Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的評價和反饋

4.8
2,191 個評分
521 條評論

課程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level, which requires that society develop some allocation mechanism to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based, meaning that the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market-based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. To understand this process, businesses construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and consider supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. You will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve and producer behavior as captured by the supply curve • Define equilibrium and explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium • Explain elasticity of demand • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

熱門審閱

KS
2019年9月11日

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

FP
2017年5月12日

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

篩選依據:

451 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 475 個評論(共 518 個)

創建者 Fazil M A

2019年5月10日

g

創建者 Adler J

2017年12月2日

G

創建者 Subrat G

2017年2月15日

V

創建者 Kira

2020年2月8日

Content was informative and not too difficult, but I do have a lot of Algebra, Geometry, and Calculus background. I didn't like the peer reviews as much. They are fun to do, but waiting for grades from peers gets cumbersome and you usually have to beg for reviews. On top of that, you're too subject to the peer's understanding of the content. On one of the assignments one of the peers clearly had no clue about content, didn't read the professor's criteria for grading, and graded well in the wrong. Fortunately, the lowest scores are dropped. Otherwise, I would've raked the peer over the coals with support. I personally wish they'd drop the peer-reviewed assessments, but still plan on working towards an mba. Some level of calculus required might be good too or at least a middle school refresher of slopes.

創建者 Elizabeth L

2017年8月7日

Overall, I thought the course was really well done. I thought the lectures made the material very easy to digest, both in terms of presentation and amount of time allocated to each lecture. I found the additional readings very helpful (except for McAfee). However, I found some of the assignment and quiz questions confusing, in that they did not provide enough detail about what the question was really looking for in terms of a complete answer. Otherwise, I learned a lot and plan on taking the next course in the series.

創建者 Melvin P

2017年9月26日

A good introduction of microeconomics, but I feel that the content of this course leans towards the theoretical and it didn't have any depth on the various topics (this is coming from someone who studied engineering and took some courses on finance and accounting). I must applaud Prof. Larry DeBrock to be a great lecturer. His enthusiasm and use of real world examples (even if they lacked depth) captured my attention throughout the course.

創建者 Daniel K O

2018年6月15日

Larry does a great job explaining concepts and making them relatable to every day life. The occasional "field trips" give a real world perspective on how economics plays a hand everyday in the world around us. The only issue comes in the peer reviews where you can end up on the short end of the stick and not have anyone review your assignments for the week at all.

創建者 Andre A M

2020年10月27日

Doesn't cover Consumer Theory where you optimize using budget constraints, doesn't cover Producer Theory isoquants and isocosts, most concepts are intuitively and theoretically explained through generic graphs. Okay if you are required to take it for the iMBA only, but not a complete course per se as in "regular" microeconomics courses.

創建者 Felix B

2018年5月3日

Well organized, perfectly flexible class with a nice professor. As a total stranger to this topic I really learned a lot and wasn't overwhelmed. 5 stars if you communicate from beginning on that the readings are optional but that it is highly recommended to read at least parts of them. Had a bit of a time issue in the first week.

創建者 John S

2019年2月28日

Peer review took awhile for Module #4, alittle stressful as the deadline looms. Not a infrastructure issue, even emails to individuals were barely successful, need to improve on my part to do it earlier or how to influence peer reviews.

創建者 Bruno J L A S

2016年6月21日

I really enjoyed this course and definitely recommend it. The instructor was great. I am removing one star because I feel that it needs a little bit more of real problem solving and a small amount more of mathematical derivations.

創建者 John A

2020年9月20日

A background knowledge of microeconomics would most likely help many. The lectures were awesome but acing the quizzes might be difficult for anyone with little foreknowledge in microeconomics.

創建者 P. N K

2020年7月10日

Everything is fine but regarding my economics subject, where i got some lagg while understanding because somewhat the examples are varies from one country to another country.

創建者 Sanne S

2018年1月4日

Really liked this course. Only thing I'd wish to change would be to get an explanation of the answers to the assignments after they've been reviewed by the other peers.

創建者 Yash S M

2020年7月28日

Excellent for beginners. Four modules basically cover all the basics needed to understand economics specially at Firm level when its a short run scenario.

創建者 Gautam R

2016年2月10日

Please unlock case solutions in advance so we can assess our peers correctly

Otherwise great class with great references to other videos as well

創建者 Юрко П П

2020年5月24日

Great course. Learned more new information that I need. One problem, for some reason I finished the course, but certificate isn't given to me.

創建者 Eric M L E

2019年3月8日

Very interesting material and well-delivered and understandable / accessible. Not entirely sure of it's real-world applicability just yet.

創建者 SUMIT M

2020年8月4日

It was a wonderful journey of knowing the basics of economics and understanding the concepts of economic

創建者 PATRICIA N

2020年9月8日

this was my first time taking an economics course. it was difficult to understand the curves concept

創建者 Aya M E

2020年7月25日

hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

創建者 Jacques P

2018年12月8日

Nice warm up module for further analysis of consumer and producer behavior.

創建者 SONIKA S

2020年9月24日

Such a good platform to to learn more . Thank you for your teaching.

創建者 HAWK R

2020年5月11日

Good course. Imperative to take notes and review transcript.

創建者 adwoa a

2021年4月23日

It was a tough course but worth studying. Thanks Coursera