Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Design Principles for Tableau

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,565 個評分
250 條評論

課程概述

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

熱門審閱

SL
2020年6月1日

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

VL
2018年3月10日

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

篩選依據:

201 - Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的 225 個評論(共 249 個)

創建者 Rishi K Y

2018年5月29日

Great course

創建者 OMKAR V S

2020年4月20日

Nice course

創建者 Sumit C

2019年6月22日

Nice Course

創建者 William H

2017年9月17日

Enjoyed it

創建者 Julia T

2017年6月5日

A

創建者 Todd T

2017年4月16日

Great course; only limited by the requirement for peers to review the assigned visualization to complete the course. Although I turned my assignment in well-ahead of the due date/time, I had to transfer to the following class because I could not get the required peer reviews (2) prior to the course closing, despite multiple requests in the discussion forum for assistance.

創建者 Nicole B

2020年9月30日

Good content on Gestalt and other factors that impact how a visualization is received; however, the instructors didn't take the time to teach HOW they were getting certain results, which seems odd for a Tableau course. I wish they had broken down how they were arriving at different visual effects instead of whipping through and solely concentrating on the theories.

創建者 Mark A

2018年3月13日

Would like more practical application of lessons in Tableau (vs almost entirely principles/theory), particularly with the guest instructor, who is very knowledgeable but only lectures. I got bored listening to lecture after lecture without doing anything or course directed application of what is taught.

創建者 Lindsay J

2019年1月9日

Good course, but would have preferred clearer step-by-step instruction on Tableau. Honestly, that was the weakest part. The instructor did not explain where he was clicking, moved around quickly, like a Tableau expert. I had to look it up online and in my personal "Practical Tableau" book.

創建者 Joan C

2020年6月25日

I'm not from a sales background. It might be just me, but i had to learn what is profit ratio, trends and whether my calculations were actually done correctly and in the right context. Having a couple of scenarios where it can be applicable to real life work would be better.

創建者 Deaglan D

2017年9月2日

This course starts out really strong, but around Design Best Practices, the Govind begins to sound drunk. He slurs, exaggerates, repeats himself, and takes longer than necessary to execute tasks. This is distracting and very disappointing from UC Davis and Coursera.

創建者 Dennis M

2017年7月3日

Nice overview of design best practices and some more basic usage of Tableau. However, my problem with the courses in this specialization is that the material is quickly becoming repetitive. Instead of the courses building on each other, they repeat prior material.

創建者 Erin R

2018年1月3日

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.

創建者 Sudha S

2020年7月25日

Although it is a part of the tableau specialisation, the course focus is more on design principles rather than anything to do with Tableau. Definitely interesting, but might be better to rename the course so learners know what they are signing up for!

創建者 Shubham A

2018年4月27日

Course is great but peer review is horrible. Clearly a professional is needed to review the work in the end. My marks were reduced because peer reviewers couldn't understand how to make visualization effective and show data without any bias.

創建者 Amy D

2019年7月1日

The course is very theoretical and provides great articles and for great discussion. I was hoping for more interaction, and I'd also like more video content with fewer introductions. The music gets very annoying.

創建者 Jose D L C

2018年5月3日

While the theories and concepts were good and made sense there was not enough practical content to be able to cement these ideas, meaning there is extra effort on having to retain these concepts.

創建者 Devin Z

2019年9月12日

Instructions for the final assignment should be more specific since I had to resubmit it multiple times before someone left feedback about using the profit ratio to gain full points

創建者 Corey G

2017年2月6日

The assignment for week 2 should have been the last assignment in this sequence and was not clearly explained or taught in the videos.

創建者 Lin Y

2019年8月18日

This course is alright, straightforward but un-surprising. Need more course material on HOW to use Tableau's functions.

創建者 sebastian s v

2017年8月5日

I would like to have more additional material to read..i think the videos are not enougth

創建者 Méliani

2017年5月2日

A littler redundant when you compare it to the previoud courses.

The map part is good.

創建者 Drew O

2017年2月6日

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.

創建者 Andrew A

2020年3月13日

Good backgrounder, but should have incorporated Tableau a bit more.

創建者 Laurent B

2020年2月20日

I think the course must be more practical and less theoretical.