Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的評價和反饋

4.5
stars
2,200 個評分
490 條評論

課程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

熱門審閱

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

篩選依據:

301 - Data Science Math Skills 的 325 個評論(共 482 個)

創建者 Paul M

Sep 17, 2017

Good refresher. Weeks 3 and 4 are much more difficult to follow than one and two. Part of this is due to the subject matter but also a change of teacher / and style makes it more difficult.

創建者 Heidi

Aug 03, 2017

Loved it! Started off easy but got a little tricky in the end with Bayes Theorem. Glad I know which data / math areas I need to brush up on for my job. Thanks, Duke University and Coursera!

創建者 Katesopon K

Jul 15, 2019

sometime the lecture is too easy to understand and after some week it goes too hard to understand even it not a hard thing but sometime the lecturer make it so hard so it can make confuse.

創建者 Anna-Kristina P

Feb 08, 2018

A great review of A level statistics which I had long since forgotten but suddenly found myself needing again. A really good balance of work through the weeks and at just the right level.

創建者 Stanislav V

Feb 11, 2018

Course is really good for beginner who wants to start career with data. Especially is possible understand everything by video companion which explain math skills in practice exercises.

創建者 Prishanga B

Jun 14, 2018

Could have a little more of theory on how to solve the problems. But otherwise a good understanding of the basics of the statistical and probability maths required for Data Analysis.

創建者 Swapnil s

Oct 02, 2017

Good content and non math student can also learn concepts taught very quickly. Good start towards data science course. Must have skills for non math students and scientists.

創建者 Ramyabala P

Oct 12, 2019

Good course to revise basic math concepts! Would have liked the probability module to have been a little more detailed. But on the whole i had a good learning experience.

創建者 Claudio C

Oct 19, 2018

Very useful to review some math basics that everybody forgets after school. Interesting the part on baesyan probability which I only knew on a game theory point of view

創建者 Marco S

Jun 03, 2018

Learn many thing and boosted my confidence on the math concept explained in the course. I would have appreciated some more in-depth explanation of the last week classes

創建者 Eugenio E C S

Mar 19, 2019

The first half it was great. After that I felt really confused with the probability examples and the exercises was really tricky. Besides of that, it's a good course.

創建者 VENKATESWARLU M

Oct 12, 2017

Its nice course to brush up basic maths. It would be helpful if you can add more topics which are required to complete data science like matrices and other concepts

創建者 Mohammed F M I

May 08, 2018

It seemed the last week course was a bit rushed and could have been extended into few more classes. Apart from this the exercises and practice quiz were very good.

創建者 Mariya O G

Feb 22, 2018

It was interesting and simplified which made it more understandable except for the last classes in week 4 which didn't have enough examples for clarity. Thank you.

創建者 Alan C V

Sep 16, 2019

The second part was difficult for me because was short on examples and not as dynamic as the first two weeks. But overall I would say that was a nice beginning

創建者 E. R " A

Jul 24, 2019

Another course on how to apply Bayes-Miller to something other than coin flips and card drawings is needed. The transition to real-world problems is the issue.

創建者 Jimmy

May 03, 2017

the very last week was tough

beginner of data science will not understand. that probability things is really hard to understand without some basic illustration.

創建者 Jeremiah M D

Apr 01, 2018

Pretty decent. I could've used some clearer explanations on the statistics stuff, but that's likely due to the fact that I've had no previous exposure to it.

創建者 Diana M

Jan 11, 2018

Easy to understand. Very good for beginner's. Handwriting was a little tough at times, but explained well by the instructors so it didn't hinder learning

創建者 Peter C

Jun 10, 2018

Actually I don't know well whether these contents should be earned by video classes. But, the explanations and the passion of the instructor were great.

創建者 Nirupam S

Sep 17, 2017

The course is good for beginners. Although, more emphasis could have been placed on industrial examples but still the course is a great start for anyone

創建者 Carlos V

Feb 18, 2019

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

r

e

s

o

u

r

c

e

t

o

r

e

f

r

e

s

h

t

h

I

n

g

s

w

e

l

e

a

r

n

e

d

in the past and also asses some voids in our knowledge of calculus and probability. Thanks!!!!

創建者 Hauwa A

Oct 24, 2017

Week 4 gets confusing as more examples could help explain concepts. Otherwise overall course is great for basic math skills for Data Science

創建者 Gary H

Jun 04, 2018

Introduction to some basic mathematical terms. Conducted in an easy-understand way. Not very clear explanation in the part of probabilities.

創建者 Phoebe ( Z

Feb 06, 2018

the material could be a little more challenging. If more vector/matrix material is introduced would be more helpful to the data scientists