Chevron Left
返回到 Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv 的評價和反饋

4.0
1,723 個評分

課程概述

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

熱門審閱

PM

2020年6月23日

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF

2021年4月1日

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

篩選依據:

51 - Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv 的 75 個評論(共 430 個)

創建者 Alexander A

2020年4月30日

Abysmal. Total abomination. Zero instruction. Extremely frustrating and major let down if you've been through courses 1-4 of the specialization. If getting the Specialization Certificate is very important to you, there are resources online that you can leverage to complete the project but that is done largely at the expense of any real learning, so I really hope UofM comes up with an alternative final project that is more consistent with the level of expertise attained in courses 1-5 (maybe something on implementing classic algorithms?).

創建者 Alexander E

2020年4月30日

With all due respect this is the worst course I have taken in any online learning platforms. The "teaching" was abysmal if it could even be described as teaching. It's so disappointing considering the other four courses in the specialization were amazing and enjoyable. The only motivation I had for completing this course was for the certificate, whereas the motivation I had for the other courses was to learn.

創建者 Praveen K

2020年6月21日

I felt the previous four courses lack programming opportunities. Gladly, this course tries to make up for this shortcoming. I think this course is a little bit challenging than the previous courses but not that difficult. If you have really grasped the concepts then the assignments will not be that hard. Please be a learner who loves to explore things. There will be a few Python libraries introduced in this course and those libraries do magic. It was great fun to use them and see their real-life usages. don't just stop exploring those libraries after the completion of the keystone project assignment. Thanks to all the instructors for this brilliant course and my special heartfelt thanks to the indefatigable teaching staff who always replied to queries in the discussion forums.

創建者 Steven C S

2020年7月5日

I thought it was a great course. It takes what you learn in the first 4 courses and forces you to dig for API information and how to use it. It was quite difficult and frustrating, just like learning how to learn/apply new concepts. It forces you to think as you discover what you don't know. There is no spoon feeding bits of information or code samples that you just tweak to make work. It is like being thrown in the deep end of a pool full of piranhas. When you finish you realize that you really learned something. Highly recommend the class.

創建者 JavierS

2021年2月10日

About the course:

The material is great and the topics are very interesting. But it has less to do with the rest of the "Python 3" specialization program. Courses 1-4 have the objective to teach you about Python language, how to solve software problems with Python, and to understand programming concepts like classes & objects.

For someone who is starting with Python and never had learned concepts about image processing, this course could be somewhat overkilling. Image processing is usually more geared towards developers who want to get started with artificial intelligence or data science. There is another Michigan specialization in Coursera to accomplish that.

I also think is somewhat difficult that a novice student could complete and understand the topics in this course in three weeks. This course requires, at least, five weeks and more homework, questionaries & examples.The lectures/videos mention a LOT of things (like Kraken) that are not required for the last project.

I will repeat the first statement: the concepts are great, I loved the contents at some point, but this is not for everyone who is starting with Python.

I think the University of Michigan is able to improve this course a lot. The Python 3 Michigan specialization is great overall. The firsts four courses are awesome, well structured, with an interactive tool as Runestone which helped me a lot to understand the problems to pass the assessments. This last course, the 5th one, has the main defect of lacking exercises. The Jupiter Notebook is not very useful to practice with Python, as Runestone was in the previous ones. I am sure all of this could be improved for this last course and obtain a better specialization program.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the teaching assistant in the Discussion Forums talks in a very rude way without any proper reason, as other students mentioned. This is a pity since many students have difficulty in accomplishing things that are not well explained in the lectures.

創建者 Mauricio G

2019年7月27日

Not enough practices, instead of many lectures and a quite difficult assignment at the end. It gives the impression that Coursera sets challenges that are quite difficult so you are forced to pay another moth in order to finish.

Additionally not enough support on the installation of the libraries, so far nobody helped me to install de library Kraken in Ubuntu. In practical terms, you need to be hooked to Coursera server in order to code.

創建者 晴空

2021年2月27日

I don't think it's suitable for beginners. Have to get the project done before understanding the coding logic. Lack of step by step explanation. I just learned which module in Python to use to process images.

創建者 Jon N

2021年3月15日

I've taken something like a dozen U of M courses before (I highly recommend parts of this specialization and all of Dr. Chuck's Python for Everyone courses). However, this one was a massive disappointment. It's really just a project. That's fine. But the tools are horrible. The assignment is set up in such a way that most of your time isn't spent coding, it's spent waiting for Jupyter to process images. Even doing the fastest possible operations take 10-15 minutes as you're building your project. Coding is (for those of us that aren't expert( is a lot of testing and re-running. To have to wait so long from one to the next just destroys any flow or creative inspiration. It's impossible to get any momentum and the process is frustrating. On top of that, you might think the forum would be a great resource. The forum for this class is just littered with questions of people with problems and a particular TA who is incredibly rude and even when he's answering questions he's so obtuse that often his answer is lost in the smugness and judgement. I'd rate this course even lower, but there are some good parts... however the lows are REALLY low.

創建者 Daniela R L

2021年2月23日

I agree with everyone else, this course is not related to the others on this specialization. The instructions and the material are not very clear and I read a lot comments of students asking questions and the instructors were replying in a 'annoyed' way and deleting parts of code of desperate students trying to finish the class...

創建者 Colm D

2020年5月20日

A poor finish to an excellent specialisation. The first four modules were very helpful, this seemed fine till I got to the first assignment. The "hints" are woeful in terms of usefulness. I do not have time to decdicate to additional research for what feels like an arbitrary add on to a specialisation I would love to have completed. Nothing undermines the condfidence built up in the previous modules than making you feel like you know nothing in the last module.

創建者 Katarina P

2020年5月22日

If you value your time, don't take this course. The course platform is online Jupyter Notebook which doesn't work most of the time. Also most of the examples are seriously outdated, there are more modern and smarter ways of doing them. The assignments are really frustrating because of the shitty platform and also from lack of good instructions due to the poor educational value of the lectures.

創建者 Garima M

2020年11月1日

Not satisfied with this this course at all. It does not seem like any effort was made to make enough material for the students to understand the concepts, I will not recommend this to anyone, more can be learned just be googling about the topics, how does this course benefit the students who sign up for it is the question.

創建者 Nakisha R B W

2020年10月6日

The course is horrible. I got all the way to this course and couldn't complete it due to awful videos on installations and the project itsef is dumb. This class should be optional and anyone who completed the first 4 courses should get the specialization certificate.

創建者 Tobias S

2021年3月2日

very poor to non existent didactic methods

創建者 Rupert F

2021年4月2日

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

創建者 Nadim F

2019年6月3日

A better way to submit the code for the last project is needed.

創建者 Chris P

2021年3月7日

Didn't seem to match the style of the rest of the specialization

創建者 Liam A

2020年3月14日

Not a good course. The lectures are not well organized and don't give sufficient information or a structured understanding of the material (PIL, PyTesseract and OpenCV). The course is also too short for the amount of material it needs to cover. The assignment and capstone project give very poor guidance for the solution, and a lot of trial and error is needed (which is not instructive or educational).

創建者 Pablo T P

2020年6月26日

Very disappointed with this course. They assume you can spend a lot of time learning image manipulation libraries. Personally I have limited time and no interest in image processing.

After going through the previous courses in the specialization I'm not going to complete it.

I think they should offer other options for the final project.

創建者 Chilakala V

2019年12月19日

I understand that the course aims to force the learners to take a more real-world approach. However, this gets quite cumbersome and I saw myself lost at many places without any clue. At least offer a final go-to place when everything seems confusing. This will also ensure that no one will give up halfway.

創建者 James M S

2020年4月2日

Unfortunately, the assignment is too hard to work on with the Coursera notebook and the submission of the project is very hard to peer review. Most of us have to copy paste then add the newline (as if we are coding other person's work)

創建者 Bart M

2020年4月13日

Great specialization, but the final course project was poorly constructed and tedious.

創建者 Yin L H

2020年6月23日

The lecture time for this course is too short. You have to learn a lot by yourself.

創建者 Felipe D

2021年3月21日

Didn't like it. Unfortunately you have to acquire the knowledge by yourself. But even though you have the good will to endure this fight, Jupyter isn't prepared to deal with the huge amount of data processing (in my opinion), so, it's a wasting time game of trying, running and waiting forever to receive an error, instead of learning to solve problems. The assessment is overdimensioned for jupyter. Dealing with 25mb+ files is unacceptable, because as students we need to debug the code too many times on try-and-error basis. I felt like going crazy and nervous with this final assessment.

I did the first four courses in about two months (they were so great!), and this last one, it took me more than 5 months, because at some point in time, I just abandoned it. The course needs to continue with the pacing of the other instructors, that were so good, and I felt everything was chained into a purpose. This last one, does not have any purpose at all.

Did it, but do not recommend, afterall, before this one, I was excited in doing many courses, but as I was trapped into it, my apprenticeship was abruptly stopped. I'm feeling released now, as i ended this course, to continue learning other subjects.

創建者 Paul B

2020年5月26日

Awful instruction and project planning leaves a bad taste in my mouth after 4 great courses in this specialization.