Chevron Left
返回到 Combinatorics and Probability

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Combinatorics and Probability 的評價和反饋

4.6
797 個評分

課程概述

Counting is one of the basic mathematically related tasks we encounter on a day to day basis. The main question here is the following. If we need to count something, can we do anything better than just counting all objects one by one? Do we need to create a list of all phone numbers to ensure that there are enough phone numbers for everyone? Is there a way to tell that our algorithm will run in a reasonable time before implementing and actually running it? All these questions are addressed by a mathematical field called Combinatorics. In this online course we discuss most standard combinatorial settings that can help to answer questions of this type. We will especially concentrate on developing the ability to distinguish these settings in real life and algorithmic problems. This will help the learner to actually implement new knowledge. Apart from that we will discuss recursive technique for counting that is important for algorithmic implementations. One of the main ‘consumers’ of Combinatorics is Probability Theory. This area is connected with numerous sides of life, on one hand being an important concept in everyday life and on the other hand being an indispensable tool in such modern and important fields as Statistics and Machine Learning. In this course we will concentrate on providing the working knowledge of basics of probability and a good intuition in this area. The practice shows that such an intuition is not easy to develop. In the end of the course we will create a program that successfully plays a tricky and very counterintuitive dice game. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

熱門審閱

SP

2021年2月26日

Special thanks to Prof. Vladimir Podolskii and Prof. Alexander S. Kulikov for their amazing explanations and diligent visuals of the concepts as well as problem sets. You Rock!

KB

2019年12月25日

Great course, lots of good info, not too long. Some of the coding assignments and quizzes are challenging, but the staff respond very quickly to questions in the forums.

篩選依據:

26 - Combinatorics and Probability 的 50 個評論(共 178 個)

創建者 Alvee N A

2020年6月1日

I really loved this course. One suggestion would be to add some links to external resources for students to explore since learning from various sources is more likely to help them build a better intuition.

創建者 Alexey S

2019年9月21日

Thank you for your course. The content was engaging, teachers were great. I was doing last exercise for long 5 hours to realize there was a simple mistake in my code, pure pleasure, excellent

創建者 Joseph G N

2019年4月28日

This course is a nice introduction to probability and give good ideas to make proof of combinatorics (the week 2 was the best), all of this give it in a nice an intuitive way.

創建者 Deleted A

2020年6月23日

Some of the concepts proved difficult on initial inspection but the videos made concepts clear and the quizzes ensure I understood the concept before moving on.

創建者 Ziad B

2018年10月13日

I really enjoyed taking this course. The teaching was pretty good and some of the quiz questions will challenge you if you haven't done Combinatorics before.

創建者 SUPAKORN S

2020年7月17日

Great lessons, great instructors, literacy slides, this course has everything. I'm so proud to complete two out of five courses in this specialization!

創建者 Kaustubh F

2020年5月29日

Amazing course, gave me geometrical intuitions some times that made understanding a whole lot easier. The explanation was quite clear.

創建者 James C

2020年9月2日

Difficult topics discussed in easy to understand ways and uses fun and interesting problems/exercises to test your understanding.

創建者 Joseph D

2018年2月11日

informative material presented clearly and simply. I had studied bayes before and it was nice to get a concise review.

創建者 Farhan F A

2020年4月27日

I am grateful to the teachers for such an amazing journey throughout the courses. Especially the puzzles designed.

創建者 Peter N

2019年4月6日

Fantastic course! Really like Vladimir Podolskii's explanations and sense of humor. Great dice game at the end!

創建者 ANIRUDH K

2020年8月16日

Great course, I really enjoyed it. Concepts becomes more clear if you have already studied combinatorics.

創建者 Andrew M

2017年11月11日

A great course that is well organized. I love Professor Alexander Shen, because he makes me happy.

創建者 Tyler E

2020年7月11日

I'm loving the discreet math in cs specialization and solving these problems is very rewarding!!!

創建者 Harish K T

2019年9月15日

If you really want to have a greater grasp over mathematics, don't miss this course.

創建者 Karan S

2019年9月1日

The explanations with examples and simulations make the concepts crystal clear.

創建者 Aviral B

2020年5月6日

This course is aptly difficult as it should be

創建者 M. A

2020年7月27日

The course is fine, but there are some problems. First, the instructors' explanations in the video sometimes inaudible. One should be careful when watching the lecture video. Second, there are some grammatical mistakes, particularly in the last week (Week 6). As far as I know, die is singular and dice is plural. There is no word "dices", yet one of the instructors uses this terminology. Third, there are some notational differences in this course to those normally used in probability theory. I don't know why the instructors use the lowercase variables f and g (instead of the standards X and Y) to denote random variables. And finally, some of the proofs are not rigorously explained. I advise whoever taking this class to refer to any standard textbook in combinatorics and probability theory. Nevertheless, despite all these problems, this course combines mathematical thinking and programming in an interesting setting. Perhaps, this is how mathematics is delivered in Russia, which is renown for its competitive programming achievements.

創建者 Angelo F

2020年12月6日

Some exercises are challenging, but I think the course is not well organized. If you're newbie to probability, it's not the course for you, because it's not comprehensive. If you had already studied probability, like me, this course allows you to review some concepts, but not all.

If I'd take a course of combinatorics and probability I'd rather choose the MIT Course from Edx, if it were available. I've watched some classes as an audit and it's far better.

創建者 Luis M V F

2019年12月29日

This is course is informative, but the instructors in general are terrible. I do not like too much the approach the follow, and I cannot see a good mathematical background. In addition, some explanations are very vague. The contents of the course are great, but I strongly recommend reviewing materials by yourself if you really want to learn.

創建者 Ghali L H

2020年9月18日

The final project's guide is not good.

More assistance should be required from the instructors.

創建者 Shubham C

2020年7月30日

Teaching style may not suit to you. First take audit course for try.

創建者 Konstantin K

2017年12月4日

It is better to read slides and do not watch the videos

創建者 Jithin S

2020年10月18日

The french professor is not great at explaing

創建者 Kunle O

2022年3月3日

Overall the course was fine, but there were MANY topics that they didn't bother explaining, yet the quized you on anyway. They need to do a better job of explaning the solutions to some of the problems. It was very frustrating at times to have no idea what they were talking about.

Separately, this wasn't a problem for me because I know Python, but the final quiz is all programming. That sucks for anyone who doesn't know Python and took this course for the math. I'm writing this because I'm sure there are many people who haven't been able to finish the course due to Python and haven't got a chance to express their frustration. The Week 6 discussion forum is full of people who are pissed off.