Chevron Left
返回到 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

學生對 华盛顿大学 提供的 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 的評價和反饋

4.8
285 個評分

課程概述

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

熱門審閱

VS

2017年11月14日

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

CW

2021年5月3日

This is an engaging course that sharpens skills on good and sound speeches that make sense and communicate ones key points with an argumentative but motivating speech.

篩選依據:

76 - Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 的 91 個評論(共 91 個)

創建者 SPEAR Y W X

2020年6月19日

Good

創建者 Rashed A A

2021年6月14日

b

創建者 Rolandas R

2017年5月31日

L

創建者 Akin A

2020年6月29日

Great course! Brilliant lectures and assignments - I learnt a huge amount. The only slightly disappointment is the peer review system - I had to spend time in the forums asking for people to review my work (so that I could get enough reviews to pass).

創建者 Janice U

2021年5月4日

Great course. Learned a great deal about how to create and deliver a persuasive speech. The peer rating system is sometimes tough to complete because we all speak different languages. Other than that, educational course.

創建者 Yixuan

2021年5月24日

This course provides some useful tips in public speaking, which is pretty good. There are some provided material that is also helpful in extra reading.

創建者 Sreeletha N

2021年12月11日

Well-structured course with ample examples to follow the intrinsic components of speaking and presentation skills. Great Job done by Dr. Matt!

創建者 Suresh K S ( O - M S

2020年12月29日

The course helped me to understand various pursuance technique how to arrange and style the speech. This will help me a lot in my

創建者 Linda E

2019年8月13日

Really rigorous. Learned alot. Final assignments were a bit redundant.

創建者 Akella K M

2021年11月5日

Good course content, quite the find.

創建者 Imadeldin E T ( - A E T

2020年11月28日

Very good training course

創建者 Palani T A

2020年1月22日

Very useful.

創建者 GIOSUE P

2019年6月13日

A bit better than the previous courses, yet again: too many videos that do not provide consistent tips and strategies to improve the analysis and the production of speeches. Sometimes the videos are boring and the content non-stimulating.

創建者 Marcelo B Y

2017年11月9日

Good corse, great practice with the vídeos. The interaction in the forums and groups is quite low, I thiink because s

創建者 Ayesha A A S A

2021年11月11日

course still showing in progress to me , why ??

創建者 Astrid P D

2017年8月6日

I prefer to stop the course because I can't longer watch more video with this professor. I am totally sorry but the way he speaks without pause, silence is very disturbing for me.

I prefer to give up and focus on other MOOC with the same topic but a more accessible presentation.