Chevron Left
返回到 SQL for Data Science

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 SQL for Data Science 的評價和反饋

4.6
4,511 個評分
1,199 條評論

課程概述

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

熱門審閱

JP

Apr 06, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

FP

May 09, 2020

By taking the course you can learn how to use the principal commands for database queries using SQL and the practice exams help your to develop the ability to perform the theoretical knowledge

篩選依據:

876 - SQL for Data Science 的 900 個評論(共 1,200 個)

創建者 Shahryar S

Feb 11, 2020

It was a great experience to have a course. It was my first ever course as Online. I am thinking that the journey has started and it will never end. I also have selected the next course that I will complete in the next.

創建者 ANUBHAV C

May 08, 2020

I believe this course focused entirely on retrieving data and no emphasis was given on creating or modifying tables. If these topics would have been included then it can come out as a complete package for learning SQL

創建者 Naman K

Mar 26, 2019

This is a great course for beginners. One of the things which can be improved is to have more practice questions to use all the concepts introduced in the lectures. For example: I did not get a lot of chance to create

創建者 FUAD A J

Nov 19, 2019

I have prior knowledge on SQL as a programmer. However after studying this course I got a another flavor of SQL from the Data Science point of view. I loved this course and the trainer as well. Thank you coursera.

創建者 Sim Y X S

Jun 17, 2019

Some examples in the later part of the course is a bit difficult to understand for those with limited programming background. Few broken down, step by step examples of complex queries will be highly appreciated.

創建者 Jiawei L

Sep 24, 2019

The first two modules are okay and easy to understand, but the last two modules are little bit confusing, and from my perspective, the instructor is simply reading the script rather than teaching a lesson.

創建者 Naomi N

Jun 14, 2019

The course content itself was awesome! Be ready for some technical glitches though. As long as you pay close attention to the forum, you should be fine. Overall, I would definitely recommend this course.

創建者 Aaron H

Mar 12, 2019

Although several concepts are not explained very clearly and a number of assessment questions are unclearly worded, this course is otherwise an excellent introduction to understanding and applying SQL.

創建者 Samuel M

Mar 16, 2020

Good course for beginners.

- classes are fine

- quizzes evaluate quite well your understanding I think

- the final assessment contains plenty of VERY ambiguous questions and I think it should be reworked

創建者 Lenard E O

Sep 12, 2018

Did not need to be a peer review assessment, most of the tests lacked creativity and could be automated. The peer review component should just apply to the creative components that can be expanded.

創建者 Leonor G

Apr 10, 2018

Great course for beginners, very clear and instructor share useful tips. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because I think there could be more material related to date and time functions.

創建者 Bruno G

Nov 11, 2019

Videos are a bit lengthy course could be shorter by 10-20% from a time perspective with the content staying the same. Overall good course for anyone that need to learn or to refresh their skills.

創建者 Edmund D

Jun 26, 2019

Nice that it doesn't expect us to know SQL and programming well. But not nearly enough exercises to understand how to do the queries well. I am feeling lost on the practice tests especially.

創建者 Aditya S

May 14, 2020

A well-structured course for those who are eager to gain knowledge about SQL.

The activity, test, and the mentor are very good and the best part is they showcase a bit of industry knowledge.

創建者 Ana G G

May 14, 2020

Great course, with well explained notion, well documented. The only thing I could add is that some exercises could be updated. Creates confusion when trying to solve.

Great presentation.

創建者 Raymond M

Jun 02, 2018

great beginner class and also teaches critical logic thinking, which is what most business want out of Analysis type of jobs or Data Science in general, something useful and actionable.

創建者 Patrick H

May 20, 2020

There were a handful of errors in the video lecture's text on screen and lecturing. Some parts were hard to follow because of that. Otherwise the assignments and material was helpful!

創建者 Ishwari L

Mar 26, 2018

Great course work! Loved the pace of the course and the examples. The instructors speech was pleasing and easy to understand. Would have loved more difficult SQL queries for practice.

創建者 amr a a e

Oct 26, 2018

Thank you to everyone who is in charge of this course. But the training platform is not good and does not support all orders sql and there must be training after each lesson. Thanks

創建者 Juan M F B

Jun 21, 2019

Very good explanations during the course, but we were working with data that weren't making sense, like texts data types.

A lot of records without real foreign key in their tables.

創建者 Kirstin L

May 27, 2020

Actual course was interesting and engaging. The final assignment had questions that were not written with enough detail. I was also offended by language used by a reviewer.

創建者 Jack B

May 12, 2020

Great course. Helps to learn the fundamentals but there are not enough opportunities to really practice the coding aspect, which is what I wanted to get out of the course.

創建者 Daniel C

Aug 15, 2019

Great course for SQL, still pretty beginner level, but would recommend some previous SQL experience here as the section on joins and sub-queries is a little challenging.

創建者 Aniko F

Mar 05, 2018

Very nice training videos. The assessment in the end was a bit far from the training but maybe it is also the question of knowing the data and practice of assessments.

創建者 PP

Feb 02, 2018

Video's were very helpful and well organised. The end assignment however was badly phrased and overall confusing. Therefore it took way longer than the stated 2 hours.