Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Design Principles for Tableau

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,115 個評分
170 個審閱

課程概述

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

熱門審閱

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

NN

May 20, 2019

The course is not only focusing on the Tableau project, but also discussing key notes that need applying to make visualization become more effective. That is great course! Thanks!

篩選依據:

126 - Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的 150 個評論(共 170 個)

創建者 shruthi

May 15, 2019

Excellent Topics

創建者 Sumit C

Jun 22, 2019

Nice Course

創建者 Gerard P

Aug 16, 2019

LOTS of theory. I mean LOTS!! But very important things to know and learn. thanks!

創建者 黄静雯

Aug 26, 2019

assignment is good

創建者 Susanne L

Aug 27, 2019

A little bit too much theory than hands on. Still good though

創建者 linying

Sep 18, 2019

use more example will be better

創建者 Rajendra P

Oct 17, 2019

Good Explanation

創建者 Punit S

Sep 26, 2019

Good course to understand visualization basics and clears out a lot of doubts.

創建者 Vikas J

Oct 02, 2019

Well, structured course as knowing the fundamentals is essential for future buildup and implementation. However, a few things we're hard to follow as the presentation was in old tableau, and we are current newer and better versions.

We need more examples to play around and get the hang of the software.

創建者 Shaik I

Oct 06, 2019

Need more assignments

創建者 George O

Nov 04, 2019

Too many theoretical concept. More hands on experience will be helpful.

創建者 Xiaoyang Y

Nov 17, 2019

Great Course! Give some basic instructions.

創建者 Lindsay J

Jan 09, 2019

Good course, but would have preferred clearer step-by-step instruction on Tableau. Honestly, that was the weakest part. The instructor did not explain where he was clicking, moved around quickly, like a Tableau expert. I had to look it up online and in my personal "Practical Tableau" book.

創建者 Ponciano R

Mar 12, 2019

Good for an introductory course, needs more practice exercises.

創建者 Drew O

Feb 06, 2017

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.

創建者 Shubham A

Apr 27, 2018

Course is great but peer review is horrible. Clearly a professional is needed to review the work in the end. My marks were reduced because peer reviewers couldn't understand how to make visualization effective and show data without any bias.

創建者 Gail N

Mar 24, 2017

Content is excellent, support is not.

創建者 Deaglan D

Sep 02, 2017

This course starts out really strong, but around Design Best Practices, the Govind begins to sound drunk. He slurs, exaggerates, repeats himself, and takes longer than necessary to execute tasks. This is distracting and very disappointing from UC Davis and Coursera.

創建者 sebastian s v

Aug 06, 2017

I would like to have more additional material to read..i think the videos are not enougth

創建者 Corey G

Feb 06, 2017

The assignment for week 2 should have been the last assignment in this sequence and was not clearly explained or taught in the videos.

創建者 Todd T

Apr 17, 2017

Great course; only limited by the requirement for peers to review the assigned visualization to complete the course. Although I turned my assignment in well-ahead of the due date/time, I had to transfer to the following class because I could not get the required peer reviews (2) prior to the course closing, despite multiple requests in the discussion forum for assistance.

創建者 Dennis M

Jul 03, 2017

Nice overview of design best practices and some more basic usage of Tableau. However, my problem with the courses in this specialization is that the material is quickly becoming repetitive. Instead of the courses building on each other, they repeat prior material.

創建者 Carlos S

Mar 29, 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

創建者 Mark A

Mar 13, 2018

Would like more practical application of lessons in Tableau (vs almost entirely principles/theory), particularly with the guest instructor, who is very knowledgeable but only lectures. I got bored listening to lecture after lecture without doing anything or course directed application of what is taught.

創建者 Erin R

Jan 03, 2018

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.