Chevron Left
返回到 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

學生對 路德维希马克西米利安慕尼黑大学 提供的 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的評價和反饋

4.8
621 個評分

課程概述

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

熱門審閱

SS

2021年1月15日

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF

2021年1月27日

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

篩選依據:

226 - Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的 250 個評論(共 250 個)

創建者 Caelyn M

2022年4月5日

I really wish I could give 4.5 stars. This was a really delightful course. Wonderful videos, engaging lecturers, lots of different ways to engage with the material, I really learned quite a bit!

But there were little issues here and there, some link rot, some weird whitespacing in the quizzes and a duplicated reading that was literally titled 'Copy of'. So, one star off my rating.

創建者 Ramon v O

2022年1月16日

​Perfect course by Karen Radner. A​ lot of information, and educated and teached very well, in a clear and understandable way.

O​nly downside, and this is not the fault of Karen, is that the program (on internet and app) sometimes is lost, and the grades shown, don't compare with the material you are graded with.

C​ourse is highly recommended.

創建者 Syed H A

2018年12月19日

I think this course is very well designed for the beginners in assyriology. Karen Radner & others have been excellent in their delivery of all important aspects of the Assyrian empire - from religion to culture, family to army and from internal & external influencers of this empire!

創建者 Thomas d S

2021年5月4日

Dank course. Loved the fish coat dudes. The expert opinions were also great--it was neat to hear from a variety of academics studying these topics. I would've liked to learn more about Assyrian deities and mythology though, even if lots of it was just copy pasted from Babylon.

創建者 Christopher J M

2021年2月6日

It was a fun and interesting course. There were many tests and sometimes they have been a bit specific andI will not remember the details of names and dates right after taking them. So, even though the tests were good, they may have focused on themes a bit more than facts.

創建者 char M

2020年5月18日

Karen is very knowledgeable, and mostly engaging. At first, I thought the student question and answer was not valuable, but I was wrong! Some of the most interesting tidbits came here. The experts section was not useful. Have one speak on his area of expertise.

創建者 Richard S

2021年2月14日

The course was an interesting overview of a small but very important time and place history. I found the material interesting and the level of detail was what right for me.

創建者 Niklas A

2021年3月22日

Very interesting, in particular getting an understanding of what society looked like and what people experienced as citizens of this early empire.

創建者 Ken L

2020年9月2日

The course was relatively short and succinct. It answered a number of questions, and opened up some new areas of interest. Well done. Thank you.

創建者 Edward O T

2020年7月21日

Its been very helpful in trying to understand a little more of other kingdoms outside of Egypt, Greece, Turkey and Rome

創建者 Dan S

2022年3月13日

Interesting. I also purchased her book 'Assyria an Introduction' to read a more indepth writing. Thank.s

創建者 Mariia A G

2021年2月6日

I was inspired by the notion of "client-states" within Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way.

創建者 Varun N

2020年5月26日

Had heard very little of this great civilization; the course gave a superb insight into it

創建者 Joy S

2018年4月11日

super interesting. I would give it a 5 stars except it has peer review in the final week

創建者 J B

2020年9月26日

Exactly what I needed: A quick insight into the Assyrians. Thank you so much.

創建者 Herud

2019年2月5日

Not enough material about the military history of the empire.

創建者 JOSE T B M

2020年11月14日

Esta bien bueno en general. Me gustaría mas apoyo visual

創建者 Elaine H

2022年2月14日

​interesting...could use some editing on some lessons

創建者 John C

2020年10月27日

very interesting, history is so cool.

創建者 UBAYDUR R R

2020年6月4日

very tremendous and flexible course.

創建者 Katharina R

2021年3月11日

I learned much about the Assyrian Empire which I did not know before or ever imagined. Instructor Karen Radner taught the content well and in depth. I recommend this course. The content gave me much insight on how Assyrian traditions were also kind of similar to those of neighboring empires in ancient times. I am, however, missing the course certificate: therefore only 3 stars

創建者 Luis C

2021年10月4日

E​l curso esta bien pero para los alumnos que no hablamos ingles , esta muy mal, las traducciones no son buenas , y sobre todo los cuestionarios es dificilisimo contestar si no esta bien traducido , hay que estar siempre pegado al traductor de google , o al que sea para poder contestar alguna pregunta . Deberian solucionar esto

創建者 fernando g u

2021年9月20日

Interesante curso.

創建者 Carlos H

2020年8月9日

Not Certified.