Chevron Left
返回到 灵魂信仰:起因与结果 - 第 2 单元:信仰系统

學生對 新泽西州立罗格斯大学 提供的 灵魂信仰:起因与结果 - 第 2 单元:信仰系统 的評價和反饋

4.6
164 個評分
40 條評論

課程概述

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 2....

熱門審閱

MM
2016年6月21日

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

GC
2015年10月22日

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!\n\nReally good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

篩選依據:

1 - 灵魂信仰:起因与结果 - 第 2 单元:信仰系统 的 25 個評論(共 40 個)

創建者 Richard L

2017年6月19日

I am unable to complete this course as I did not receive enough peer reviews on the final assignment. I know I was the first student to submit this assignment as there were no others to peer review. When they became available I reviewed more than required as it was apparent student enrolments were low. Coursera's only response to what is a chronic problem is pathetic. It says you should enrol again and hope that in a few years you might be able to complete a unit. It should instead require the institution which offers a course to ensure its tutors clear any backlog (which would not be time consuming as the issue is caused by low enrolments).

創建者 Daryl R

2015年11月2日

This course was well assembled, presented and interesting. Regardless of your beliefs or lack of there is food for thought for everyone. The instructors and guest speakers did an excellent job. This course has a lot to offer and finally addresses things many people just won't or don't talk about but should.

Perhaps in understanding one another in a educational way we can learn to live together if nothing else.

Among my highest recommendations.

創建者 Kimberly K

2015年11月28日

This three unit course on Soul Beliefs I have found to be very interesting and it is something that connects to one's everyday life and is thought-provoking in that regard. It is also a very unique opportunity, you won't find this course elsewhere. Anyone who has worked and enjoyed unit 1 will certainly want to carry on with the subsequent courses.

創建者 Omar C

2017年8月24日

Great experience! This is a unique course, I always have been interested in the relation between psychology and religion and, I never believed it will be molded in an academical way with this mastery. I already enroled in the last unit!

Don't miss it, is a great chance to deeper your knowledge in this exciting subject.

創建者 Ramnath S K

2021年1月11日

Exceptionally insightful course which touches upon beliefs and traditions and questions the rationale behind these. This course questions our established time honored beliefs and analyses these in a very rational way without raising one's hackles. I would love to do it again.

創建者 Jeanne C

2018年4月4日

Excellent course. Congratulations to the team that put this material together! You have answered questions and addressed issues which have been on my mind for a long, long time. I will recommend this course to everyone that I know.

創建者 Tarey L K

2015年10月19日

This class was both informative and enjoyable. The two professors made their lectures interesting and thought provoking and the guest lecturers were an absolute delight. I highly recommend this course series to one and all.

創建者 Mark M

2016年6月22日

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

創建者 Gabriela C

2015年10月23日

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!

Really good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

創建者 Alaa H

2019年12月20日

A unique course that combines science, religion, psychology, and history for the purpose of understanding human nature and the human mind. Thanks for the valuable course.

創建者 Nobuko S

2021年3月13日

Thought provoking with lots of concrete scientific evidence to support the topic. Enjoyed the class and assigned readings very much.

創建者 John M

2015年11月9日

The professorsoffer science and facts; the superstitious offer dogma.

創建者 Bruce B

2016年12月22日

Thoughtful, multi-disciplinary course.. Bravo for the effort.

創建者 Alejandro P

2015年8月16日

Interesting contents, and good presentation.

創建者 Heidrun S

2016年8月7日

great subject and even greater professors!

創建者 Andrea H

2015年12月27日

very enlightling and also very important!

創建者 Susan H

2019年4月17日

Always enjoy learning from Prof. Ogilvy

創建者 Sharon D

2015年10月15日

Very thought provoking. Great class.

創建者 Manuel F B B

2017年8月29日

I think it is very interesting.

創建者 Bart S

2016年9月8日

great class, please repeat it

創建者 Hilary A

2016年1月11日

Loved it …..thank you.

創建者 Winston A W

2021年2月2日

Excellent, thank you.

創建者 Mohamed S E

2018年2月13日

Amazing, must have

創建者 Emil

2018年11月11日

Very nice course.

創建者 Puneet K

2015年10月3日

Great experience