Chevron Left
返回到 数据库管理精要

學生對 科罗拉多大学系统 提供的 数据库管理精要 的評價和反饋

4.6
2,034 個評分
504 條評論

課程概述

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

熱門審閱

LL

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course content, very well presented, great slide decks.\n\n(When I hear "DB Management" I think of tablespaces and indexes. The course should be named "Data Modelling Essentials" instead. )

AS

Jun 29, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

篩選依據:

451 - 数据库管理精要 的 475 個評論(共 489 個)

創建者 Rohan S

Mar 08, 2016

Pros: The course content covers a lot of relevant topics on Database Management. Things like Basic SQL queries, Database Normalization, Conceptual and Logical databases, and making ER diagrams are covered in the course.

Cons: Prof Mannino is a bit robotic in his reading out of long sentences and the constant pace of talking. There is tons of repetition of sentences and words mere seconds after they were just spoken. The lectures seem to be a collection of bullet points.

The assignments and the peer review structure is really a low point. There's no specific grading rubric - so points allocation is random and based on your peer's assessment. I had many instances where my right answers were marked as wrong. There is nothing you can do to correct it. Moreover, the questions are iterative and thus the same apparent error carries on and you get multiple wrong scores.

Assignments need to be submitted in documents. Separate documents for each question !! At times, even a one-line answer needs to be in a separate document. Pictures of database diagrams need to be pasted in said documents. It was a bit frustrating to take screenshots all the time. Especially when you make a small correction, and have to take screenshots AGAIN, then paste it AGAIN, and upload AGAIN !!

Summary: Take the course for it's content, and use the assignments as good practice. Don't take the grading seriously. Also, focus on the content rather than the delivery by the professor, and you will still be able to get some value out of the course (and the specialization by extension)

創建者 Brian M

May 04, 2016

The specialization is great, and the course breadth and topics described in each is equally good. For this course, however, I felt like I could have covered what was taught by myself with a book, i.e. I didn't feel like it was class room level engaging with the explanations.

I realized this is a one way MOOC, but I've taken courses off and on since they came out, and some others felt more interactive. This was more of here's a slide, I will read what's on the slide and explain some topics. The assignments were not bad, but definitely took more time than stated (just keep that in mind). The other thing that would help immensely is having TAs in the course. It's possible that they may get some later, but I've felt I learned/got feedback a lot more in courses with TAs.

That said, this is an excellent introduction to databases course, and there's not many of them out there. If I had to go it again, I would, and I also paid for getting the cert - if anything for career advancement and having it on your LinkedIn profile as a starter DB course.

創建者 Matko V

Jul 10, 2016

Nice introductory course for database management. Assignments are challenging enough for beginners like me but I like that. If I'm already 'investing' my time into something I expect to learn something in return. This course gave me that kind of reciprocity. Course would benefit from radically different approach to video-lessons. Reading from power-point slides which are written in the same manner, have identical structure tends to become tedious after a while. Professor seems nice and knowledgeable but a bit more relaxed and/or engaging approach would be beneficial to many. Oh, and peer-reviewed grading, wherever possible, should be replaced with an auto-grader. That's not a critique, though. Not quite sure if it's even possible with this kind of material.

創建者 Noel S

Oct 24, 2016

The material is fine but the course isn't taught well. The instructor tends to start talking immediately in subject jargon and abbreviations without first giving students an intro or explaining foundation material first. It seems a lot of material is left out of the lectures and slides on purpose and forces students to buy the instructor recommended text book (which is also authored by the instructor). After each lecture I'm forced to Google search a lot of what was mentioned before I even understood half of what the instructor was talking about. I didn't pay to listen to something that forces me to Google search everything.

創建者 Thomas M

Jun 30, 2020

Assignments are well paced and easily digestible. There is an issue with assignment marking though- It seems that people are submitting answers that aren't there own work, presumably to get the certificate at the end. This may erode the perceived value of the certificate and therefore the value of the course. I also noticed that my assignments weren't marked to the highest standard either (Ie. I had mistakes and they weren't picked up by either marker). Rectify this and it may improve the legitimacy of the cert. Otherwise, I learned a lot! Thanks for a well designed course :)

創建者 Jason L

May 07, 2016

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

創建者 Cristy R

Jun 09, 2020

This course has great content, but the peer review process is lacking structure. I found that most of my peer reviews were marked less than 100 with no guidance of what errors I had made, just the comment 'good'. There were also many mistakes in the answer keys, but no clear way to notify the instructor of the issues there were found.

創建者 Harshit S

Oct 17, 2017

Start of this course was very good. But after week 5, assignments became very repetitive and most of the assignments were based on developing an ERD in a tool called ER Assistant. I feel like this part could be covered in 2 weeks time and more stress could have been given to the SQL part of the course.

創建者 Ajay J

Jun 12, 2019

Though content is good slides and delivery style could be better. More comparison with latest technologies can be provided. Need for more interactive quizzes so as to make it more relevant to fast-changing database world.

創建者 STEVEN V D

May 17, 2018

Good course with a lot of hands-on assignments. Sometimes the lectures could be brought in a more intuitive way and were a bit 'over-theorized', which made relatively simple concepts seem more complex than they were.

創建者 TylerOtto

Aug 16, 2016

Great content, horrible technical support from Coursera and the team that runs this program (since it is clearly obvious that Michael Mannino just recorded the videos and is not part of the class anymore).

創建者 Xiyu F

Jun 15, 2016

The course was clear, I had difficulties to find course materials, especially examples were used in the video class, I wish they had been put in more obvious places.

創建者 Arushi D

May 03, 2020

The instructors were really helpful throughout the course. Although this was a basic course, but it was informative and very much helpful.

創建者 Donatien L

Jan 27, 2016

Interesting, I would have liked to deepen SQL knowledge and practice. The conceptual parti seems a little bit too important.

創建者 Rana Q U Z

Sep 02, 2016

This course is really helpful About Database Systems.

創建者 Cesar O M

Jan 03, 2016

I wish to have more contact with the academic crew.

創建者 Amber B

Oct 05, 2016

Need more lessons on nested queries and subqueries

創建者 Ayush J

May 14, 2020

You can give a better explanation of ERD concepts

創建者 Madhusoodhan S

Nov 18, 2016

A free book to read would have been nice.

創建者 HYEOK K

Jun 20, 2020

not enough explanation about tools

創建者 Aditi

Jan 03, 2020

Baaic understanding about Database

創建者 Marcel N

Sep 13, 2016

Peer Review is sub-optimal

創建者 Meena V

Dec 14, 2018

Very time consuming.

創建者 Mordi O

Oct 29, 2015

looking good, so far

創建者 DWARAKANATH S

Aug 09, 2017

Good Solid