Chevron Left
返回到 Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors

學生對 巴塞罗那自治大学 提供的 Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors 的評價和反饋

4.5
293 個評分
55 個審閱

課程概述

This course gives you a complete insight into the modern design of digital systems fundamentals from an eminently practical point of view. Unlike other more "classic" digital circuits courses, our interest focuses more on the system than on the electronics that support it. This approach will allow us to lay the foundation for the design of complex digital systems. You will learn a set of design methodologies and will use a set of (educational-oriented) computer-aided-design tools (CAD) that will allow you not only to design small and medium size circuits, but also to access to higher level courses covering so exciting topics as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs) design or computer architecture, to give just two examples. Course topics are complemented with the design of a simple processor, introduced as a transversal example of a complex digital system. This example will let you understand and feel comfortable with some fundamental computer architecture terms as the instruction set, microprograms and microinstructions. After completing this course you will be able to: * Design medium complexity digital systems. * Understand the description of digital systems using high-level languages such as VHDL. * Understand how computers operate at their most basic level (machine language)....

熱門審閱

VS

Feb 02, 2018

excellent video lectures combined with a awesome assignment questions which are more about applications oriented.An excellent and must learn course for all ece students.

NN

Jun 23, 2017

The Course is interesting and the assignments are challenging which allows the learners to gain great insight into the digital system design.

篩選依據:

26 - Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors 的 50 個評論(共 52 個)

創建者 Nguyen M Q

May 26, 2019

One of the best courses of Coursera I have taken

創建者 Vallabh B

Jun 09, 2019

A very well designed course learned a lot!! kudos

創建者 Siqi H

Sep 10, 2019

It's not a easy course for me, but the practice exercise is enough for me to get deeper understanding in course content.

創建者 Justin S

Oct 22, 2019

I'd give this course 6 stars, if I could. I hope there will be additional courses released that extend upon this material.

創建者 Archit A

Aug 09, 2018

A great course for someone starting out with digital design and simulation. The course work will progressively increase over the weeks but the concepts are brilliantly explained. I personally found the HDL lectures very monotonous. But other than that, the course is amazing.

創建者 ZAOUDI O

Aug 31, 2018

Enchanté

創建者 Abdul A M

Jun 20, 2018

It was a good refresher course.

創建者 Anurag S R

Nov 30, 2017

The best thing about this course is the extensive amount of time dedicated to solving exercises in circuit design and timechart creation. That has often helped in better understanding of concepts discussed during the course of the lectures. The VerilUOC platform is great to work with once you have it set up and configured. Possible scope of development lies in how the VHDL section of the course is handled. It could be better delivered through more coding exercises that start from basic VHDL coding of components and then going up further to demonstrate component creation, reuse and creation of complex architecture using existing and user defined IP modules. More coding exercises and examples would help in this direction. The non-VHDL portion of the course is wonderfully treated and very thorough and comprehensive.

創建者 Padmakar

Oct 15, 2017

Great for getting back in touch with the subject. And it's design with the industry needs in mind.

創建者 Muratali M

Mar 20, 2017

Very nice introductory course, broad explanation of traditional logic gates and synthesis tools. Graded Exercises and Practice exercises are chosen perfectly to grasp the topic

創建者 Dehan L

Mar 12, 2018

Overall, it is a helpful and nice course introducing knowledge about digital circuits. While some parts could be improved, such as more explicit examples in the videos or including some VHDL practice exercises. Thanks.

創建者 Adhiraj H S

Feb 18, 2018

the theory questions in week 6 and 8 quizes were not covered properly in the material

創建者 Omar Y H

Jan 05, 2017

Nice detailed slides!

創建者 Pavan R

Apr 21, 2017

This is a very good course for experts as well as beginners . Quiz assignments were very challenging . I like the concept of practice and solved quiz

創建者 Patrick D

Feb 04, 2018

It was a good course. I had taken it as an undergrad and it was great to take it as a review. It has VHDL and some more modern techniques like Shannon's cofactoring neither of which was taught when I took this course in 1990.

Introduced me to a couple of useful tools in logisim and Logic Minimizer.

I have been working with FPGAs and writing lots of VHDL code for quite some time, but this was good to good way to go back to basics and I feel like I hit the reset button and strengthened my foundation. This was every bit as good as taking the course in person, but I like this online approach better. You don't move on until you get it right and you can take your time.

創建者 Husham E K

Nov 13, 2017

The course was very good in terms teaching you how to design logic gates and build a processor and use VHDL code for that. I loved this course very much and I will start now doing the other courses that will help me develop a very complex processor. This is a good start for learners. It's very well described and you should always try to use mind and brain and try develop your skills to get to know the material. I really want one thing from lecturer is at least put some examples for students regarding week 7 and week 8. Because it was very hard for me to understand the content of these two weeks. Thanks for the effort that you have done on this course and I will wait for the next course of you.

創建者 Deleted A

Jan 03, 2017

I already had done a digital logic course before. But, this course is different from that, as it is much more formal in describing a digital system. In this courses, the emphasis is on systems which is much welcome. The Processor topic is very interesting.

Although the videos could be made a little better. The content is interesting, but the presentation is a little dull.

I write this review after 4 weeks into the course. And, I personally am enjoying it.

創建者 satvik n

Apr 07, 2019

ACHA THA

創建者 Vedhas W

Aug 07, 2019

The accents get in the way of learning at times, and the quizzes are a bit more challenging than what is introduced in the lectures, but it is overall a very interesting and comprehensive course. I definitely recommend this course to anyone willing to put in the time and effort to learn this key cs skillset.

創建者 Little F

Sep 12, 2019

It's a little hard to learn in 6,7,8 weeks.

創建者 Amr W A R S

Sep 15, 2019

This course is very useful and will build a very strong foundation to digital systems. However, I strongly recommend that the instructor tries further enhancing his teaching skills, because in most of the weeks, the quiz is very much harder than the concepts introduced in the lectures. But they're all useful.

創建者 Jerry L

May 22, 2018

I wanted to refresh what I learned in undergrad, believing that I was now interested in exploring a career change from software development to designing embedded systems. The time commitment required is much greater than advertised. First, the weekly lectures frequently skimmed passed material that will be tested in the associated quiz, forcing you to scour the forums and Google to expand on the material (ex: cube notation). Second, the way the quizzes were crafted were borderline cheap shots at making the class difficult. For example, weeks seven thru eight's practice quizzes would have problems of a certain type, only so that the graded quiz would list problems of a completely different type. What was the point of practicing then? Third, the VM for the circuit diagramming labs was so locked down, you couldn't increase the display resolution so many hours are wasted squinting at the monitor to move the cursor literally 1-2 pixels over lest a signal isn't actually connected. All these factors contribute to making the time commitment realistically >= 5 hours per week for the practice and graded quizzes alone, as you will be redoing them multiple times. Overall, I would recommend you find another reputable university to cover Digital Systems.

創建者 debasish k

Oct 14, 2017

I was really helpful by the advance of this course.I an VLSI student got an understanding of designing of the processor.But it might have been more compact and good if the "TEST BENCH " of the design is also included with it .

Thanks for your effort .

創建者 Arvind G

May 03, 2019

Difficult tests but only brief and hasty explanations in video lectures.

創建者 GANESH P B K

Jul 04, 2017

Lot of mistakes in graded quizzes. Mentors and staffs rarely reply to doubts