Chevron Left
返回到 理解经济决策

學生對 IE商学院 提供的 理解经济决策 的評價和反饋

4.8
stars
703 個評分
165 條評論

課程概述

This is the first of the three courses part of the Globalization, Economic Growth and Stability Specialization. This course will employ a non-technical approach to analyze how governments use policy to influence a country's economy. Upon completing the course you should be able to discuss national debts and deficits, examine fiscal and monetary policy and their appropriateness to the situation of an economy, and anticipate the results of fiscal and monetary policies and structural reform on a country. These concepts will give you the tools to develop your own position in many current economic debates, such as fiscal stimulus vs. austerity, the merits of quantitative easing, the need for higher interest rates or the future growth path of many modern economies....

熱門審閱

PH

Dec 09, 2015

Excellent overview economics course. Dr. Allard does a fantastic job explaining basic economic concepts and principles so that a novice can better understand this one critical aspect of their world.

KK

Dec 27, 2015

Great insights, I now feel like I am macro-economically literate and I will be using this information when interviewing and now possible grilling certain politicians in my town!\n\nThank you Gayle!

篩選依據:

1 - 理解经济决策 的 25 個評論(共 163 個)

創建者 Satish J

Jan 03, 2016

This course was very helpful for me to know about the indicators that gives you the hint about how healthy the economy is ! This course allowed me to read the news about economics, how to interpret the figures mentioned in the news, how good the policy makers are whether appropriate/inappropriate considering the situation, where the rest of the countries stand in todays world. On top of it assignments and final exam made my understanding even deeper and precise. Thanks to IE Business school and Coursera platform for offering such a wonderful course for a begineer like me.

創建者 Mar G A

Jun 27, 2018

This is an awesome course for people who forgot how the economy works. The approach of the course was refreshing and in depth without taking too much of your time with useless definitions and exercises. I really liked the models and the simulator because it adds another layer of learning for the students to see the concepts at work. This is highly recommendable for everyone who forgot their basic economics class and to have a richer understanding of economic policy making.

創建者 Duc T A L

Aug 25, 2015

This is a very useful course for understanding economic policymaking. After studying this course, I can read and understanding many economic articles and infer the consequences of new economic policy issued by government. It also helps me understand how a new economic policy issued by another country can affect to economic situation of my own country.

創建者 Anna S

Nov 01, 2015

Very nicely and comprehensive taught. Material is supported with lots of graphs and multimedia that makes it more exciting. Short quiz questions are incorporated into the videos to keep the students alert, and the articles provided as a mandatory reading keep the link with the real world. I think the corse makers did a fantastic job!

創建者 Mohammad M H

Oct 21, 2019

It a very meaningful comprehensive understanding of basic macroeconomic.

創建者 Diana S

Jun 17, 2017

This course is a great example of a what successful online learning experience can be. Professor Gayle Allard does not go easy on you but otherwise... why would you bother to take the time to take the course? You don't have to spend that many hours a week taking the course but the time you do dedicate to it, you really have to pay attention and take notes (and pause a couple of times!). The quizzes are a great way to assess if you're being able to keep up. Week 5 is a bit more time consuming because you have an assignment that truly tests your knowledge (peer-graded) - but if you pass, you feel like a million dollars because it's hard! You really DO learn the basics of Macroeconomics effectively. ---- IE Business School is #1 Online MBA (Financial Times ranking, 2016 and 2017) so they have a lot to prove when they use this media. This course is not an MBA but you can see that they take it seriously and it definitely has valuable content. Thank you!

創建者 Aman T

Sep 27, 2017

# Allard's Understanding Economic Policy making

Working through this course was a delightful experience!

With little background in economics, I got into this to get a strong grip on key macroeconomic concepts and make sense of economic policies in my country (India). This one course exceeded my expectations!

She has a very clear instruction style and the course material (ebook) also helps in developing a solid foundation of the fundamental topics.

My only suggestion would be to throw in a few more quantitative exercises more frequently as part of the weekly assignments.

With my interests in public policy, I look forward to doing more courses in the area of public / urban / land economics. Coursera guys, hope you keep adding more of such great courses in the mentioned areas.

Thanks

Aman Trehan

New Delhi

創建者 Henrique S B

Oct 07, 2016

I found the course very useful to review some basic economic policy concepts and to improve the understanding of major economic and policy making issues that challenge both policy makers and advisers today.

Prof. Gayle Allard has a real gift to explain in a clear and appealing way complex ideas and policy issues.

The only objection I would have regards the peer assignment grading which I found somehow lacking in realism and accuracy. I also found that, on the discussion forums, some of the mentors replies did not completely met expectations. Having said that, I would not hesitate in recommending this outstanding course to both beginners and more advanced students and generally to anybody interested in improving his(her) knowledge of economics. Congratulations!

創建者 Teka D T

Aug 27, 2017

Excellent and awesome course !!!. I will say special great thanks to Professor Gayle Allard and other instructors, and learner mentors to collectively gives you exactly the insight and indepth of Macroeconomics diagnostic and Economic policy making forever real in theory, practice and real world countries economic data and Analysis. This course had given to me all not leaving no stone unturned the knowledge and training in Diagnostic and Economics policy making which I have greatly in search of to blend me as an Economic policy Expert in that domain. I strongly recommend this course to friends who intend to build or blend their Economic knowledge internationaly . It worth more that penny amount. Much Thank Prof. G. A.

創建者 Javed R

Jan 15, 2016

Gayle was an outstanding lecturer. I have little economics background and I was able to follow all lessons quite well. Videos were of perfect length, not too long. I enjoyed the graphs, etc in presentations as well as the questions in the middle of a video (to see if we were paying attention). Quizzes were very helpful. The big assignment with the simulator took some time but was worth it. It brought together all ideas and I think it taught me a lot.

This was my 1st coursera course so i think the bar is set very high.

創建者 Blend D

Jun 24, 2017

It seems like a lot of work for people who don't have a formal education in economics. Don't get me wrong here, the professor is extremely good and she knows how to break complex things and explain them in a simplified manner, but the problem I see is that people who haven't taken at least a course in economics will feel overwhelmed by the material.

That being said, the course is very well organized, it is very practical and the professor is an example for other economics professors/lecturers/teachers.

創建者 Chrisitna

Jun 20, 2016

Although you cannot do the assignments unless you upgrade, I learned so much. Prof. Allard was very clear, and gave many great resources that I have used in other courses. This class shaped my political opinions on fiscal issues and helped me to understand the implications of tax and welfare reform in terms of the general public. This online course was definitely on par with and a great supplement to my Ivy-league education. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is studying social sciences.

創建者 Matthew K

Jan 15, 2017

Excellent course for refreshing basic economic principles. All theory put across in the course is contexualised through real world applications and discussions. Course flows logically starting with foundational concepts and branching out into applications and interrelations. I found it gave me a sound framework for assessing business events and activities in economic terms (albeit from a high level).

創建者 Al T

Dec 01, 2017

This was a helpful introductory course to macroeconomics that gave me exactly the level of information I needed for my current job. The instructor worked at an appropriate pace and the comparisons between theory and current reality were very useful. My only "criticism" would be that most of the information on real world economics is up to about 2014 and I think this will soon need to refreshed.

創建者 Amaka A

Feb 09, 2016

Excellent, excellent course! All you need to know about basic economic concepts that allow you to follow a country's macro-economic performance and intelligently participate in economic policy debates. Professor Gayle is great at explaining complex concepts in an easy-to-understand manner. Highly recommend this for country and risk analysts or anyone interested in current affairs.

創建者 Apostolos G

Nov 22, 2015

Great course from a substantial University and also a great Professor. The course is very well organized and the Professor conveys difficult concepts with an understandable way. You not only will be able to read newspapers and understand what is going on the economy, yet you will get the knowledge to see behind politics. A well educated citizen can make good decision.

創建者 Raphael A

May 10, 2016

Excellent Course! A Must do Course for a better understanding of the world around you. Gayle is an excellent teacher and gives you a great basis to be more aware of whatas going on out there in the economic persective and give you a critical thinking as well if what is being done really is the way we should go foward I defenetely recommend this course.

創建者 Vivian X

Jul 15, 2017

I took the course to improve my ability to understand economic issues, terms and jargons. I found that the course is incredibly practical, intriguing, informative and easy to follow at the same. The topics and examples are carefully selected and the well presented. I now have a much better understanding of the basic economic principles.

Thanks!

創建者 Anais J

Dec 19, 2015

An excellent course. The lecturer was engaging, the material was interesting - I have a basic economics foundation and I found that my understanding of these basics improved, even while I feel much more empowered to have an opinion on policymaking in the world.

It was great to be able to complete a project even though the course is on-demand.

創建者 Salustiano L P

Sep 04, 2015

Great course for people with limited notions on economic policymaking. Great to-the-point videos and quizzes that give an excellent picture which perfectly fits today's policymaking frame.

After taking this course I think I can fully understand what the newspapers talk about regarding economic policymaking

創建者 Govind C

Sep 08, 2015

Great intro to macroeconomic policies for the uninitiated / semi-initiated. Prof. Gayle Allard's teaching style makes a world of difference. Her methodical approach towards making an inference and reaching a conclusion is probably the best I've seen amongst all the teachers I've ever had.

創建者 Albano S

Aug 16, 2015

Gayle Allard is simply an outstanding teacher.

Strongly reccomended, this is my thirteenth course with Coursera. I've so liked this course the first time, that I'm doing it again. With IE Business I've attended "Critical Perspectives on Management" by Rolf Strom-Olsen, outstanding Too.

創建者 Zlatina G

Oct 03, 2016

The best macroeconomics class that I have ever had. Very clear explanations and linking all the theory with recent and historical events. I would recommend the course to anyone regardless if you are beginner or have some idea of the macroeconomics concepts.

創建者 Madhu B

May 25, 2016

The course is very much tailored and suits the one who would need a clear understanding on the Fiscal and Monetary Policies. Much more it is easier to understand with the examples presented and instructor Gayle had put it together effectively in the course.

創建者 Annesha

Jan 18, 2016

Amazing Course for students from all backgrounds who are interested in the basics of Economics and hoe The world economics work. The excellent delivery of Prof Gayle Allard and her easy to understand examples was a big help. A must do course.