Chevron Left
返回到 使用Bioconductor分析基因组科学数据

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 使用Bioconductor分析基因组科学数据 的評價和反饋

3.9
224 個評分
40 條評論

課程概述

Learn to use tools from the Bioconductor project to perform analysis of genomic data. This is the fifth course in the Genomic Big Data Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

熱門審閱

GK

Aug 28, 2019

Before you can run, you must learn to walk.\n\nKasper's well paced tutorials will give you confidence using the tools you need for genomic study.

MA

Mar 12, 2016

Excellent introduction to Bioconductor. Thanks to the team. However, absence of inputs from TA or Instructor was felt in the discussion.

篩選依據:

1 - 使用Bioconductor分析基因组科学数据 的 25 個評論(共 39 個)

創建者 Kasper T K

Jan 22, 2018

Great subject, yet a very difficult field to teach, and unfortunately, this course doesn't do it well enough.

The course is sloppy compared to all the other great courses on the Genomic Data Science Specialization.

Since Use of R and Bioconductor can be tricky, it would be nice if better examples were much more elaborated.

The Quizzes have a lot of questions, which are too difficult to answers, generally because the revolve around using 10% of the introduced material to do 90% unexplained analysis. You would need a lot prior knowledge to Bioconductor packages, to be able to answer and even sometimes understand many of the given questions.

Quite a shame!

創建者 Miglė P

Mar 13, 2016

Very frustrating and disappointing experience. The lectures were hard to follow on many levels:

1) The enunciation was unclear and subtitles were often of-the-point, plus they covered-up the code lines that were being discussed.

2) The lecturer often failed to explain logical constructs that were being used, despite the fact that the course should have been understandable with no R cran/Bioconductor experience.

3) The method arguments were either not explained, or very vaguely mentioned, which means applying them to new situations was unnecessarily complicated.

4) No feedback at all was offered from course organisers/reps to anyone, even after complains in discussion forum about quiz questions.

5) No feedback for solving the questions/correct answers even after the deadline.

6) Quiz questions required methods and logical constructs that were not explained/used/mentioned in the lectures. One quiz lacked background information of what data needed to be used (the info was available in the previous version of the course). Some quiz questions were biologically inaccurate i.e. confusing genes/transcripts/exons.

創建者 Michael R D

Mar 25, 2017

Lots of good data. Really a walk through of coding without too much theory. Would prefer a little more theory. Would have helped in completing the course and capstone. Ended up having to take Eric Lander Intro to Bio course on edx to really understand what I had done. In particular, a better explanation of what is going on at a basic with methylation marks and how the Epigenome Map was constructed.

創建者 Kanvar K

Apr 03, 2019

Extremely complicated, not for beginners!

創建者 Luis F R C

Apr 11, 2016

There is not support in the forum

創建者 Graziano P

May 13, 2018

Lectures are poorly understandable and the code examples are not explained in their meaning. Also some questions of the final quizes are difficult to understand. All the lectures and the quizes should have be constructed on a simpler use case

創建者 Enrique E S C

Jun 13, 2019

So practical! I learned a lot about specific and useful cases. It is true that I have to learn a lot yet but with this background, I will get used to any code soon.

創建者 Mohammad Z A

Mar 12, 2016

Excellent introduction to Bioconductor. Thanks to the team. However, absence of inputs from TA or Instructor was felt in the discussion.

創建者 Arpan K B

Apr 12, 2018

Amazing course, motivated me to use bio conductor for descriptive seq studies of DNA.

創建者 MAURICIO D A M

Dec 13, 2016

The course is hard and needs previous knowledge of R. The time for for doing the "quizes" are not long. On the other hand, the questions resemble real world bioinformatics problems. The real inconvenience with this course is that the Forum does not work. Because not all that is questioned in the "quizes" are thought in the classes. So a help from the Forum is a real need for this course to work smoothly.

創建者 Amy G

Mar 30, 2019

The content is relevant and presented well, though slightly out of date. It would be very helpful to update this course. Note that the discussion forums haven't been tended for years so they are not at all helpful and some code is deprecated without warning.

創建者 Ramesh G

Mar 09, 2019

Great Introductory course for sequence analyses using Bioconductor. However, the quizzes badly require more explanation. An update to the course to introduce currently more relevant packages and analysis methods would add more value.

創建者 Hans W

Dec 24, 2019

Interesting course! Unfortunately little explanation on why we are doing the analysis steps from a biological perspective. Some quiz answers seem outdated. Additionally the lecturers don't seem to react on the forum. Messages in the forum are pretty old as well, the course seems to be abandoned.

創建者 Xing Y

Nov 07, 2018

Lots of knowledge but not systematic. Hard to follow for R beginners and there should have been quiz in lectures (like the "Algorithm for DNA sequencing" course). A lot of knowledge used in the homework was not mentioned/addressed in the lectures.

創建者 Sofya K

Mar 13, 2016

Discussions in this course are voiceless and dead and the instructor never appears in discussions. I couldn't understand anything from video lectures: cannot understand enunciation not enough detailed, lack of examples related to the assignments. So the only source was repository http://kasperdanielhansen.github.io/genbioconductor/ with html files. And a lot of searching through bioconductor forums.

I liked the relevance of quiz questions to real life genomic questions, but all quiz questions were outstandingly difficult, because of both lack of examples in lectures and errors in some packages inside bioconductor.

Overall I expected much more from this course and I cannot recommend it to anyone.

創建者 Valdir B J

May 11, 2018

Confusing, not straight forward, transcription is all wrong.

創建者 Gabriel M

Apr 29, 2016

I struggled so hard! No way near the same level as the other courses.

Came from Computer science background and felt that I missed so many terms and concepts that were required for this course

創建者 Yang Y

Aug 18, 2016

the class gave me nothing. nobody wan's to waste tons of hours to learn nothing. so I personally think this course is on of the worst classes among the Coursera.

創建者 Geoffrey K

Aug 28, 2019

Before you can run, you must learn to walk.

Kasper's well paced tutorials will give you confidence using the tools you need for genomic study.

創建者 Chunyu Z

Feb 10, 2016

I learned a lot from this class and the instructor is good.

創建者 王灿

Dec 16, 2016

It is a good start for people who study epigenomics!

創建者 Oliver S

Aug 26, 2018

The lessons are fairly easy to follow - although the transcript needs re-writing so that the correct words are identified to the speech. I spent a lot of time trying to decipher one or two key words.

The quizzes seemed to test on concepts not yet taught.. perhaps familiar to other Bioinformaticians.. so they were quite tough and required a lot of time to finish.

創建者 sandeep s

Dec 05, 2016

The course is tough and needs lots of practice and time to handle the stuff explained in this course. In my opinion the stuff should be split into 2 courses (partA and partB) with detailed explanation of every covered topic.

創建者 Alberto T

Jan 30, 2016

Four stars because the content is good. Not five stars because the english is not so good and for a non-english expert it can be difficult to understand, and the subtitle contains quite often errors.

創建者 Ji-Young K

Aug 31, 2016

I think it is a good class overall but the pace is fast and the resources that can help you is lacking. This will be good for someone who already kind of understands bioconductor.