Chevron Left
返回到 Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

學生對 斯坦福大学 提供的 Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms 的評價和反饋

4.8
stars
3,329 個評分
592 條評論

課程概述

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

熱門審閱

KS

Sep 14, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

FR

Mar 16, 2017

Very good course in algorithms. I bought the book to help me understand but the lectures make it way easier and thus much more fun to understand the analysis. Looking forward to complete the spec

篩選依據:

551 - Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms 的 573 個評論(共 573 個)

創建者 张之晗(ZhiHan Z

Aug 27, 2017

so challenging

創建者 Nguyen K T

Jun 29, 2019

very hard

創建者 Prachi M

Jun 25, 2017

Excellent

創建者 E.Naveen K

Nov 30, 2016

Great

創建者 Bianca D

Jan 26, 2019

Took me way more than 7 hours/week to go through course materials and complete the problem sets and programming assignments. Closer to 10. In general the estimates for how much time each assignment takes is way off (often claiming on the order of minutes, when the reality is for most students (myself included) it is likely on the order of hours).

That said, the programming assignments were challenging and fun (especially trying to do them in JavaScript), and I feel much more comfortable with recursion and Big-Oh.

The forums for the current session are not very active, but there are a lot of old posts from past offerings of the course, and I found that most of the time others had similar questions to me.

The textbook was helpful, but it pretty much has the same content as the lectures with maybe some extra practice and challenge problems. Unfortunately not all solutions to those problems are available, which can be very frustrating (I noticed at least one practice problem with no solution was used on the final exam, so that’s probably why...).

This course is a little more academic than practical in my opinion as a software engineer, but you have to start somewhere.

創建者 TAI C W

Jan 01, 2020

The idea and the content are excellent in terms of mathematic analysis. I would recommend people who want to do software engineering or computer science to pick up this course. However, I couldn't give stars higher than three because the videos aren't cut well; After week 2, a lot of written explanations in the video don't follow the audio; i.e., The teacher speaks faster than his writing. That is extremely confusing, and I have to go back to the lecture and read the subtitles back and forth a lot of times, to fully absorb the ideas. Otherwise, it's an outstanding lesson, and I recommend students to download the optional textbooks to get a better understanding.

創建者 Peter C

Feb 12, 2017

I was glad to get exposure to famous algorithms through this class, but I don't feel like I really developed an intuition for reasoning about their runtime. The class was challenging, but mostly for the wrong reasons. I spent more time and energy pouring over the answers to tricky quizzes and having to implement algorithms exactly as described in the lecture notes rather than really truly learning. It also took me much longer than the 4-8 hours per week advertised to complete each week.

創建者 asem a

Oct 10, 2019

the course is great at the level of information , but has some issues:

1 - The sound of videos and instructor is not good.

2 - Some times the lectures were boring and not entertaining at all .

3 - you have to do an extra extra extra work to understand the related materials due to bad illustration during the course .

4 - if your math background is not ok or outdated don't rely on the course materials or the instructor illustration because they are not good

創建者 Alex P

Nov 08, 2016

It would be nice to see more examples especially were we have too many formulas. I still confused with probability.

Also hadwritting isnt really helping. I am most of the time decoding scripts. In addition he is reading the formula at one moment and in around 3-4 seconds it appears on the screen. So I kind of listening him while trying to read what is happening on the screen. horrible experience.

創建者 Riqiang W

Jan 17, 2018

This is not very beginner-friendly course, and what made it worse is that all the videos are out of sync (I don't know why this problem has not been addressed for 5 years), and the instructor's speaking manner is not easy to follow for a foreigner. Also a lot of the subtitles are just wrong. Otherwise a great course, if you keep on it you can learn a lot.

創建者 伊洛

Dec 23, 2017

I do believe that feedbacks are very important during the learning section. Without feedbacks I would not understand whether I am doing ok or not. The Quiz and Homework would not handout the answer key and explanation after I have done. How am I suppose to be successful with the class if I don't understand which part I should strengthen.

創建者 Sheng B

Jan 28, 2019

This is a good course. I recommend everyone to take it. There are many details useful for you to learn. But it is not friendly. The words the professor used are not easy to follow for a non-native English, the way the exercises are designed is not reasonable. It could have been better.

創建者 Mike L

May 09, 2017

The professor is very good. However, pictures and graphics mean a thousand words. These lectures rely too much on words. It makes it how to visualize the concepts. Hope to see more pictures. Animation will be the best.

創建者 Joern K

Aug 09, 2018

Seems a bit dated, videos are reused from older courses and sometimes don't fit well together anymore. Content is great and lots of fun to work through.

創建者 Hardik A

Dec 23, 2018

Great course theory wise, but the programming problem is unrelated and gives too little practice

創建者 Kamil K

Oct 05, 2017

Not practical enough, too academical approach for me.

創建者 Gangadharan V

Jun 04, 2017

Good course

創建者 Ian P

Jun 27, 2018

He's a personable instructor, but I think there are too few examples, the course is too devoid of interesting history, and the language and assignments can be unnecessarily obtuse. I'll happily work through a challenging course, but it feels like a waste of time if most of your effort is spent translating.

創建者 Ahmad K

Dec 20, 2017

The content is good and the instructor is good. On the other hand the fact that you cannot submit assignments or problem sets without purchasing the course is quite annoying. On all other courses which I have done without purchasing, you were able to do the full course which includes the problem sets etc.

創建者 Zengjia Y

Nov 02, 2019

Too theoretical, a bit too far apart from industry.

創建者 Farrukh M

Jan 01, 2019

Very basic. Only good for people without CS degree.

創建者 Pablo S

Dec 31, 2019

Very theoretical and lacking of resources. The classes are handwritten, showing very little effort and the forums are dead.

創建者 abusaleh i

Mar 14, 2019

Just mere waste of time and money. Only suitable for Stanford student