Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Design Principles for Tableau

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,192 個評分
179 條評論

課程概述

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

熱門審閱

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

UN

Jun 14, 2019

Good introduction to Tableau essentials. I enjoy the step by step instructions on creating analytics in Tableau. Receiving a year long subscritpion to the license is also AMAZING

篩選依據:

1 - Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的 25 個評論(共 179 個)

創建者 Víctor M C

Aug 08, 2018

A really poor course.

I don't get how this Course is rated so high.

There is a lot of chit-chat about Colors, Principles, and the use of lines. But Tableau contents are scarce and just scratched.

Don't be fooled with the "Tableau" word. Tableau is just anecdotal here. There is a whole week where Tableau is not even shown during this course! Run away.

Rename "Essential Design Principles for Tableau" to "Essential Design Principles" and the course would be fit much better.

For those thinking about the Specialization:

I'm doing the Specialization "Data Visualization with Tableau" and contents through the courses are soooo repetitive. First two courses done from 5 up to now. My review: If you sum all the videos, just barely 2 weeks, or even less, (from 8 weeks) are talking about Tableau! A Joke. Hands on? 4 times in 2 courses, and say thank you.

The other 6 weeks repeats again and again how to use Colors, how to be Ethical with graphs, and several theoretical principles about how your Brain works. Cool for 1 week, but they have filled 7 weeks of such artifacts, repeating once and again the same videos from different povs. Again and again. Again and again. Sounds repetitive? Again and again. Even using same slides.

I'm not here to teach me about "perception", "colors", and "3d charts sucks for 2D charts", or better said...it would be cool if you tell me ONCE. Not in each course, forgetting about why we're here: Tableau.

Feel free to jump the first two courses. I bet they will repeat again the unique decent videos in the 3,4,and 5th course of the specialization.

Shame...

創建者 Bruno G d F e S

Jan 05, 2018

The material is not encapsuled on the course and the use of only peers evaluation on practical exercises.

創建者 Claudia G G

Feb 08, 2019

It was a exelent course for me, I was thinking just in technology, but the topics reviewed are exelent to know, how design a presentation. It's amazing, now I can apply this knowlodege in all aspect of my work. Thank you!!!

創建者 Nhan T N

May 20, 2019

The course is not only focusing on the Tableau project, but also discussing key notes that need applying to make visualization become more effective. That is great course! Thanks!

創建者 Prudha J

Aug 01, 2019

This was a great course, it had lots of information on design principle which not only helps for people working on Tableau but any other presentation tools

創建者 Dumitru P

Jun 22, 2019

Great course! I enjoyed it a lot. I think I will do all in this specialization.

創建者 Anand L

Jul 29, 2019

good

創建者 Yichi Z

Aug 21, 2018

The materials involving Tableau are simple and can be completed in a short time, so no need to spend a lot of hours on watching videos and submitting discussions. Some assignments are not quite related to operating Tableau.

創建者 Gil Y

Oct 23, 2017

Not sure I would recommend this course. The course doesn't walk you through an example of how to meet and complete the requirements of the peer graded assignment. I got a notice that I needed to redo the peer assignment, but no feedback was given as to what I needed to be corrected in order to resubmit. I've also been looking for some sort of practical application video to show me how to actually use Tableau. Whenever I submit some feedback, I can never get a response from anybody. Is this course actually being facilitated by the instructor? HELP!!!!! I'm asking for help and assistance!!!

創建者 David R

Jul 15, 2018

Mostly irrelevant theory and virtually no hands on use of Tableau. Curriculum is weak, doesn't walk you through how to do enough in Tableau.

創建者 ADYA S

Mar 11, 2018

The course content is very good and the course creators have put in lots of efforts.

**Request**

Since number of enrolled students may vary, "peer review" type questions makes it difficult to get a grade. Even if you've submitted your assignments, if there is no one to review your work, you don't get a grade. This is disappointing and very discouraging.

I request the course creators to consider this and try to make the tests such that learners can complete the course on their own. I believe this would motivate students to complete the specialization.

創建者 Eddy C

Feb 09, 2017

I enjoyed the course as it highlights many strategies and insights into making effective visualizations. It makes good use to Tableau and gives practical examples. The only thing I would like to see added is a simple instruction manual to accomplish some of the methods they employed. Overall I think it was great to have this as a second course in the series because it lays the foundation for good design practices.

創建者 Jose A R N

Sep 21, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Visualization and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

創建者 Suryadevara D

Sep 29, 2019

I found this course to be beyond amazing. The course is filled with such useful set of instructions that many instructors fail to provide but this course has it all. So if a person takes this course, he gets an opportunity to learn the best from the best.

創建者 Pavan R

May 17, 2018

Learned Essential Design Principles for Tableau and User expectations and UX for data visualization in an effective way. Now i can create good visualizations keeping in mind of cognitive load & clutter along with workin

創建者 Jamiil T A

Mar 01, 2019

Well taught course .. I highly recommend to enroll for this course 2 of the specialization if you want to build your path gradualy to creating very efficient and well communicating visualizaion. Happy Learning!

創建者 Van L

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

創建者 Ussia N

Jun 14, 2019

Good introduction to Tableau essentials. I enjoy the step by step instructions on creating analytics in Tableau. Receiving a year long subscritpion to the license is also AMAZING

創建者 Ali H

May 30, 2017

It is an excellent course!!! very well designed and very proficient talk on most difficult and most important skills related to data visualization....Enjoyed it sooo much!!!

創建者 Robert J

Oct 04, 2019

an excellent course and really enjoying the peer reviews I picked up a lot looking at others people work it has given me insight to improve my visualisations

創建者 Elena S

Apr 19, 2017

I found this course extremely useful as it helped me better understand design principles which can be put into good use in other visualization tools as well.

創建者 Tony - C A D

Jul 31, 2018

Learned a lot about knowing who the audience is (that I am designing a visualization for), also about use-of-color and de-cluttering my visualization.

創建者 Mengli Q

Dec 07, 2016

They not only tell you how to do the visualization design but also tell you why (the physiology, the principles). I would highly recommend this class.

創建者 Angela K

Sep 28, 2017

Great course! I learned things I could imminently apply to my job, I would say that a solid base understanding of Tableau is needed for this class.

創建者 Jeet G

Aug 30, 2017

My knowledge of Tableau greatly increased as a result of this course and I believe I made tangible progress in my data visualization journey.