Chevron Left
返回到 Development of Real-Time Systems

學生對 EIT 数字 提供的 Development of Real-Time Systems 的評價和反饋

4.5
338 個評分
77 個審閱

課程概述

This course is intended for the Master's student and computer engineer who likes practical programming and problem solving! After completing this course, you will have the knowledge to plan and set-up a real-time system both on paper and in practice. The course centers around the problem of achieving timing correctness in embedded systems, which means to guarantee that the system reacts within the real-time requirements. Examples of such systems include airbags, emergency breaks, avionics, and also multi-media systems like video playback and QoS in web servers. The course teaches how to plan real-time systems in theory using established mathematical proofs and how to implement them in practice by using the most common scheduling methods. We also learn and how to program the system in the C language using the FreeRTOS real-time kernel. Finally we have a look at the future of real-time systems namely multi-core real-time systems! This course focus on the learn-by-doing approach with many examples and real-world programming assignments. We have 5 modules, each with a gentle graded quiz in the end and one peer reviewed programming assignment. In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform The course is actually quite fun! -Simon Holmbacka / Åbo Akademi University Check out our whole curriculum: https://research.it.abo.fi/...

熱門審閱

LP

Jul 12, 2017

Real-Time systems are very demanded nowadays. Excellent course to review some aspects in this field or to learn everything from the beginning.

GT

Apr 23, 2018

I feel having in depth analysis on various scheduling algorithms would be helpful. I have learnt many things from this course.

篩選依據:

51 - Development of Real-Time Systems 的 75 個評論(共 76 個)

創建者 Karol P

Jan 28, 2019

If you don't know how to start with RTOS, this course will be OK for you. I think it was overly theoretical and I wish there were more "real-life" programming assignments/lectures. Also adding "model" responses after you send out your work would be beneficial. Despite those drawbacks, I still recommend it.

創建者 soheir

Nov 23, 2018

I recommend this course to developers who want to get understanding about RTOS and work with it .. the videos is so short that you can get boring like other courses and the assigments are really hlpfull.

thanks so much to EIT Digital online university

and special thanks to Dr. Simon who gave a brief explaination to the topics

創建者 Harshita T

Oct 28, 2018

Too goooood!!

創建者 Werner O F S

Sep 18, 2017

Great course, sometimes hard to follow for newbies. Some instructions are a bit ambiguous or unclear.

創建者 Emmanuel D

Dec 05, 2017

Strongly focused on the scheduling methods. Good introduction to freertos. I think it could be really helpful to have written notes along with the videos. I know it is a lot work to prepare this kind of document for a MOOC, but it would be a big benefit.

創建者 Roger.Qea

Aug 14, 2017

It would be helpful if there are PDF slides which summarize all knowledge to download.

創建者 Mahesh K

Dec 05, 2016

It is a very good course for embedded system enthusiasts.

創建者 Eric L

Sep 12, 2016

I enjoyed this course a lot! It gives a good introduction to the topic of real time systems, the lessons are well organized and you don't need to be a computer science expert to learn and understand the material taught in the course. The course not only teaches theory but gives you practical guidelines and very useful examples/assignments to illustrate how the theory is used in practice to solve typical problems and design real time systems , which is the feature I liked most about this course. This "hands-on" approach is very useful to the practitioner, with some inexpensive and simple hardware at your disposal the open-source software tools introduced in the course can get you quite far in designing your own real time system! Needless to say, no course is perfect and there are always things that can be improved. For example, the wording of the assignments and quizzes in this course is in dire need of an update/edit.

創建者 Jose E L

Nov 05, 2017

The course is quite focused on schedulers and more lectures on FreeRTOS would be welcome. Although deeper and more extensive explanations about queues, mutexes, semaphores... and many other RTOS features, would be necessary, on average the course is interesting because you learn to understand how the core of any RTOS work.

創建者 Hsi-Tse W

Jun 19, 2016

great course. I enjoy many point about RTOS from here. Thanks ^^

創建者 siddharth s

Dec 15, 2016

Good introduction to RTOS concepts. A little theoretical, there could have been a project to do in the end which would have made the course objectives more clear.

創建者 Elyasin S

Jul 17, 2016

The course is very good in my opinion. There are some little drawbacks though. The assignments are not very difficult but expect you to be autonomous in setting up the environments; this was a bit of a hurdle for some students. Also the reviews could be better. The review feedback depends on how well the reviewer understood the subject; more concrete instructions would be good as well as more precise criterias for the grading of the peer review.

創建者 Ralph W

Aug 25, 2017

I thought the course did a good job of helping me to learn about RTOS scheduling and the Simso simulator. It would have been nice to have more detail about the specifics of context switching and what happens to the CPU stack when switching from one task to another. There were a few times where the homework wasn’t coupled with the video lectures. There were very few explanations about how to use FreeRTOS and I think the basic assumption is that an intermediate C programming could pick that up pretty fast. There were also a few mistakes in the video lectures. Overall, I thought it was a good course and I have not found very many online courses that offer information about real time systems.

創建者 Akhilesh S

Dec 04, 2017

It is a great course to understand the fundamentals of real time systems. However more hands-on programming assignments are required to have a better understanding of FreeRTOS. Also, the mathematical equations involved in the design of schedulers should be explained with their underlying proofs. Putting the equations simply on slides doesn't convey the idea behind the concepts. The course introduces you to good reference materials where the concepts are explained in a very simple and lucid way. Overall the course has great content and is worth attending for master students and working professionals.

創建者 Mahesh K

Jan 30, 2018

It was really helpful course, thanks for providing such course.

+ Points - Nice arrangements of the topics, quiz , videos and assignments etc. Good help on the administrative queries etc.

Can be improved in terms of the coding assignments . We can provide some more coding assignments with different schedulers.

創建者 esha p

Mar 25, 2019

good

創建者 Gunjan B

Sep 12, 2019

It was good amount of leaning new things related to RTOS. This course gives you knowledge to design and choose the RTOS based on your requirement of the project.

創建者 Dale M

Nov 07, 2016

Very useful course with good information. Current iteration is a little rough as an online course, could use a little thought into the peer-review process works specifically around how to distribute the code.

創建者 Aditya M

Oct 20, 2017

No guidance for a FreeRtos and this makes programming assignment too tough for a newbie

創建者 Ricardo C

Nov 07, 2016

The contents of the course are interesting, but it feels too short, and the assignments trend to let you down (the scoring system is sometimes a bit brainless)

創建者 MomeN M

Jun 16, 2017

Good structure but poor contents.

創建者 Bill

Oct 09, 2017

Assignments are quite vague in instructions and more in depth coverage on RTOS application in assignments would be more helpful.

創建者 Bassem A A M S

Oct 08, 2019

The content is really very rich but the problem is that it is not consistent in terms of quizzes with assignments and videos.

I think that being a peer graded assignment, it takes a lot of time to get a grade.

創建者 Guillermo H M

Mar 22, 2018

The assignments are quite poor. They need to improve that.

創建者 Olli V

Jun 19, 2016

The course feels pretty shallow and it ignores all the interesting stuff like proofs. There is no written material available, so if you can't follow the lectures, poor you. Quizzes aren't very well formulated and sometimes the correct answer is more of a matter of opinion rather than a hard fact. Evaluation seems to be based solely on peer review and there are no model solutions available, so the points you'll get may vary depending on how your peers understood the assignment and if they were interested in the review process at all.

My overall feeling is that nothing was quite challenging on the course, and I didn't learn much more than what I could have learnt by reading a few paragraphs per topic from Wikipedia. I also felt that the programming assignments were quite disjoint from the core, tough I don't feel like I understand the core better than before the course because none of the assignments made me think why something works, rather than that we just mechanically reproduced the examples shown in the lectures.