Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Design Principles for Tableau

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,113 個評分
169 個審閱

課程概述

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

熱門審閱

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

NN

May 20, 2019

The course is not only focusing on the Tableau project, but also discussing key notes that need applying to make visualization become more effective. That is great course! Thanks!

篩選依據:

151 - Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的 169 個評論(共 169 個)

創建者 Mark A

Mar 13, 2018

Would like more practical application of lessons in Tableau (vs almost entirely principles/theory), particularly with the guest instructor, who is very knowledgeable but only lectures. I got bored listening to lecture after lecture without doing anything or course directed application of what is taught.

創建者 Carlos S

Mar 29, 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

創建者 Erin R

Jan 03, 2018

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.

創建者 Amy D

Jul 01, 2019

The course is very theoretical and provides great articles and for great discussion. I was hoping for more interaction, and I'd also like more video content with fewer introductions. The music gets very annoying.

創建者 Nino M

Jun 30, 2019

More practice would be helpful

創建者 Lin Y

Aug 18, 2019

This course is alright, straightforward but un-surprising. Need more course material on HOW to use Tableau's functions.

創建者 Devin

Sep 12, 2019

Instructions for the final assignment should be more specific since I had to resubmit it multiple times before someone left feedback about using the profit ratio to gain full points

創建者 Kelly D

Sep 29, 2017

I was initially disappointed by the focus on design principles with a limited emphasis on implementing these principles in Tableau. However, I realized that the structure of this course and its focus on Gestalt Principles and leveraging pre-attentive attributes were valuable. The problem was that each weekly module concludes with a quiz, but there's only one peer graded assignment for the whole class. That assignment includes instructions like "use one of the 9 design principles in a visualization that…". If the course was restructured so that there were a peer graded assignment to build a tableau visualization at the end of each weekly module it would have been much better.

創建者 Luis M M J

Jan 26, 2017

All it's about visual design. I was expecting more deep on tableau usage.

創建者 Jennifer C

Feb 16, 2018

A lot of the material covered in this session was common sense. I also didn't learn any valuable skills that will help me design Tableau dashboards

創建者 Bryant R

Nov 02, 2017

It feels like the video tutorials were rushed and hard to follow this time.

創建者 David S

Jan 07, 2017

No Feedback from quizes, it doesn't even show you what you have answered, makes it very tedious to study the material. I like the questions during the video, that is an addition that ought to be used more often, because it forces you to remember and learn faster.

創建者 Mike M

Aug 02, 2017

The peer graded assignment is far to volatile in this context. It should either be graded binary (done / not done) or done by staff....

創建者 Thomas L

Aug 29, 2019

Some concepts were explained poorly (e.g. Gestalt principles, pre-attentive attributes). Peer review was frustrating - easy to fail the week 4 assignment due to the 5-point rating scale for some parts, which invites reviewers to deduct points arbitrarily.

創建者 Zhang M

Dec 31, 2018

The over-emphasization of theory and lack of application in this module made me feel sick.

創建者 yaoyaoholiday

May 04, 2019

Too much psychology theory part. I want to learn Tableau rather than how System I or System II works in my brain. I read Kahneman's book when I have leisure time, but I don't want to do such multiple choice problems in a computer class.

創建者 Jacob G

Jun 26, 2019

Quiz references readings that are not listed anywhere in the module. Content of videos is helpful but the arrangement of this course is poor

創建者 khaled P

Sep 12, 2019

It is more about THeory and they did not explain Tableau

創建者 Muhammad S

Sep 19, 2019

This is completely theoretical. It would be better to include some practical work at the end of every week. It's completely boring. Try to include practical contents.