Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

學生對 开普敦大学 提供的 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的評價和反饋

4.8
2,274 個評分
695 條評論

課程概述

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

熱門審閱

AM
2018年12月15日

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK
2017年7月28日

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

篩選依據:

51 - Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的 75 個評論(共 688 個)

創建者 Mohammed B

2018年11月5日

This is a great course for workers in the medical field and health sciences, it assumes no prior knowledge in statistics and proceeds with step by step intuitive explanation of concepts with virtually no math. It has great optional practical videos on how to search for papers online and how to do statistical tests using spreadsheets software. It is quite through in scope, recommend it strongly.

創建者 Nivedha M S

2020年7月4日

This is one of the best courses available on Coursera to understand Statistics. Thanks to Prof. Juan Klopper for this amazing course. The assignments especially were really useful. This is a very engaging course and any learner would definitely stay motivated until the end. I would also like to appreciate the high-quality content and the ease with which it was explained. Thank you so much!

創建者 Priscila d S N

2019年8月6日

The course highlights the most important concepts on statistics for students beginning in Health research, helping us interpret the data in published papers. We also learn to decide which tests to choose when analyzing our data. As a bonus, we end up curious about how to calculate the statistics - and I've heard when a class gives you more questions than answers, so it's reached its goals.

創建者 Veera G Y

2021年1月10日

This is such a wonderful course that gives you an overview and detailed understanding about the key statistic terms we encounter in medical literature. The way they designed the practice tests and the idea of clinical paper based practice assignments is laudable. Definitely recommended for basic science and clinical science researchers who want to brush through fundamentals of statistics.

創建者 Owais A K

2018年4月7日

A wonderfully constructed, practically oriented course! The instruction is lucid, the flow of topics logical and the quizzes helpful for showcasing real-world application of the concepts taught. Would HIGHLY recommend it to all those interested in understanding the logic behind statistical analyses and tests. Thank you for a wonderful course experience Dr. Juan and the entire team!

創建者 Lipin A

2020年5月20日

Hello! It is an amazing course! After I completed it, I firstly repeatedly listen to some lectures on statistics from my previous courses. I really understand them more than earlier. I think that this course is really able to improve your current knowledge and understanding of statistical issues. So, the name of this course is absolutely correct. Thank you, Mr. Juan H. Klopper!

創建者 cindy w

2018年6月27日

I appreciate good framing of this course. In order to benefit reviewing of the key points of every lessions, the notes of key points are clearly summarized after each video presentation. The medical statistics is very complex for a new learner, I am very grateful to have the chance to join this lesson which perfect balances concise and exhaustive for understanding

創建者 Dominik B

2019年3月27日

Well-paced and easy to understand course on an important topic! I especially liked the way the assignements were done - tests were challenging and contained practical information, and peer review assignments let me try analyzing papers by myself. I would surely recommend the course to anyone interested in developing the knowledge about statistics in healthcare!

創建者 Cristóbal S R

2020年6月1日

I enjoyed a lot this course! I recommend it if you are interested in understand how clinical research works and how statistics are used. I think its for everyone because it is short but very well explained, what makes it really easy to stay motivated. Finally, this course actually made me comprehend those topics that I was struggling with, so im very grateful.

創建者 Daniel C

2017年2月13日

This course is an excellent introduction to statistics in clinical research. Dr. Klopper is clearly passionate about the subject. This is reflected in his engaging video lectures and the high quality of the material presented. I now have a much better understanding of the meaning behind commonly used statistical tests and variables in the medical literature.

創建者 Shivesh T

2018年6月2日

An excellent course to achieve a basic understanding of the statistics behind clinical research. This is a foundation course and will not be enough for you to fully grasp everything required to conduct and analyse your own research but it will serve as a sturdy stepping stone. I very much recommend this to anyone who is starting out in clinical research.

創建者 Wendy G N

2020年5月6日

Excellent course on understanding statistical concepts in a clear and precise manner. Thank you Dr. Klopper, you are an excellent tutor. The videos are short and precise, yet the following notes are comprehensive and this was very great because it gave me a chance to follow through the videos without rashing to take notes simultaneously. thanks again.

創建者 Mohammed G E

2018年3月9日

I think it was a very useful course to get a grasp on what's behind the 'Methods' and 'Statistical Analysis' sections that we read in published papers everyday. It would be even better if another 'advanced' course with similar scope is developed with more examples of real literature studies so the the picture can be even clearer. Thank you!

創建者 Dr. R

2020年5月2日

Excellent Course for the beginners. This course has changed the way I look at statistics from now on. Very precise explanation and Concise reading material. The Spreadsheet activities were so good. Ultimately the case studies and step by step explanation simply made us understand research better. Thank you for conducting this course.

創建者 Khurram S

2018年11月4日

It was an awesome experience. I had already a bit of statistical experience but wasn't confident enough. Now, i can go out there in to the world of Research with full confidence & perform a valid research. Anyone who wan't to dive in to basics of Research & statistics involved with it, this course is a MUST for them. Thanks Sir Juan!

創建者 Andrew B

2020年10月21日

For a new job I needed to refresh knowledge of medical statistics that had been very long neglected. I couldn't get myself motivated to plough through a textbook and instead gave this course a try - the first MOOC I have done. I was very pleased and the videos kept me engaged. I really appreciated Dr Klopper's enthusiasm, thanks.

創建者 Upasna G

2020年4月14日

This was a good course to give a basic overview of statistics used in clinical research. Now I have a sense of what exactly is happening under the methods section of articles. However, this is still too basic and to fully grasp research articles, one needs to take a more advanced course. But this is a great stepping stone for that!

創建者 Craig E

2020年1月3日

Dr. Klopper does a great job teaching these fundamental aspects of clinical research statistics. I particularly appreciated the shortness of the lectures, section quizzes with immediate feedback, notes provided, and flow of information. The course material was easy to follow and study, and I gained a lot from the course. Thank you!

創建者 Geoffrey

2019年3月7日

The course was presented with absolute perfection. It has enabled me to really understand the statistical elements of clinical research. The skills and knowledge attained will enable me to appreciate the statistical elements of publication more comprehensively. Thanks to Dr. Juan Klopper and the University of cape town team.

創建者 EMMANUEL B B

2017年10月18日

Great course content. Well elaborated and easy to understand even for non-science oriented students. It is an excellent starter for students wishing to pursue clinical research studies as it presents the important first steps for research. Thanks to you Dr Juan Klopper, the University of Cape Town, and the entire Coursera team.

創建者 Ahmed S A S S

2018年7月3日

Very organised course and clearly explain the basics of Statistics needed by Medical researchers. It doesn't get very deep in explaining the math behind the tests, however it gets you a good start for understanding the results section in any article you read. Any one who need to start medical research should go by this course.

創建者 Deepak S

2020年5月10日

Excellent course. Much needed start for my journey into the world of biostatistics. A topic I dreaded is now made easy to understand. Dr.Klopper was a class apart. Thank you Dr.Klopper. Classes are well spaced and not saturating at all. Notes are very clear, saves a lot of time and helps us focus better on the video lectures.

創建者 ARNAB D

2020年4月27日

This is a well designed course. Learned a lot and enjoyed too. Statistics which I learned with complicated mathematical equations at high school and graduate level, comparing statistics learned this way from clinical research and applied dimension was fun. Thank you Dr. Juan H Klopper for making statistics this easy.

創建者 Mara H

2020年4月10日

Provided a really good overview of what statistics are appropriate to use for specific research questions and data types, plus went over study design a bit. Broken up into short videos which really made it easy to follow the course material in between my other duties. I have recommended this course to others already.

創建者 Dr. M U M D o P

2020年6月7日

This course is the one which i enjoyed studying statistics ..the content was truly an eyeopener to beginners for whom the term statistics is like greek and latin. Kudos to the Resource person for the enormous effort in designing self paced clinical scenarios which made this course learner friendly..

Thanks a tonne