Chevron Left
返回到 Advanced R Programming

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Advanced R Programming 的評價和反饋

4.3
522 個評分
128 條評論

課程概述

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

熱門審閱

MS
2020年2月11日

Brilliant course. Loved Week 4 for OOP. This was really new for me and would love to have been able to see its application in real world examples to better cement the concepts.

FZ
2017年6月6日

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

篩選依據:

101 - Advanced R Programming 的 124 個評論(共 124 個)

創建者 Chao G

2019年5月24日

The quality and the difficulty of this course is really good. It would even be better if more advanced topics are covered in details (e.g. AST, substitute function). However, the peer review assignment could be a pain since sometimes you do not get helpful feedback. Occasionally there are not even enough students to grade your assignment.

創建者 Rebecca G

2017年7月23日

This course was not great. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluation, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. The mentors very occasionally participated, the authors never. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail.

創建者 Min P

2020年6月13日

This feels like self-study rather than being taught.

Despite the reading material is self-contained and well-organized, peer-graded assignment doesn't look good, though.

Getting attention for it to be reviewed is a hassle.

創建者 Raw N

2017年3月30日

WIsh there were more assignments. The final project was the only assignment in the course. Object-oriented programming in R requires more than a single assignment to grasp- even at a superficial level.

創建者 Pranav G G

2017年3月20日

To complete this course you have to go back and forth for the basic. Also the final assignment is bit ambiguous, more clarity is required.

創建者 savinay s

2018年5月29日

It is a very good course but many a times the concepts which are used in assignments are not even taught properly in the course.

創建者 Amir H V

2018年1月9日

In comparison with the first course, it was not so useful. The main reason in my mind is that there was no video.

創建者 Landry N E

2018年8月20日

The style of these courses is not engaging. This is self study, similar to getting a book and reading.

創建者 Justin S

2020年11月30日

The project object oriented programming was uninspired to say the least. Creating a special class for "Longitudinal Data" seems to me a pointless exercise since a simple dataframe with a column named "time" or something to that affect would suffice. Also, regarding the benchmarking portion of the project, the description of the file factorial_code.R to be submitted was obviously copy/pasted from the OOP portion of the project as it nonsensically refers to "Longitudinal Data". It's easy to spot the error, but you really need the correct text in order to fully understand what you're supposed to be submitting. I submitted blindly and got credit.

The textbook is useful and worth it for $10, but has a lot of typos.

創建者 Nynke N

2020年8月29日

I found this course a bit disappointing. There wasn't much content, no lectures or anything, it was just the book copy-pasted into a course. The final assignment was rather vague, and the course materials didn't prepare you quite enough for it. The peer grading was frustrating and took multiple days of waiting. This is especially annoying in a course where the payment is on a monthly basis: waiting for your grade might mean you have to pay for another month of subscription. I'm cancelling the specialisation and continuing on my own after this.

創建者 Alvaro P R

2017年4月30日

This courses touches many interesing aspects about R programming but I did not like the structure , it does not seem to me that it adequates its difficulty coming from "The R programming enviornment".

Also I miss some swirl lessons for many of the readings from the book. There are not too many help from the mentors and the peer assigment in week 4 took me too much time and had to consult a lot of external resources. Readings in general are OK but too simple.

I have learnt many things but

創建者 Arthur G

2017年6月20日

The topics are good, but very little practice of creating classes until the final quiz, which expects you to understand it completely without having done any practice.

創建者 James M

2017年12月12日

The Object oriented programming section did not provide an adequate amount of support for the assignment, compared to any of the other parts of the Course.

創建者 savvas s

2017年8月28日

just links to a webpage... no support from the mentors no support form coursera... you can use your money more wisely..

創建者 Jessica K

2019年4月3日

A bit too tough with not good enough teaching to truly understand the course

創建者 Mithesh R

2019年9月14日

difference was observed in final test and study material.

創建者 Randall M

2019年2月28日

"Advanced" is not really accurate. "Intermediate" is a better description. I would have given 4 stars for content alone. The faux testing and peer grading at scale doesn't work well enough, so the certificate is not worth paying for. If you need a credential, enroll in real school. If you need a decent intro to intermediate programming topics in R, this is pretty good. The text for the course is excellent and worth purchasing. The programming exercises via swirl() fail at times, and peer grading as an assessment approach is not viable at scale.

創建者 Julian C

2021年1月13日

If you're relatively new to R coding and coming straight from the first course (R Programming Environment), prepare to expect the same thing... Very easy activities and a lot of reading, and then an incredibly difficult final assignment which only a small portion of the reading actually prepares you for. Researching the methods/code necessary to do it is possible do get it done but I honestly feel that I haven't actually learnt how to do it... I've done it once and if you ask me to do something similar again, I'll struggle, again.

Enjoy

創建者 Amanotes V C L 3 F P S B 2 U V K P B T H V T I 0

2017年5月25日

Since this course, the material seems to be not thorough. In fact, it is quite "too much" on talking, but lack of examples of codes and real problem solves. That makes the contents very abstract, and learners could be very confused when doing the assignments.

創建者 Anih j

2019年8月3日

Very useless. It is the same as downloading one book and reading it in a day. No videos, no guidance, no coordination. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, I repeat. I reject taking this course.

創建者 Maurizio C

2017年10月12日

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult.

The didactic material is not compelling.

Not recommended.

創建者 Christopher M P

2020年2月10日

Final assignment may not be reviewed for weeks. If you go on to capstone, issue could extent into months. Expect to use many external resources.

創建者 Yuke L

2020年3月14日

I could never submit my grade for the quiz. Waste me three days getting nothing from this class

創建者 David R

2019年2月3日

Swirl is confusing and it is too complicated to submit my work