Chevron Left
返回到 Java 程序设计:使用软件解题

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Java 程序设计:使用软件解题 的評價和反饋

4.6
3,943 個評分
810 條評論

課程概述

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

熱門審閱

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

篩選依據:

26 - Java 程序设计:使用软件解题 的 50 個評論(共 802 個)

創建者 Kirk S

Jun 27, 2017

The instructors were not around for help or commentary and the videos and lessons were sub-par.

創建者 Nadav Z

Nov 10, 2015

Couldn't fiish the course. Not hard, but exhausting and not interesting.

創建者 Andreas M

Oct 17, 2017

i think its not for beginners

創建者 Enric M

Nov 24, 2015

This is a good Java Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBWX97e1E9g&list=PLE7E8B7F4856C9B19

I followed two videos and I'm learning in my way.

I left the course because the ammount of time required was too high. For example, for one part of an exercise I spent a total of 12 hours distributed in 3 days. For the other part of the exercise I spent 1 hour. Also, in the part one, the last exercise was tremendouly difficult for begginers and for someone (my case) that know one language.

You are making people hate Java. This is not for begginers. I have to say that the part of codepen and HTML was great.

Fortunatelly, I didn't pay. But I think that paying for this course is a waste of money. I had a good experience in other Coursera programming course: "An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python" of Rice Unviersity. The examples were awesome and the tests were reasonable, quite the opposite to this course.

Also, Eclipse is so much better than BlueJ in many ways, also into learning...

And there's more things that must be improved, but no time and no money.

I'm very dissapointed to this course and Duke Univeristy.

創建者 Sowat H R

Apr 26, 2020

Too hard for beginners.

創建者 Nancy W

Sep 11, 2018

I had been out of programming for many years, and decided to try this Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software course by Duke University on Coursera.org. I really liked the course! It is a great review for me of Java programming basics, without the technical jargon that goes along with object oriented programming. The really nice part is that I can see object oriented principles in action! I enjoyed the way Duke University uses the 7 step process for solving problems consistently through the course. They break problems down into small, manageable pieces, that build up to solving a larger problem. Some concepts include: Basic Java syntax, definitions of class, instance variables and methods (functions); variables, For each loops, While loops, Strings, Java types and Java mathematical operators. The assignments were interesting, and include calculating the perimeter of a shape, finding genes in a strand of DNA, working with CSV formatted files to analyze weather data and to find exports from different countries, and finishing with a MiniProject to find interesting trends in American Baby Names from a CSV formatted data files. The Honors assignment was also fun: processing multiple images to convert them to gray scale, or invert the images, and save them with a new filename. Another really nice aspect of this course is that you use a Duke University (on Coursera) version of BlueJ, an interactive design environment for creating Java programs - where everything is a class! The instructors at Duke have created their own java library, with classes to help new learners easily open and close files in the BlueJ environment, and work with Pixels in an image. Duke also has good documentation for each class, which to me, is better than the documentation on the java oracle website. While the Java documentation on the oracle website is still very difficult to read, I have gotten used to looking some documented class, like Strings, and clicking on the "methods" tab to look at what you can do with them. However, you really do not need to refer to the Java Oracle documentation to complete the assignments - all you need is the documentation from Duke University! I really liked this class!

創建者 Wesley N

Jan 22, 2020

The course content was excellent. I highly recommend taking this class for anyone who wants to get a quick start in java or refresh it after a long time off. The exercises are wonderful at introducing basic problem solving skills by way of highly relevant real world examples.

If you are familiar with another programming language, especially a less demanding one like Python, this course will help you get used to the more rigorous requirements of Java syntax.

Now, why the two stars? Week 4 is fraught with errors. If you code the final project EXACTLY as asked in the assignment, using the EXACT definitions of all methods, the highest score you can get on the quiz is a 42. In other words, you must code and provide incorrect answers to pass the test. These mistakes have been pointed out repeatedly to moderators in the user forums for several years and no changes have been made to address the errors in the curriculum. Because this is a paid service, I find that highly unacceptable.

創建者 Mahboob E

Mar 02, 2017

First two courses are awesome and really built the sense how to tackle real world problems like software engineer.I have learnt a lot from these two courses and eager to learn something new in upcoming course. I only knew very little about C++ and afraid from coding because i forgot syntax and couldn't built and fit logic correctly but after completing these two courses very good percentage in this specialization i feel comfortable towards any language. This specialization is gateway for other languages for me. It helps me to throw my hesitation in coding.

All teachers are good in delivering concept.Also the assignments and mini projects are really challenging , hence they polish concepts that teacher delivers in lectures.

Further more i really likes the shirts of Dr.Robert. I appreciate coursera and Duke MOOCS teams for organizing this very novice friendly to expert course on Java.

I hope and waiting for next serialization which leads from where this one left.

創建者 Swarnesh R J

Jun 19, 2018

This is a very well put together course, efficient lecture videos and some brilliant quiz exercises. But the expected times are way off. Some of the assignments which say that expected time is 10 mins might take hours even for an experienced coder, let alone a novice in this field. Moreover, I posted 4-5 threads on discussion forum and I never received even a single reply. If i have paid for this course I would expect to get my doubts cleared but the mentors and even the peers don't respond to discussion forum. One of the codes in a lecture video is actually incorrect and will not produce the desired output in one special case. I pointed that out in discussion forum but no one responded. So I did learn many things from this course but I never got my doubts cleared, so I would not recommend this course to a beginner.

創建者 Jade F

Dec 02, 2018

This is a great first course to take at Coursera - you'll find the the content is high quality, the assignments progressively challenge you, and sets the tone that you're going to get a lot out of the courses but it's something you'll have to work for.

I thoroughly enjoyed the process of moving through the course and would recommend it to others, with the caveat that you're not going to just breeze through without putting in some time to focus on the assignments.

I definitely feel that I came away having advanced my skills and having accomplished something! That's the highest accolade you could give to any training.

Thanks!

創建者 ZUsas

Oct 07, 2018

Beutifully done! Well organized. The assignments were challenging, but were well documented, so it was easy to follow along and complete them.

The two projects at the end of the course were terrific as well. I really enjoyed working on them and then showing them to friends and family.

The videos were clear, coherent and concise. I could watch them on the go and sometimes all at once. I loved that flexibility. The topics were also well chosen. Basic programming. But still quite challenging.

Excellent course! I highly recommend it. I look forward to completing the rest of the specialization as well.

創建者 Elohim F F D C

Apr 08, 2020

I'm very disappointed about the Baby Names quizes answers, It kept me 2 days finding the errors you set as correct answers, I had to modify my code in order to respond an incorrect answer. I can deal with Lecture erros like the one you stated that .getCSVParser(false) returns no header (False). The .getCSVParser(false) returns a header so the answer to getRank() returns an extra number wrong number that never gives you the rank 1. You should have fixed this error on the quiz so you don't frustrate the students with wrong answers. If you change the answers I'll change my one stars review to 5 stars.

創建者 Sebastián C

Feb 10, 2018

I enjoyed it a lot, it was well explained and some of the quizzes were challenging enough to reestructure my method for testing my program more than one time. The videos were pretty good and I think they covered most of the subjects you needed to for the assignments. Of course, there is some practice you'll need to do by yourself sometimes and that includes going into the documentation and looking for some methods or clarifications but that is understandable, considering that in any course with some degree of difficulty you will need (most probably than not) to practice a bit in your home.

創建者 Naveen R

May 05, 2020

Wish I could give more ratings. I have always believed in project based learning where you learn something only if you are going to use it. This class first introduces some problem, then gives the tools to solve them and you don't have to remember every syntax. With practice, it just sticks in the brain.

This course is even better for those who are transitioning from similar language like C++ or C#. I myself used C++ for last few years. But this transition was so smooth. Really loved it. Looking to complete more Java Programming courses in this specialization.

Best Wishes!

創建者 Belyaev

Dec 19, 2015

I really liked the course mainly due to providing a clear vision to all sub tasks needed to solve before and during programme development; I liked very much that the solution is started with problem statement and analysing; this helps to set good practice to problem solving and decision making: before digging into implementation one must understand the task; analyse it and get what is involved and needed to say the job is done and then find a solution, implement it and check that implemented solution does what it was intended to do; thank you very much for clarifying it

創建者 Yang Y

Apr 02, 2017

I so much enjoyed this java tutorial class. The design of each clip/module is very humane and best for the learning from scratch. I have finished this class and the one after it (array list one). I feel very confident about learning Java language and I am heading for the next one (software design principal). I plan to finish all of the 5 courses and then buy the certificate so I will be sure I am not waste my tuition. I am leaving the 1st class (CSS, html) for the last one before capstone because it seems not so relevant to SDE training but more frontend/UI.

創建者 Snigdha U

Sep 12, 2018

Loved the complete course.

Finished it within a week.

Coming from an automotive background having not done coding in the past 2 years, I had taken this course as a challenge.

I had very little knowledge of C++ and fair enough knowledge of MATLAB, and i found this course very engaging that i turned on my zombie studying mode and just did this until I finally finished it. Looking to take the next course in the specialization.

The instructors have done a splendid job and the efficacy of the course can be seen in the completion of the course by a student like me.

創建者 Anand R

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent course. The instructors do a great job of introducing Java to the beginner. The assignments are VERY interesting. They are not the run of the mill small programming assignments that you might find in your average course. By the end of the course -- once you complete the mini-project -- you get the confidence that you know programming and can program at a high level. I highly recommend this course and this specialization. (I watched EVERY video, and completed EVERY assignment, mini-project and quiz in this course.)

創建者 Edward F

Jun 10, 2017

I took the full Specialization, so I'm going write the same review for each of the 5 modules.

This is a great course, but it's not for beginners. They ask you to do a lot of coding, which is great since that's the only way to really gain proficiency. And the code they ask you to write is, in my opinion, pretty hard for someone new to coding. My hat's off to someone new to programming who makes it through the five modules.

So, thanks to Duke for putting together a great course. It was very good.

創建者 Bryan Y

Oct 01, 2016

I would have preferred a more mainstream compiler, i.e. Eclipse, rather than the provided BlueJ. But, the BlueJ compiler is capable and the lessons taught were appropriate to one with minimal programming background. Not stated, but I would recommend a student in this course have a basic understanding of math, i.e. average, highest in a set, lowest in a set, etc. If you are intimidated by those concepts, you may be challenged in this course.

創建者 Szymon T

Mar 26, 2016

Very nice introduction to Java. Of course using BlueJ and EduDuke libraries (that is libraries crafted specifically for the course that are nor used in real life) gives this feeling of not coding for real. But that's good. Real coding comes in the later courses of this specialization so this approach seems to be very good for introducing people to Java without wasting to much time to details being unimportant on the early stages of learning.

創建者 Brendan

Oct 11, 2019

This class is a gentle, beginner-friendly introduction to programming in Java. There are lots of short, interesting programming assignments that help provide an immediate application for the concepts covered in the lectures/quizzes. While it's not listed, I'd say that students should be generally familiar with basic math (on the order of high-school algebra) and the basics of how computers work (in terms of file systems, etc.).

創建者 Joseph P

Dec 21, 2017

I was a bit nervous after the first week because there's a LOT packed into the end of week exercises. On the one hand, it enabled me to learn quite a bit but the inaccurate time estimates (10 mins) were way off. I would plan on at least 2-4 hours doing the exercises at the end of each week. That's NOT a bad thing because DOING is the best way to learn. The presentation videos were top notch and I'm glad I powered through.

創建者 Srijan K

Jan 26, 2020

In this course I learnt about method to break down any complex problem into simpler form and then implementing it using java programming.The fascinating thing that I learnt in this course was to solve real world based problem using java programming.

I highly recommend this course to student who are new to computer programming and want to learn more about solving real world based problem using computer programming.

創建者 Amitesh S B

Jan 07, 2018

Excellent course, I loved the projects at the end of each week. The tasks looked daunting at first, but as I began solving the problems and completing tasks one by one, it did not feel scary. The thing that I loved the most about this course is the satisfaction it provides at the end of the course, I can't praise this course enough. Its the best course on Coursera I have ever taken. Nothing comes close to this.