learn from.

創建者 Asif S B

2017年3月14日

One of the most important courses in Coursera!

創建者 AHMED E M

2021年1月9日

Very Interesting and educational course.

創建者 Mobashir A

2020年8月26日

Wonderful approach. Wonderful examples.

創建者 Alma D

2017年4月24日

Very interesting and great course!

創建者 Ionut M C

2019年4月10日

Great content, enjoyed the talks.

創建者 Roberto R

2018年1月14日

thanks,everybody should do it :-)

創建者 Andrew W

2021年9月6日

Great Course really enjoyed it

創建者 L

2016年12月29日

worth every minute of my time!

創建者 Ricardo V

2020年9月6日

Outstanding, really very good

創建者 Abdulrahman M

2019年1月7日

This is an eye-opening course

創建者 Daniel F

2020年6月7日

Un curso muy expectacular

創建者 Mehrdad M

2017年6月20日

I learned a lot!

創建者 Tolulope V K

2017年8月14日

its top noch

創建者 vishakha j

2020年5月24日

Good course

創建者 kerry a

2020年5月24日

loved it

創建者 Oky T S

2016年12月11日

Superb !

創建者 DrSHAIK L

2020年9月5日

Good

創建者 Sebastian K

2017年3月15日

The course gives a good basic insight to the topic of intellectual humility although in the beginning it fails a little in telling why intellectual humility is so important. (roughly the message was: "you get along better with other people and yourself")

As the question "what is (intellectual) humility" is more a philosophical question than a practical experience this course cannot provide you with a tool that helps you to be more humble within a few days, to improve your humility and to measure someone elses humility but the course helps you asking yourself the right questions. ("Is social status important to me? Can I accept different opinions?...)

It was my first coursera experience and I am satisfied with it. However, the videos are a bit oldfahsioned in style - if it was intended to give the videos an antique look - well done ;-)

創建者 Carey N

2019年2月2日

This was a somewhat difficult and challenging course for me. I felt it was more technical than I expected. I really liked it a lot. This is my first Coursera course so the four stars is more to leave room for future courses that I take that might exceed this one. This was a great course and I would highly recommend it.

創建者 Robert S

2020年4月22日

This course was a wonderful change of pace. I really enjoyed taking a look at humanity in a different perspective. It arms you will another way to look at individuals and yourself to understand if you can justify their take on information in regards to looking at subjects with an epistemic view.

創建者 Georgios K

2017年3月25日

A very good short course on an important intellectual trait, the intellectual humility. The videos were very informative, and the lecturers did not require a prior knowledge on philosophy or psychology. I managed to complete the course even though I did not have more than 2-3 hours per week.

創建者 Miguel M

2016年12月23日

Very interesting subject and well structured course, with good exposition of the subject. Looking forward into Part 2! Knocked one star off (would be half if I could) just because there is some discontinuity between the three sections/speakers and still a couple of rough edges to smooth out.

創建者 Stuart M

2020年5月25日

Topic and course are quite interesting. Lectures are clear and easy to follow, but don't have much spark, so not a five stars.