Chevron Left
返回到 Fundamentals of GIS

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Fundamentals of GIS 的評價和反饋

4.8
2,898 個評分
804 個審閱

課程概述

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

熱門審閱

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

KF

Dec 22, 2018

Well developed course, everything leads you up to a final assignment that helps test what you've learned and gives you a great general idea of some of the cool things you can do with ArcGIS.

篩選依據:

1 - Fundamentals of GIS 的 25 個評論(共 766 個)

創建者 Kevin F

Dec 22, 2018

Well developed course, everything leads you up to a final assignment that helps test what you've learned and gives you a great general idea of some of the cool things you can do with ArcGIS.

創建者 Mezbah u B

Aug 02, 2016

It is a great course for both the beginner and the professionals in GIS . Very friendly and easy language for the people who don't understand English much ...Satisfied in doing this course.

創建者 Jan S

Feb 21, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The emphasis is on learning how to use the software so you can start working quickly. I highly recommend doing all the optional assignments in the textbook.

創建者 Ya-Yin Y

Mar 06, 2019

Very helpful course for an absolute GIS beginner. It provides some of the most important concept and information for me to get some sense of the operating of the system and getting used to the software. The assignments and final project definitely helped me gain some hands-on experiences of how GIS workd practically. Highly recommend for anyone who would like to learn GIS!

創建者 D P W

Sep 05, 2018

Great course for fundamentals of GIS. Online format makes it easy to review lectures and go back to them and pause step by step if needed; assignments are clear and well designed to give you instruction and practice on skills. I last worked on ArcMap about 10 years ago and the good part here was that I was able to review and see that the basic skills and tools have not changed much, and it's a great refresher course, and I look forward to seeing the new advanced tools that are available!

創建者 Brandito M Q J

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

創建者 Young S S

Feb 25, 2019

This is my first exposure to ArcGIS. Mr. Nick Santo explained various concepts and skills very nicely, which was incredibly helpful when I was doing my final project. Since there were so many precedures that I needed to follow in order to conduct specific tasks, I sometimes had to go back to his videos and re-watched them to have better guidance, but that helped me finish the project on time. By getting involved in the project, I felt that I learned a lot. Before doing the project, it appeared that the information and procedures were all scattered here and there on my part, but with the project, I could finally put those together and synthesize them. It was a great learning experience for me. Thank you so much for offering this valuable course!!!

創建者 Lindsey T

Feb 15, 2019

This course taught me what I needed to know to start exploring my spatial data. This course starts at the very beginning and is great for fully developing a foundation for future courses but also provides enough content to get started with.

創建者 SHREYA O

Jul 13, 2019

Great Course to brush up your skills on ArcGIS. Its a beginner course so even if you are not familiar with the software you can easily cope up. Explanation by Dr. Nicholas Santos was crisp and to the point. He made the course seems like a cake walk. Thank You to the coursera team for the noble initiative of opening barriers to education from top notch institutions to people across the world.

-SHREYA OJHA

創建者 Shane N

Feb 20, 2017

I should have never paid for this course. By the time I got into the subject the refund policy was expired. Do not take pay for this course or program at all.

創建者 Kathy M

Jan 10, 2017

not very well organized.

創建者 Henry R M

Dec 20, 2018

Excellent course for learning the basics

創建者 Alexander L

Dec 07, 2018

Excellent introductory course for any one new to GIS.

創建者 Muhammad R

Dec 23, 2018

cool course, thanks a lot

創建者 Zohreh S

Dec 08, 2018

It was very good.

創建者 Abdelrahman A A

Dec 23, 2018

I have gained many skills from this course

創建者 Binod T

Dec 24, 2018

Excellent course

創建者 Samah M S M

Dec 13, 2018

excellent course

創建者 Miguel R Á

Dec 12, 2018

Great course

創建者 Leonard E T

Dec 26, 2018

Great course, very well organized and professionally done.

創建者 Brian T M

Dec 30, 2018

Very informative and made me understand GIS a lot better.

創建者 James W

Dec 31, 2018

The peer graded section in the first section are a little sketchy but everyone has to learn to advance in the course

創建者 Nouwar N

Sep 12, 2018

An Amazing Course that I have learned from the essentials about GIS. any one want to start learning GIS must take this course !!!

創建者 Jenevra W

Jan 04, 2019

I previously had some GIS experience, but it was two years ago and I hadn't used it since. This course was a perfect way of remembering what I learned while adding new skills. I loved the ability to go at my own pace and really think about why certain things worked the way they did. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants a GIS refresher. For people who have never used GIS it may be a little more difficult, but I still think it's completely do-able.

創建者 Carolina P P M

Feb 01, 2019

Perfect, the assigments complements perfect