Chevron Left
返回到 Python 数据库开发

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Python 数据库开发 的評價和反饋

4.8
16,523 個評分
2,484 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
突出顯示
High quality course material
(143 條評論)
Top rated instructor
(176 條評論)

熱門審閱

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL

Jun 23, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

篩選依據:

1 - Python 数据库开发 的 25 個評論(共 2,406 個)

創建者 Connor H

Jun 11, 2019

It's a great toy introduction to database technologies - I wish the assignments involved more than just running starter code and making a few lines of modifications.

創建者 sudheer n D

Oct 07, 2019

Charles Severance is one of my favourite professors. He teaches stuff in the simplest way possible. He delivers the content is in a very friendly manner. So friendly that if I meet him by chance, my first sentence might be "Hey Chuck, Wasup?"

Coming to the course content, I didn't understand why they included object oriented programming in this course. Provides good exposure to SQL. There is a week of geocoding, though he doesn't walk you through everyline of geocoding exercise, throwing it out there gives exposure and opportunity to learn more on own.

創建者 Alie E A A O

Mar 22, 2019

i don't enjoy with this course at all. this course is not good . i don't like copying code and paste it into other place. also to explain code was written before is not good for beginner the code must be written live to understand whole code . Also the assignment wasn't clear at all. you had to search to know what they want exactly. I hope to improve it for next people who will take it

創建者 NIKHIL S

May 06, 2020

assignment which was submitted has not been reset and now I am not recieving my certificate

創建者 Justin D

Jan 08, 2018

Note: I'm rating this course as an element of the Python for Everyone Specialization. This course is well done technically and Severance is a great teacher, but I don't know what they were thinking when deciding to have students who have only just recently gained a most tenuous grasp of Python start to work with databases. If a student began this as a true beginner, s/he is still just a fledgling pythonista by the time he's being completely overwhelmed by all this other new stuff. I found that when JSON, XML, and SQL were introduced, my comprehension of "what's going on" decreased from around 95% to 15%. My eyes just glazed over when looking at the code and I completed assignments by tinkering around and praying that they would work.

創建者 hari k

Jun 19, 2020

i finished the course 4 days back still one assignment is pending for the instructor to grade it because of their delay im not able to get the spelization certificate and my subscription ends tomorrow i dont think im going to re subscribe

創建者 Peter B

Sep 06, 2018

Instructor is engaging, conceptual overviews were excellent.

Here's what I would do to improve:

(1) I don't think it would cost you much or take you much time to add honors content. That would be helpful for anyone just brushing up on the material that wants to go a little further.

(2) The last assignment is absurdly easy. I've never had a programming assignment where the criteria is simply to run code someone else has already written. That's just lazy and it hurts the brand name of Coursera and the University of Michigan.

I'm sure some of your students ('ahem) would be happy to produce some honors concept and rework the final assignment.

創建者 Corwin A

Jul 01, 2020

Not necessarily a bad course, but the final assignment you wait for it to be graded. I don't know about other people, but I'm not going to pay for another month for a specialization I've already finished just to get a piece of paper that states I can figure out vague instructions. I wish I could give it a better score since I like the way the instructor explains things. Just not enough details and to many fluff videos. If you don't watch them then you will miss a question in the final capstone quiz.

創建者 Barath G

Jun 22, 2020

the instructor didn't rate. its pending for long time. Either delete or complete it.

創建者 Jesse G

Jun 17, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

創建者 齐振

Feb 11, 2019

sql语言的内容偏多

創建者 Vaughn P

Apr 29, 2016

Dr. Charles Severance is by far the best Computer Science professor out there!!! I've done a significant amount of online Computer Science courses -as well as classroom courses back in college - and not one professor has been as fun and easy to understand as Chuck. He puts presents every topic in such a way that you're never scared off thinking "i'll never understand this stuff." He make computers and everything technical make sense. I've basically binge-watched almost every lecture/course he's headed up.

I never knew how vital it was to understand Database development. I also thought it would be outside of my realm of knowledge but now all i want to do is build databases to analyse. He makes it so easy to comprehend. I always thought i was Python was for wanna-be programmers but now i'm proud to say Python is my language of choice. SQL scared the hell out of me before i took this course. Now it's my first stop when i'm planning to develop a new model.

He makes learning fun and seems like he's be a really fun guy to get to hang with. Thanks Dr. Chuck for your love of teaching, you're the best!

創建者 Saman M A M

Apr 09, 2020

This course helped me to understand the basics of databases, in this case, sqllite, then I learned how to create Table in a database using python programming, then Dr.chuck taught us as how to use our previously learned material in a practical example. How to read a file from the internet, then parse it in json and then creating a database and finally visualize the data.

I strongly recommend this course and its amazing instructor.

創建者 Miroslav M

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

創建者 Jiang L

Jun 23, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

創建者 RAJPUT R G S

Mar 06, 2019

This course is well designed to get fast launching in programming & talking to data with python. As the name suggests " Python For Everybody ", courses in this specialization really signifies that.

創建者 Yash J

May 04, 2020

Nice course...!!

I really loved the course structure designed and the coding standards/approaches used.Teaching style of the Instructor is really Nice.

I just want to suggest that week 5 videos are not up to mark and should be updated as per new Google API and the Instructor must explain how we can add our own desired location from Google maps and See it on the Map of where.html File used in the Assignment because I spent too much time in Week 5 assignment but still was not able to understand the code.

I think Some more explanation can be included on Normalization as how we can create relational tables more precisely as it was used in code example and also on how to use Primary and Foreign key in Databases table with Working example and demonstration.

創建者 Sarthak S

Apr 30, 2020

I have submitted week 5 assignment Databases and visualization(peer graded) yesterday.In that submission i only got 70%. To pass the assignment and get the certificate i need 80%. Since, i want to resubmit my assignment there is no option to resubmit my assignment.So please check this issue and help me to resubmit my assignment and get my certificate.

Following is the note from instructor. Plz consider it for reset.

You've used an older version of geodata which is no longer applicable. You need to download the updated geodata zip file using the link given on the assignment page. Using the updated version will allow you to add a new location even when using dr. Chuck's API to complete the assignment. The new location can be a park, a museum, a cafe, university, etc., something that will set your submission apart from others.You can post a request on the forum explaining you've read the instructor note if you would like a reset. Please copy and paste this note when requesting a reset on the forum.

創建者 Thomas T

May 16, 2019

Assignment for week 5 is very poorly instructed and very confused . Spending more time on the assignment than the course. The assignment should said add a new address to the end of file or beginning of file or should say something about highlighting or editing an image. I don't have image editor on my new Mac computer and had to download it for this class.

創建者 David W

Dec 26, 2015

Dr. Chuck is an excellent teacher. This is true particularly because he is so passionate about the subject and skilled in both the craft as well as helping others to learn it.

For me, learning databases has been a very fun and liberating study. I needed it. I have been planning my own version of a personal finance application with all of the features and customization that I want in it for some time now. Learning databases was and is an important step in reaching the knowledge level that I think I need to attempt my project with some probability of success and happiness with the end product. I have done some event-driven programming in Python, and have messed around in someone else's GUI in that class, but designing and implementing my own GUI won't be easy. Thanks to Dr. Chuck's class series, however, I feel much more confident that I can go out there and review the different third party GUI libraries and see if any will get the job done for now.

Alternatively, the University where Dr. Chuck teaches also has a web design certificate that seems like it might be useful. If GUI programming is too hard I might go with a web version since I have heard that Javascript, particularly jquery and D3 would make my task of graphing and presenting financial data quite doable.

創建者 yeshwanth

Jan 17, 2016

Great course, So far one of the best I have seen in this planet.

There is always room to improve the best to take it a notch up..... This is what I would do to make it better.

1.Supply ton of more information for each course so students who are interested might explore but the new and additional information. This dont have to interfere with the course. Just for additional informations so the students can get some more info if they wanted.

2.I like the fact that there is some industry talk someone who are in the Industry or who was in the industry who come and give a small tech talk ....please provide more motivational materials like this. Not all the time I want to see Mr. Chuck alone.

3.Please come to Toronto.

4.The reason I am able to finish this course because the assignments was easy .....IF it was hard forget it i would have quit long before...... this happens in lots of other coursers I take...Sorry its just me.

創建者 Jason J

Dec 08, 2017

Once again, Dr. Chuck Severance delivers!

Two weeks ago, I knew nothing about JSON, databases and APIs. Now I'm working on an independent project and using the knowledge in this class to connect to databases with APIs, decode the information using a JSON library within python, and process the data to solve real world problems.

The free online book is a great start to each week of learning. If you first study the book and practice with the sample code in each chapter with your Atom program, you will do well. The lecture videos are solid and helpful, reinforcing the book material. The assignments are fair and sometimes a little too easy but for this 5 course beginner sequence, overall I believe they're right on the money. A huge thanks to Dr. Chuck and everyone involved in putting this course (and all 5 in this sequence) together! I'm looking forward to the capstone (5th course) in a few days.

創建者 SBAST

Aug 14, 2017

Thanks for this very helpful course, the lectures are clear and to the point, and fun. Sometimes I needed to read the manual and some online documentation on the topic (python.org) more in depth , but everything was easy to access, and to understand with a little practice, trial and error. It is a comprehensive, hands-on introduction to the many possibilities of gathering and analyzing the data out there (on the web). The progress is gradual, with clever exercises to overcome common roadblocks. After this fourth course in the Python for Everybody specialization, I feel more confident for exploring the Python and SQL languages, and also other languages if need be. I also loved the bonuses, because they bring this whole creative world of programming to life. The Internet History, Technology and Security course is a good complement to these 4 courses. I look forward to the Capstone.

創建者 Maloy M

Sep 13, 2016

Loved this course! Dr. Chuck makes it fun by adding the bonus material - office hours videos as well as the fantastic interviews with all the computing greats whose work we've used so far but haven't had any chance to interact. The course itself is great at explaining tricky topics including web architectures involving crawlers, search engines, data wrangling code etc. without turning off new learners.

The sql/ rdbms part eases learners into using DRI with without the actual declarations rather inserts and updates, but this is so vital a concept for databases that there could possibly be some bonus video explaining this with a little bit more rigor (as sqlite does support foreign key references). Nevertherless a great course keeping in mind that it primarily deals with programming in python rather than db code.

創建者 Kry

Sep 24, 2016

People use Python for many purposes: to make games, build web services, to solve business problems, to work with sensors, drivers and robots. Python is also used heavily in scientific fields for academic research and applied work.

Python is an incredibly efficient language: your programs will do more in fewer lines of code than many other languages would require.

Py4inf and Python explained by C. Servance, is a great developing of the foundations in programming (first two courses) that will serve you well for the rest of your life, as well as a course that will give you a sort of try to understanding of what great things python can do for you.

I strongly recommend this course for anybody, who wants to start with informatics.