Chevron Left
返回到 Distributed Programming in Java

學生對 莱斯大学 提供的 Distributed Programming in Java 的評價和反饋

4.6
412 個評分
67 條評論

課程概述

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of Distributed Programming in the context of Java 8. Distributed programming enables developers to use multiple nodes in a data center to increase throughput and/or reduce latency of selected applications. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular distributed programming frameworks for Java programs, including Hadoop, Spark, Sockets, Remote Method Invocation (RMI), Multicast Sockets, Kafka, Message Passing Interface (MPI), as well as different approaches to combine distribution with multithreading. Why take this course? • All data center servers are organized as collections of distributed servers, and it is important for you to also learn how to use multiple servers for increased bandwidth and reduced latency. • In addition to learning specific frameworks for distributed programming, this course will teach you how to integrate multicore and distributed parallelism in a unified approach. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Distributed map-reduce programming in Java using the Hadoop and Spark frameworks • Client-server programming using Java's Socket and Remote Method Invocation (RMI) interfaces • Message-passing programming in Java using the Message Passing Interface (MPI) • Approaches to combine distribution with multithreading, including processes and threads, distributed actors, and reactive programming Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of distributed Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other distributed programming frameworks that you may encounter in the future (e.g., in Scala or C++)....

熱門審閱

DH
2017年9月16日

Great course. The first programming assignment was challenging and well worth the time invested, I would recommend it for anyone that wants to learn parallel programming in Java.

AM
2020年5月30日

Very well structured and presented course! Very useful material with good relevant examples! Thank you, Prof. Sarkar for this Distributed Programming in Java course!

篩選依據:

1 - Distributed Programming in Java 的 25 個評論(共 66 個)

創建者 Ernest S

2017年10月29日

I would consider it as a overview of possible approaches, not a course. Assigments could be frustating because outcome is sometimes non-deterministic (I wasted few hours of my time because of this, it turned out that my solution was fine). Sometimes given examples are not following Java documentation in details. They could not work in corner cases. It should not be the case in the course made by professionals.

Compared to the other courses I took authors of this one did not put much effort in preparing good materials and exercises. Course can by challenging by means of standing the frustration the assigments could give you. And in my opinion not because it is hard to pass them and they are demanding. It is because they are not properly prepared.

I know that this topic can be hard. This specialization touches many important topics which are essential to making working systems.

I have mixed feeling about specializations. It mentions most of the important topics in non-sequential computer computing. But it does not give deep insight in many of them.

創建者 Travis W

2018年7月31日

Frustrating at times but overall good.

創建者 Eric S

2019年4月7日

Really great videos and instruction. The class covers a broad swath of topics, which is great but fails to get really in depth in any one topic, as a learner you will need to dive deeper into topics that grab your interest. The projects are a little easy but are well organized and self contained. Considering the difficulty in creating projects for distributed computing environments I think the instructors did a good job.

創建者 Nickolay K

2017年9月5日

It forced me to recall OpenMP and MPI. Thought it's already dead in favor to IMDG, spark, upc and so on.

Practical tasks - miniprojects - was too easy to implement. Need more complex tasks.

創建者 Ankit T

2018年3月30日

Programming assignment can be made a bit tough.

創建者 Raúl D L C

2020年9月6日

Thanks to the courses of the specialization, I could understand in a correct way concepts like nodes, distributed programming, locks, correct use of threads and that always will be in certain form limited by the amount of existing cores in the nodes. Now I can continue on my more confident path and see cloud computing topics thanks to the excellent theoretical and practical base given in the 3 courses.

A thousand thanks to Professor Vivek Sarkar and the entire team at Coursera and Rice University

創建者 Jean-Baptiste B

2017年9月6日

All the good stuff application to clusters and cloud computing:

MapReduce, Hadoop, Spark, Sockets, Remote method invocation, Serializing/Deserializing, Point-to-point communication, Socket multicast/broadcast, SPMD model with MPI, Thread vs Process, Distributed Actor, Distributed reactive programming.

Lessons are short and easy to understand and the mini projects are complex enough to get a better grasp of the theory.

創建者 Kerran F

2018年5月20日

Great surface level coverage of basic theories and Java frameworks for Distributed Programming. Projects are very simple and quizzes can feel a bit too specific to the lectures, but those two things just make it easier than it is in the real world. I took a similar class back in college but this was a nice refresher on thinking about first principles and modern new libraries.

創建者 Bhanu P P

2020年4月16日

It was a pleasure taking Vivek sir's class. It will really be helpful for my ongoing research projects and definitely in the future for upcoming endeavors. Thank you to Rice University and Coursera for the wonderful learning opportunity.

創建者 Гайдай А

2020年10月8日

This course, like all specializations, is quite useful, I learned a lot about distributed and parallel computing, for those who are not familiar with parallel computing, it will be very useful.

創建者 A M

2020年5月30日

Very well structured and presented course! Very useful material with good relevant examples! Thank you, Prof. Sarkar for this Distributed Programming in Java course!

創建者 Brian M

2020年10月31日

The course was awesome. I learnt a lot about distribution programming and it will better my performance personally and in the job industry. Thank you.

創建者 frierys

2018年1月24日

Excellent course! Vivek is an excellent instructor as well. I appreciate having taken the opportunity to learn from him.

創建者 Elias R

2019年7月31日

I really liked the course. Great videos and lecture summaries! Maybe the assignments could be more sophisticated.

創建者 Amruthesh M P

2020年4月24日

Great experience and all the lectures are really interesting and the concepts are precise and perfect.

創建者 Ming Y L

2021年1月1日

The hints and tutorial for mini projects in this section can be reduced a little bit.

創建者 Белышева Е В

2020年7月6日

the course is great but I really need more practice to remember new material

創建者 Rajyavardhan S

2019年6月29日

Amazing Course, was able to learn new things and had the best experience

創建者 Feiyu L

2018年4月3日

Very clear overview. Helpful for my understanding of distributed system.

創建者 jose a m l

2020年4月11日

Excelente, muchas gracias a todos lo que hicieron posible este curso.

創建者 Sudharaka P

2019年1月21日

Nice course. Gives a good overview of Distributed Programming!!!

創建者 Sonal A

2020年4月28日

A very good course, I learnt a lot from it, thank you Coursera.

創建者 Emilian S

2020年10月4日

Very helpful and interesting course. Keep up the good work!

創建者 Prathamesh B

2020年11月28日

Brilliant course. Prof Sarkar is wonderful as always.

創建者 Amr H G

2019年11月25日

Amazing course to learn about distributed Progrmaming